We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deceived by the price advert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Walsall
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Walsall
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Deceived by the price advert”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed for one night here as we saw a huge sign advertising rooms from £39.99 plus free breakfast. Absolute rubbish. There are apparently very few rooms at this price and once they are gone that's it. Our double cost £65 but that was only after we said that we were not prepared to pay the original £70 that we were quoted. The receptionist informed us that prices vary from day to day and according to how full the hotel is.
Due to the time we had no option but to settle for the £65 but don't be mislead into thinking that you get a free breakfast. You have already paid for this in the cost of accommodation as that tariff is pretty standard for B&B.
Our room was quiet and served it's purpose for an overnight stay. However, neither of the bedside reading lights worked and we did find some used tissues under the bed.
Breakfast was extremely basic and consisted of congealed scrambled eggs with baked beans and sausages. It was also luke warm and buffet style. We decided we would just have cereal followed by toast but when I asked for wholemeal bread, I was told that only white bread was available. I'm afraid that we helped ourselves to a couple of bananas and a couple of apples on our way out and dared anyone to question us as we blatantly marched through reception.

Room Tip: Be sure to check the price before you book. I think all the rooms are well sound-proofed given the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EileenandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMExWalsall, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walsall, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

In line with other IHG Properties and neighbouring Hoteliers our rates fluctuate with demand.
It is not our intention to mislead. Our rates are always clearly displayed on our website and our Reception Staff will always agree a price with you before you commit as I believe they did do on your arrival.

Regards

Claire
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    172
    75
    22
    14
See reviews for
108
109
33
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Balterley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

A clean and comfortable hotel. This hotel is located just off the M6 at J10, so is convenient for travellers.
No sound of the motorway as the rooms are well soundproofed.
The Village hotel is on the same site and offers alternatives to pub food, although the Holiday Inn does have a small bar and some snack foods available.
Beds comfortable and allowed a good nights sleep.
Breakfast in the morning was satisfactory and reasonable choice even though it was included in the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandM_Sale_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMExWalsall, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walsall, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

Regards

Claire
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hambleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Worked at this hotel from the first day it opened. And it is still a great place to stay when visiting Freinds in Walsall. Lovely staff, great housekeeping staff. Very helpful. A very pleasing stay. Nice to see the third floor is now a none smoking floor.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarah9393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMExWalsall, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walsall, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Our Hotel has been completely non-smoking since December 2012.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Claire
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed recently for one night, as we had a family wedding. Other family members had also booked rooms.

Have stayed here on a few occasions in the past with no problems, but this stay will probably be my last.

At reception, we asked if we could get a room close to my parents (they had already checked in), as we have 2 children under 3 and needed assistance with them. I was told no rooms available on their floor, so had it go the next floor up. Yet my brother checked in approx 15 mins after us and received the room opposite my parents on ground floor!

I also asked if my brother had checked in and was told their was no reservation under their name. This worried me and I contacted him immediately to say that it didn't look like they had a room booked. Found out later that reception can't tell you if someone has booked a room etc. so why not just say that rather than lie?!

No fridge in the room. So was difficult with a baby for feeds etc. Carpet in our room looked tired and looked like it could have done with a good clean. Our room was extremely hot even with air conditioning on. It was unbearable during the night, but only found out the next morning when I complained about the temperature that their main settings had been showing as heating setting. Reception apologised and reduced our room price by half for the inconvenience.

Also the actual sign on the outside of the hotel needs replacing as the green paint is peeling off. It's a shame it's gone down hill and I'm having to leave a negative review.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKCKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night booking two rooms. The staff at reception and in the dining room were lovely and very helpful. The rooms were really comfortable but the carpets were not in great condition. The cleaners need to be quieter at the start of their shift when some guests are still sleeping, particularly around the store area , but overall a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soph98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMExWalsall, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walsall, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your four star review.
We are delighted by your comments regarding our staff.
Most of the carpets were replaced in 2013 and we are pleased to report that more are being replaced in the next few months.
We hope that you will come and stay with us again soon

Regards

Claire
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights whilst attending an athletics meeting in Birmingham. The location of the hotel is ideal as it is 2 minutes off the M6 motorway giving us easy access to and from Birmingham. We were promised free Wi-Fi on booking however upon arrival we were told that was not the case and it was an error of the central booking department. Upon arrival to our room the old 1970s style TV didn't work, I returned to reception to report this to be told none of the TVs were working that day. The lady I spoke to was very apologetic and provided me with a Wi-Fi code to keep my daughter occupied in the room until they managed to repair the TV system. The room itself was very clean and comfortable. Despite the initial niggles with the TV and Wi-Fi we were very happy with what we got for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmil7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMExWalsall, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walsall, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your four star review. I am pleased to let you know that since your stay with us in August 2013, all our guests are now offered free Wi-Fi. We hope that you will come back and stay with us this Summer.


Regards

Claire
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

First time I have stayed here, a one night stop on business. Very clean and a nice stop over. Only downside is you are out of the way a bit, so no Restuarants to walk to from the hotel, but you are right on the motorway, so easy access in the morning when leaving.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattzzzz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGMExWalsall, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walsall, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope that you will come back again soon. We offer Bar Meals from Monday - Thursday, so we hope next time you will be able to enjoy a meal with us.

Regards

Claire

Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walsall hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Walsall Town Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Walsall (M6, J10) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Walsall
1.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Walsall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Walsall

Property: Holiday Inn Express Walsall
Address: Tempus Drive | M6-Jct 10, Walsall WS2 8TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Walsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Walsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Walsall 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS WALSALL where you ll find comfort and convenience, along with friendly service and a great experience. We offer facilities for families and business travellers alike. Why not Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Walsall hotel at M6 JCT10 as we are ideally placed to allow you easy access to the whole of the West Midlands area. With the M6/M5 interchange nearby there are great opportunities to travel further afield. Birmingham City Centre is less than 30 minutes by rail. Venues such as the National Indoor Arena (NIA), International Convention Centre (ICC) and Symphony Hall are all easily accessible to the hotel. Birmingham International Airport (BHX) and National Exhibition Centre (NEC) are only about 25 minutes drive away from the hotel. With 120 free car parking spaces on site you are sure to have a hassle free end to your trip. The Holiday Inn Express Walsall hotel offers high speed Internet access with wifi connection in public areas and meeting rooms. Bedrooms are great for families and business travellers alike. With our luxury power showers you will be refreshed for a busy day ahead. The hotel has a Meet Smart Conference Centre which offers meeting rooms facilities with wifi Internet access. We can also offer our business services centre where email, fax and copying are available for a small charge.SAT NAV POSTCODE WS2 8RL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Walsall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Walsall Hotel Walsall
Holiday Inn Walsall
Walsall Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing