We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our family stayed at this hotel overnight (12 of us) prior to attending a Christening locally. We originally booked as the hotel was close to the church and we were a bit concerned about some of the negative reviews on Trip Advisor. Not a bit of it - the hotel was excellent, staff and service great and the meal for 12 was handled extremely well. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a double room with balcony if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,184 - 1,190 of 1,871 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had booked a deluxe room upgrade. The room was very small and the only deluxe bit was some complimentary chocolates and a miniature bottle of wine. The none deluxe rooms were the same size but no freebees! W complained and were moved to a larger room which was just OK. The window double glazing was steamed up. The windows were badly fitting letting in a permanent draft. The bed was very uncomfortable. We were with a group of friends on a car tour. Most of our rooms were the furthest away from the only lift. The evening food was average. The breakfast on Saturday was very good but it then went downhill. The bar service was poor. Wi-Fi connection was chargeable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuckrupHall, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear David S

Thank you for posting a review of your stay here at Hilton Puckrup Hall.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your rooms and that your bed was uncomfortable. I have managed to track your reservation down and will certainly be looking at the maintenance issues you mention.

I will of course be carrying out a full investigation as to the reason why we dropped below our usual high standards of customer care and where necessary retraining the relevant team members that were on duty during your stay as we cannot allow our service levels and product to become inconsistent.

With kind regards.

Lynn Bishop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently with family one of whom is on a gluten free diet. Expecting the usual lengthy discussions and explanations in the restaurant about what being gluten free , GF , means I was delighted to see that the menu clearly identified all the dishes which were gluten free . In addition unlike many other places we have stayed which only have one or two GF choices a substantial part of the menu across starters, mains and desserts were GF which meant my family member didn't have to eat the same meal day after day so they had a wonderful time.
10 out of 10 to whoever it is at the hotel who sets the menu we would certainly stay again and will be notifying the gluten free society.

Room Tip: If you like a lay in on a morning ask for a room on the other side to the golf course which opens at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoragPenrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuckrupHall, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear MoragPenrith

Thank you for awarding us a grand 5 star review of your recent stay here at Hilton Puckrup Hall.
I shall ensure that the Head Chef and the food and beverage team are made aware of your comments as I know they will be delighted to know that their efforts with regards the GF choices contributed towards your enjoyable stay.

I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards
Lynn Bishop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a two night mid-week break - and had booked a Deluxe Gold View Room. We were sorely disappointed - the room allocated was quite small - with an extremely small window that, whilst overlooking the gold course, was permanently steamed up on one side - presume double glazing faulty! Fittings to the room were very shabby - indeed the room was in need of a refurbish - definitely not the deluxe room depicted on the hilton internet site - a tad misleading.

Being so disappointed, thinking we had not been allocated the room we had booked, we visited reception to question this, Oliver and his colleague, a young lady, but they seemed a little unsure regarding the size of beds in a deluxe room, and the bathrobes and coffee machine which were included on the room details on the website they advised were extras on request only. After a 'discussion' bathrobes and slippers were delivered to our room. The stance taken by reception was really just take it our leave it!!

Definitely not worth paying the extra for a deluxe room as this appears to be no different than a normal guest room booked previously.

There was at the time of our stay a classic car rally and the bulk of the main nearest car park was roped off for their sole use which meant that the few disabled spots allowing easy access to the hotel being used.

Swimming pool was okay - ladies changing rooms could really do with a good clean - the floor area was decidedly dirty, especially in the cubicles where there was an accumulation of dirt around the floor area to the doors.

On a good note, the staff in the restaurant are a credit to the hotel, being so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and of very good quality.

We have another reservation at this hotel later in the year when, again, we have booked a deluxe golf view room - obviously wished we hadn't bothered!!

Room Tip: Don't pay the extra for a deluxe room - and check you get what you have paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CM7Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuckrupHall, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear CM7Preston

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay here at Hilton Puckrup Hall.

We do take customer feedback very seriously and it has disappointed me to read of your experience here.

I do apologise that the reception staff on duty were unaware of the bed sizes and that you felt were not given the level of customer care you would expect from a Hilton Hotel. Please rest assured I have spoken to our Front of House Manager over this so that she may address this situation and where necessary retraining the staff to ensure they are fully aware of all room packages.

We are planning are refurbishment of the rooms later in the year, also we do take on board your comments about the Health Club and this again is being addressed.

On a positive note, I am pleased that you enjoyed the restaurant and our friendly staff. I note that you have booked to revisit later in the year, may I ask that you email me directly with your arrival dates, at lynn.bishop@hilton.com so I may personally oversee your stay.

With kind regards.

Lynn Bishop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Six of us stayed for a three day golf package. We found the staff very friendly, very helpful and very professional. The food was perfect, the golf course was very nice and suited our standard well. We couldn't fault the three night stay for the purpose of our visit. A special thanks to Megan for helping two stranded guests get back to the hotel at some very late hour when Tewksbury and all taxis from it had closed for the night. Finally, I read an earlier post in which a previous guest complained about the cost of wifi. If you join and register with Hilton Honours you get free in the rooms.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sir-Lottabags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuckrupHall, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Sir-Lottabags

Thank you very much for awarding us a grand 5 star review of your stay here at Hilton Puckrup Hall.

I was obviously delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay here at the Hotel and I will ensure Megan is made aware of your kind comments. It is pleasing to read that her efforts contributed towards your enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely
Lynn Bishop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I arrived at the hotel tonight for a 3 day stay while on a course locally. I chose the hotel because of the health club and the "wireless internet in all rooms".
I've not used the health club yet so can't comment on it.
But I can comment on the wifi!
OK, they don't say that the wifi is free.....nor, surprisingly, do they tell you that they will rip you off £15 a day for it!
When will hotels realise that any charges for wifi are a big turn off, but excessive charges like this hack guests off big time.
When I complained, the duty manager said that she agreed with me "but there was nothing she could do because it's head office that decides". SO TELL HEAD OFFICE IT STINKS!!!!!
I'm simply amazed that hotel chains haven't yet twigged that they lose more than they gain by trying to con guests in this way. For my part I'll choose to eat outside the hotel and spend my money somewhere where they value my custom.
It's only by making our feelings known that we, the traveller, will finally get hotels to see sense over this.
So, my advice is to find another hotel and show Hilton that £15 a day for wifi is just not acceptable.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank alanofchichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Room was quite dated, with a crack in the sink which was discoloured - didn't look the most hygienic, but it was clean. Minimal bathroom, not the luxury I have experienced at other Hilton hotels. Bed was however comfy and we slept well. We were at the back of the hotel in a quiet area whichever was nice. Access to rooms is a little annoying as the lift is slow and all the rooms are just of 1 really long corridor. Breakfast was excellent though, and the staff were really friendly :)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cablecar2267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
11.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
354 reviews
16.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,086 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
550 reviews
8.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,368 reviews
13 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury

Address: Puckrup, Tewkesbury GL20 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Price Range: £79 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing retreat to the Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury hotel on the edge of the Cotswolds. Located just 50 minutes from Birmingham and Bristol, the hotel is set amongst 140 acres of private parkland and boasts a championship 18-hole golf course - perfect for golfing weekends. Host a conference event or a beautiful wedding amidst picturesque surroundings. Take advantage of the hotel's extensive grounds, catering for up to 200 guests and ideal for outdoor teambuilding activities. Celebrate a special occasion in the ballroom, discuss business in one of the 15 meeting rooms and stay connected with Wi-Fi in public areas. Choose from a full range of treatments at The Escape Spa.. Swim laps in the indoor pool or simply relax in the sauna, whirlpool or steam room. Keep fit at the LivingWell Health Club featuring cardiovascular and strength training equipment. Refresh with a cold drink in the Terrace Bar and relax in a comfortable arm chair or enjoy some fresh country air while savouring a snack at the outdoor golf terrace. Take in views of the golf course while sampling traditional English and internationally inspired cuisine cooked to perfection by the talented chefs at Balharries restaurant. Unwind in a comfortable guest room with a 32-inch plasma TV, on-demand movies and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury Hotel Tewkesbury
Hilton Tewkesbury
Tewkesbury Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing