We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deluxe room with golf view???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Preston
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Deluxe room with golf view???”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a two night mid-week break - and had booked a Deluxe Gold View Room. We were sorely disappointed - the room allocated was quite small - with an extremely small window that, whilst overlooking the gold course, was permanently steamed up on one side - presume double glazing faulty! Fittings to the room were very shabby - indeed the room was in need of a refurbish - definitely not the deluxe room depicted on the hilton internet site - a tad misleading.

Being so disappointed, thinking we had not been allocated the room we had booked, we visited reception to question this, Oliver and his colleague, a young lady, but they seemed a little unsure regarding the size of beds in a deluxe room, and the bathrobes and coffee machine which were included on the room details on the website they advised were extras on request only. After a 'discussion' bathrobes and slippers were delivered to our room. The stance taken by reception was really just take it our leave it!!

Definitely not worth paying the extra for a deluxe room as this appears to be no different than a normal guest room booked previously.

There was at the time of our stay a classic car rally and the bulk of the main nearest car park was roped off for their sole use which meant that the few disabled spots allowing easy access to the hotel being used.

Swimming pool was okay - ladies changing rooms could really do with a good clean - the floor area was decidedly dirty, especially in the cubicles where there was an accumulation of dirt around the floor area to the doors.

On a good note, the staff in the restaurant are a credit to the hotel, being so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and of very good quality.

We have another reservation at this hotel later in the year when, again, we have booked a deluxe golf view room - obviously wished we hadn't bothered!!

Room Tip: Don't pay the extra for a deluxe room - and check you get what you have paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CM7Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuckrupHall, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear CM7Preston

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay here at Hilton Puckrup Hall.

We do take customer feedback very seriously and it has disappointed me to read of your experience here.

I do apologise that the reception staff on duty were unaware of the bed sizes and that you felt were not given the level of customer care you would expect from a Hilton Hotel. Please rest assured I have spoken to our Front of House Manager over this so that she may address this situation and where necessary retraining the staff to ensure they are fully aware of all room packages.

We are planning are refurbishment of the rooms later in the year, also we do take on board your comments about the Health Club and this again is being addressed.

On a positive note, I am pleased that you enjoyed the restaurant and our friendly staff. I note that you have booked to revisit later in the year, may I ask that you email me directly with your arrival dates, at lynn.bishop@hilton.com so I may personally oversee your stay.

With kind regards.

Lynn Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    611
    316
    150
    66
See reviews for
345
777
37
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Six of us stayed for a three day golf package. We found the staff very friendly, very helpful and very professional. The food was perfect, the golf course was very nice and suited our standard well. We couldn't fault the three night stay for the purpose of our visit. A special thanks to Megan for helping two stranded guests get back to the hotel at some very late hour when Tewksbury and all taxis from it had closed for the night. Finally, I read an earlier post in which a previous guest complained about the cost of wifi. If you join and register with Hilton Honours you get free in the rooms.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sir-Lottabags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuckrupHall, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Sir-Lottabags

Thank you very much for awarding us a grand 5 star review of your stay here at Hilton Puckrup Hall.

I was obviously delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay here at the Hotel and I will ensure Megan is made aware of your kind comments. It is pleasing to read that her efforts contributed towards your enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely
Lynn Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichester
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I arrived at the hotel tonight for a 3 day stay while on a course locally. I chose the hotel because of the health club and the "wireless internet in all rooms".
I've not used the health club yet so can't comment on it.
But I can comment on the wifi!
OK, they don't say that the wifi is free.....nor, surprisingly, do they tell you that they will rip you off £15 a day for it!
When will hotels realise that any charges for wifi are a big turn off, but excessive charges like this hack guests off big time.
When I complained, the duty manager said that she agreed with me "but there was nothing she could do because it's head office that decides". SO TELL HEAD OFFICE IT STINKS!!!!!
I'm simply amazed that hotel chains haven't yet twigged that they lose more than they gain by trying to con guests in this way. For my part I'll choose to eat outside the hotel and spend my money somewhere where they value my custom.
It's only by making our feelings known that we, the traveller, will finally get hotels to see sense over this.
So, my advice is to find another hotel and show Hilton that £15 a day for wifi is just not acceptable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank alanofchichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Room was quite dated, with a crack in the sink which was discoloured - didn't look the most hygienic, but it was clean. Minimal bathroom, not the luxury I have experienced at other Hilton hotels. Bed was however comfy and we slept well. We were at the back of the hotel in a quiet area whichever was nice. Access to rooms is a little annoying as the lift is slow and all the rooms are just of 1 really long corridor. Breakfast was excellent though, and the staff were really friendly :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cablecar2267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely location & a beautiful country house. Usually a recipe for a great family weekend retreat. Having been to many a Hilton weekend retreat & praised them fully, this unfortunately was a reality check. The room, a standard family room, was pokey, tired looking & overlooked the rubbish bins & rear yard. Lighting dull to say the least, taps you could just about get your toothbrush under & no fridge (families implies children implies one may need cold storage for bottles, milk, food, medicine etc as a standard). The room was clean though, but still didn't fancy walking barefoot on the carpet. Asked to change the room & bluntly told by over zealous receptionist (who took over from friendly receptionist) that our room & one other were the only rooms available, the other being identical. Not even a discussion (or smile) but she did thankfully inform me that it was Easter weekend - as if that made everything better ! After all that's why we were there.....

Pool was lovely & spa & health club staff helpful & accommodating. They could do with more than 2 loungers around it but maybe it was because it was Easter Weekend !! Certainly room for more. Anyway, lovely pool, clean, changing rooms spotless & great sauna & whirlpool too.

Restaurant - oh dear ! Told at check-in that we must make a reservation as it's a Saturday night and Easter Weekend (as if I needed reminding again). However, it appears the reservation must be made at a time that suits their staff rota & not your choice. Discussion with over zealous receptionist went something like this.... 8pm please, errr can you come at 715 or 730. No, 8pm please. Well I'll put you down for 745 but it will be busy & you'll have to wait. Ok we will take our chance thank you. Arrived at 8pm, maybe 4 other tables being waited on in the whole restaurant by one poor but ever so helpful waitress. Yes, by 830 it was busy.

Over priced & average at best food, but because it's Hilton, a country house hotel & miles from anywhere they can do that right ! Wrong.... £3.40 for a black coffee, £3 for a bowl of peanuts, £24.50 steak, drink prices made up while you wait it seemed. The food was average, served beautifully, but average. Service at dinner was fine, breakfast ok, but lunchtime on Easter Sunday at their very own Easter Lunch was abysmal. Yes it was a buffet, but we waited 15 mins to even order our drinks & nearly 20 minutes for the bill - which when it came was incorrect & had to be amended 3 times before they got it right. They did look after the children though on the Easter Egg hunt, so thank you. Food is also free and good too for under 10's - or under 12's depending on who you spoke to. Our 4 year old should have had his I.D with him maybe.

Terrace Bar is relaxing & has a better food menu in more casual surroundings. Still expensive for what it is, but certainly better food & service by far. They do have a large TV for sports events, but it's right in the corner & visible from a handful of tables only.

Generally a very tired (but clean) Hilton, predominantly used by golfers it seems as the golf course is part of the grounds. That's no problem at all, but there were other families & couples there too & plenty of kids. Rooms are dull (we got to see some others thanks to the friendly maid), service was not what we expect from a Hilton & the food is overpriced. But after all it was Easter Weekend !! Come on Hilton, time for that wake up call......

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuckrupHall, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Darren B

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. We sincerely apologise that your stay did not live up to your expectations.

We are planning a refurbishment of some of the bedrooms in order to strengthen our position as a 4* hotel and brand with exceptional service later in the year and hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to experience this.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the leisure facilities and I have passed on your comments to our Health Club manager.

I appreciate your candid feedback regarding our Front Office and Restaurant experience. We have provided your feedback to the team to ensure that everyone is consistent with how we should handle busy periods and endeavour to offer the highest level of service. I can confirm that food is free for children under 10 years of age. I can confirm that our food and beverage prices are in line with that of our competitors in the area.

We do take customer feedback very seriously and I thank you for taking the time writing this review. Without this, we cannot address areas of weakness.

I do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we do have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some time in the future and once you have made your reservation, please do contact me directly a lynn.bishop@hilton.com and I will personally oversee your stay.

With kind regards.

Lynn Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Check in was good and speedy and the room was Lovely and comfortable we had the bonus of having a room with a balcony .
The grounds are nice and we had a walk around before having a drink overlooking the golf course.
We took our evening meal in the restaurant this was a set price and the food was wonderful especially the beef the wine was expensive the service was really good next morning we took breakfast again good quality food and good service look forward to a re-visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deano223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
.Nicosia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely hotel in the country but so easily accessible from the M5. The rooms are large,comfortable and very well appointed. The breakfasts were great with lots of choice.The spa area was clean and very welcome after a busy day touring the area. We would heartily recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Naomi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
11.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
175 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
492 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
8.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,292 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury

Property: Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Address: Puckrup, Tewkesbury GL20 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing retreat to the Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury hotel on the edge of the Cotswolds. Located just 50 minutes from Birmingham and Bristol, the hotel is set amongst 140 acres of private parkland and boasts a championship 18-hole golf course - perfect for golfing weekends. Host a conference event or a beautiful wedding amidst picturesque surroundings. Take advantage of the hotel's extensive grounds, catering for up to 200 guests and ideal for outdoor teambuilding activities. Celebrate a special occasion in the ballroom, discuss business in one of the 15 meeting rooms and stay connected with Wi-Fi in public areas. Choose from a full range of treatments at The Escape Spa.. Swim laps in the indoor pool or simply relax in the sauna, whirlpool or steam room. Keep fit at the LivingWell Health Club featuring cardiovascular and strength training equipment. Refresh with a cold drink in the Terrace Bar and relax in a comfortable arm chair or enjoy some fresh country air while savouring a snack at the outdoor golf terrace. Take in views of the golf course while sampling traditional English and internationally inspired cuisine cooked to perfection by the talented chefs at Balharries restaurant. Unwind in a comfortable guest room with a 32-inch plasma TV, on-demand movies and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury Hotel Tewkesbury
Hilton Tewkesbury
Tewkesbury Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing