We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Excellent Wetherspoons Establishment”
Review of The Royal Hop Pole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Hop Pole
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is another very good Wetherspoons pub situation in an old character building. There is a huge selection of hand pulled ales and a very large and pleasant beer garden to the rear that stretches right down to the river. On a sunny day its a very nice place to spend an afternoon.

Very good pub. And very busy as all Wetherspoons tend to be. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MD-FatDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for the review. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you hope to return! We agree that our beer garden is a great place to be, especially when the sun is shining! We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

763 - 769 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

What a lovely old building that Wetherspoons have in Tewkesbury. Quite a history I believe and the rooms are really comfortable. We ate in the quiet area. Good food as usual and good prices. Drinks too very good price too. Staff friendly and helpful.Service prompt, food hot. Good sevice as always-ay Wetherspoons

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Royal Hop Pole. We work hard as a team to ensure that your experience here is a good one and aim for the sevice here to be second to none. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I didn't stay here so cannot comment on anything to do with being a guest. However I did come for a fantastic breakfast at excellent value.

Came before in the winter and the standard was poor, but today the good is really hot, tasty and nice.

The place was busy and was told it would take 15-20 minutes for the breakfast to come. I don't mind waiting if the food is good and it was! It came out within 10 minutes. So 10/10 today for the staff here. I will come again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your review. Its so good to hear that you came back to try us again after your last visit (and review in January) and experienced our usual high standards of service and food. I have passed both old and new reviews onto the kitchen staff. We hope to see you again soon. Many Thanks The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Myself and my wife stayed here for one night while traveling home from Newbury. The hotel is run by Wetherspoons but don't let that put you off!!!!, the hotel is lovely. It is a hotel dating back to the Tudor period and has been developed in a very sympathetic way retaining all of its character and old charm. The first room we were given was room 101, but had extractor fans outside the window, we asked for a change of room and to our surprise we were showed around different rooms by a receptionist called Heather,. On our trip around the rooms, Heather gave us a history lesson about the hotel and showed us some original wall paintings and the old banqueting hall that was discovered while the hotel was being renovated, Thanks Heather you are a diamond. We opted to stay in room 301, which is in the attic space of the oldest part of the building, a quirky room with all the timber beams on display but all mod cons to make guest feel at home flat screen tv, tea and coffee, good comfy bed etc and spotlessly clean.The only drawback is that the bathroom is small being in the loft space but a small price to pay for the rest of the room .
Food is typical Wetherspoons and good value for money. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially Heather.
Would i stay there again, yes, I wouldn't hesitate, nor would my wife.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank firest0rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments, We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. All of our rooms here are unique, and its often the case that you either love the beams or hate them (we are lucky to have both options!) Although you werent happy with 101, its great to know that Heather offered excellent service recovery to ensure your stay here was enjoyable! Once again, many thanks for the review and we hope to see you again some time in the future. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked to stay for one night as we were attending a family function in Tewkesbury. My wife was a bit sniffy about staying at a Weatherspoon's but we were reassured by the reviews on TripAdvisor. And they weren't wrong. The receptionist was friendly if a bit wacky. Our room was full of oak beams and a fragment of medieval wall painting. It was clean and well equipped: the only downside was that floor sloped so you felt seasick walking across it! We had wondered if it would be noisy over the bar but it was OK and the bar closed at 11 pm anyway. There was a good choice at breakfast, which was well priced, and again the staff were all friendly and helpful.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chrismCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your review. Its good to know that you enjoyed your stay here and that we exceeded your expectations. Some of the rooms do have slopey floors (some more then others) which adds to the quirkiness of the hotel but if its not for you please make a note on the booking if you return and we will happily place you in the Georgian side of the building. Many Thanks again, Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at the Royal Hop Pole for 3 nights. The Staff are second to none, always ready to help, cheerful, prompt and always smiling. They are ten times better than our local Wetherspoons staff. From reception to signing out we had no complaints. We will return and recommend this place to friends

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 556DavidL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Many Thanks for your review. It is so good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments, we will pass on your positive feedback to the rest of the team - we really do appreciate your lovely review. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We are 2 couples who stayed here over the Easter weekend .The location of the hotel was good .The reception staff were very helpful and thank you to Heather for our history lesson about this lovely old building The rooms were spacious and clean. Breakfast was good and again bar staff spot on .We have stayed in a few Weatherspoon hotels and always found them value for money .This was an Ideal base for exploring the surrounding area . All in all a very enjoyable stay and we would recommend this hotel Will definately stay at Weatherspoons hotels again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one and that all members of staff were spot on! We will pass on your positive feedback to the team, Including Heather for her history tour. We like to share our knowledge on the history of our lovely building as it is so unique!! Thank you for recommending us and we hope you enjoy your future stays with Wetherspoon Hotels. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
0.3 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
539 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
1.0 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
461 reviews
9.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
295 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Tewkesbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hop Pole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hop Pole

Address: 94 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Price Range: £38 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hop Pole 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This well-known landmark is an amalgamation of historic buildings dating from the 15th and 18th centuries, known as a number of names, including The Crown during King Henry VIII's reign. However, eventually it was named The Royal Hop Pole when Queen Mary stayed in 1937 and gave it the official 'Royal.' Charles Dickens even mentions The Royal Hop Pole in his first novel, The Pickwick Papers. Other interesting information and pictures are located all over the hotel, including information on how the Medieval Banqueting Hall was discovered when the hotel was recently refurbished. The Royal Hop Pole has its own beautiful garden which leads to the banks of The River; there you can see picturesque views of the surrounding countryside and the Malverns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Hop Pole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hop Pole Hotel Tewkesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing