We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hen weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hardwick House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tewkesbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hardwick House
Ranked #5 of 14 Tewkesbury B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hen weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The house was stunning and everything we expected and a lot lot more! The owners were lovely and very welcoming. They were able to help us arrange a 3 course dinner in house and pointed us in the right direction of local activities for our hen weekend. Would recommend the house to anyone!!

Room Tip: Quiet retreat for a couple or a great house for hen weekends or family get togethers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    10
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Jaw dropping house and surroundings! Wonderful facilities! Excellent location - we had brilliant fun on a Husky Dog Experience 10 minutes walk away from Harwick House and v short drive for a night out in Cheltenham! Thoroughly recommend this place for an affordable luxurious stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in October. From the start of the booking process Rob was friendly and professional in his correspondence, always replying to queries and stating things clearly so there were no misunderstandings. The pricing structure is clear, and also adaptable for differing numbers of people as extra bedrooms can be added to the package.
Arriving on Friday afternoon Ruth welcomed us to the house in a friendly manner and gave us a tour of the property ,there was also an information sheet with how to operate the TV, wi fi passwords etc. We had arranged for a food delivery that afternoon and they were willing to accept that for us if we did not arrive in time. They are totally unobtrusive, their weekend home is on the lower ground floor, but great to have around if you have any queries or problems during your stay, nothing was too much trouble, great hosts.
The kitchen was perfect for our needs, as we had decided to self cater for 15 people for the whole weekend we needed lots of pots, pans, crockery etc and there was ample of everything. The dishwasher worked overtime! We carried an extra table in to the kitchen as we wanted to be able to have breakfast in there. Other meals were eaten in the Great Hall which is the main entrance hall to the house. Just off the kitchen is anteroom with the main fridge, which has an ice maker, plus a couple of drinks fridges, hundreds of glasses of all shapes and sizes and a shelf area suitable to set up a a bar.
The living room was just right for our group size with enough sofa seating for all of us, a very large top of the range TV with DVD player and a smaller TV to attach games consoles etc to. Doors from here open out on to the extensive patio and lawns.
Bedrooms were in the main very spacious with very good quality beds and linen and everyone had their own bed, many of them doubles.All our rooms were on the first and second floors. A couple of rooms were really amazing and enormous, only one of the single bedrooms was a small room which was cozy.We had either 3 or 4 people to each bathroom, a bit of a squeeze at peak times but not an issue at all, bathrooms were large and well equipped with several free standing bath tubs and good shower cubicles. Also an extra toilet on the ground floor off the Great Hall.
The pool was amazing and we were able to use it even in mid October as it was heated to such a high temperature and has 2 covers to retain the heat.
The patio area was great for activities and there is a top of the range BBQ there too. The gardens are huge and would be ideal for outdoor games, which we had planned, but the weather became inclement unfortunately.
We did not use the Snooker room but I am sure it would be great for many groups.
Within walking distance is a watersports centre that can also arrange other outdoor activities which is really useful.
Parking is available right in front of the property and the entrance and driveway are impressive enough to give guests the wow factor on arrival! A great weekend was had by all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheaptrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

I had my Hen party here, and it was completely perfect, the house is enormous! There was enough space for all the activities and everyone had their own bed (19 people!). The only thing I would say is that the rooms are of varying quality (some are very swish and newly decorated and some are a bit dowdy) so I felt a bit bad putting people in certain rooms, but overall it was great, and pretty good value for money too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sibleyls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

nice place.

Good rooms, 8/10 . good service, very welcoming. breakfast was good and plenty full.
The decor is classic and very pleasing on the eye. all in all it is a very welcoming place to stay.

defo would go back, keep up the good work guys.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We arranged a Hen Do for 18 people for the May Bank Holiday just gone & the owners (Rob & Ruth) couldn’t have been more helpful & accommodating from start to finish. In order to organise a hen do for 18 people I had a lot of queries, so I emailed Rob quite a lot leading up to the weekend. Each time Rob would reply very quickly which made the whole process so much easier. We were greeted by Rob & Ruth when we first arrived and Ruth showed us around the house before leaving us to it.
We decided to have the ‘in-house caterers’ on one of the nights, which again Rob arranged for us. The food itself was really nice & my compliments go out to the chef!!
The house itself was lovely. There are family pictures up around the house, which I think gave it that personal touch and made a big house feel quite cosy & friendly. All of the rooms/bathrooms etc were all clean and tidy, we were also very lucky with the weather so could make full use of the grounds and heated swimming pool (which had been newly refurbished).
The only criticism I do have is that there was not much cupboard space to put food, which we would have struggled with if we were there any longer than 3 days. Saying that, it was because most of the cupboards were filled up with plenty of pots/pans/dishes/bowls/glasses etc which made life easier when cooking and making food for 18 people. There was also enough table space for us all to sit together during dinner.

It was a little odd at first knowing that the Rob & Ruth were staying in the apartment in the basement of the house & we did bump into them on occasion throughout the weekend. However it proved very useful with them being so close by, when we had any questions etc.
We rang them one night as we were trying to set up our playstation to the TV without having any success. Even though they were out (which we didn’t realise at the time) Rob came back to help us out & spent an hour trying to set the playstation up for us, which he did manage to do by allowing us to borrow one of their personal TV’s. We also had an issue on the day we left, in that our car wouldn’t start; again Rob leant a hand to try & help us get on our way. I think this shows that Rob & Ruth go over and beyond their duties to help their guests have a pleasant stay, which we were very grateful for.

Overall, everyone told me that they had a fantastic stay. I couldn’t rate this place more & we hope to be back again next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed here for a hen weekend in April. The house is fantastic and easily accomodated all 19 of us with bags of space for everyone to spread out and plenty of bathroom and kitchen facilities. Rob and the family at the house were really helpful suggesting activities for us and helping us organise a meal for the Saturday night. We'd really recommend this house for a hen party or large group of friends. The swimming pool was lovely, but a bit chilly, though it had been snowing in the morning so not surprising really! 10 out of 10. Many thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Essie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tewkesbury hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
3.0 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Tewkesbury Hotel
2.1 mi away
Jessop House
Jessop House
#1 of 14 in Tewkesbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hardwick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hardwick House

Property: Hardwick House
Address: Hardwick House Hardwick Bank Road | Bredon's Hardwick, Tewkesbury GL20 7ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hardwick House is a beautifully restored Victorian country house situated in five acres of parkland at the north end of the Cotswolds. We only take exclusive bookings for the whole House and specialise in hen parties. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing