We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We do love this hotel, but a few niggles this time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
devon england
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“We do love this hotel, but a few niggles this time.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We do love this Hilton and will return, but a few niggles spoil t the stay.
We will definitely return.
We rung the hotel in advance to ask if there were any restrictions on the use of the pool for kids.And we were assured by someone on the Living well team that adults only swim was only the 1st and last hour of the day, Brilliant ! After a hard day out we can relax with a gentle swim, so when we go for a swim we are then told that there is an aerobics class in 30 mins time, which then takes it up to the adults only time. Now either the pool is available for hotel guests for the times stated or not. After all it is a hotel which states it has a pool for guests, one of my little bug bears not just with Hilton i should add. hence we always ring and check before arriving.
Room service, despite asking the person on the phone to repeat the order back to us, it still arrived wrong, with missing items, cutlery and serviettes.
Breakfast was a complete shambles, when we arrived for breakfast, most hot items had run out, whilst waiting for those to arrive, the rest ran out and then when they arrived other stuff had run out, so you were never able to actual serve yourself a breakfast, when they bought out the baked beans they were actually stone cold. I appreciate that they were busy and the staff were trying their very best, but it's not like they didn't know how many guests they had staying.
Staff were exceptional, polite and very helpful and we did have our breakfast refunded, but there again we then had to start on our journey hungry and spend a fortune on a not nice breakfast on the motorway.
I have noticed equal chaos at other Hiltons at breakfast time, perhaps it might be time for the chain to have a rethink on how they organize this.
Great points though, pool is a nice size and a lovely temp, room service food was lovely and staff are fantastic and as i say we will happily return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozziefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    619
    318
    150
    66
See reviews for
351
786
37
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is ideal for a night away with your other half or meeting up with friend or two. There are some good deals like the pamper package which include db&b and a 30 min spa treatment each.

If the weather is good it's nice to relax outside by the golf course. Spend an extra few pounds on a room upgrade to overlook it...some rooms have balconies.

Yes...alcohol is expensive as it is at most decent hotels. They serve costa coffee in the terrace bar. The staff are very friendly and polite.

The gym is quite good too. Didn't use the pool this time but I remember from a previous visit that it would be good to have more loungers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knieval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Strategically placed just off the motorway, Puckrup Hall in Tewkesbury is a lovely spot to unwind or as an overnight stopover. I'd recommend finding a bargain online as the prices were a little high but it doesn't get away from the hotel being worth it. You would want to spend a few days here to really benefit from the range of services, hotel and restaurant available.

I stayed here for a wedding and there was plenty of space in the rooms to get ready and lovely grounds for the children to run around and photos to be taken. A large manor is on site and can be used for private hire and couldnt fault the facilities at all. Plenty of space for groups to chat in different areas but without feeling excluded from the overall atmosphere of the event.

The only downside was the bar prices as they seemed quite high.

Would definitely consider using the hotel again but I expect there are cheaper alternatives that would be better placed to meet my needs.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim_corke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed one night to just get away. The sofa bed in the room was just right for our 4 year old, just a shame it didn't have a fridge in the room, especially when you have children with you.

The pool was good and more for fun than swimming. We ate at the restaurant which had air con on full, so it was cool. Overall not the most exceptional meal I've had but not bad either.

The staff were all friendly and couldn't be faulted, so I would recommend the hotel to families.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Born_in_a_barn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A one night stay in a typical Hilton. Staff were courteous and helpful. The room was comfortable and a decent size with a good sized firm bed which meant a good night's sleep. We only breakfasted but that was good value although the restaurant which we didn't try looked a touch pricey. The hotel is really geared up for golfers as it comes with a golf course attached but we didn't take advantage of that or any of the other facilities such as the spa. The grounds/golf course looked beautiful and added to a well situated hotel. It was good value for what we paid for our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnMacSeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a Living Social voucher for an afternoon tea and use of the spa facilities recently. The afternoon tea was very good, the bread used for the sandwiches was fresh and the cakes were delicious. The pool, jacuzzi and steam room were all clean and tidy and we really enjoyed it. Nothing to be unduly negative about but at the risk of sounding 'picky' the lounge/dining area could benefit from an extra vacuum clean during the day. Must mention the staff who were courteous and friendly. We will definitely make a return visit. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aashepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Visiting family my son booked us in here. The property itself is starting to look a bit dated but the location and service were excellent.
Food in Balharries was very good for hotel food, my only criticism was that like many establishments nowadays the hot food was served on cold plates meaning it soon went cold; that said the pork and apple risotto was delicious as was the blade of beef.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the golf course at the far end away from the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
11.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
221 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
508 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,042 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
470 reviews
8.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury

Property: Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Address: Puckrup, Tewkesbury GL20 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxing retreat to the Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury hotel on the edge of the Cotswolds. Located just 50 minutes from Birmingham and Bristol, the hotel is set amongst 140 acres of private parkland and boasts a championship 18-hole golf course - perfect for golfing weekends. Host a conference event or a beautiful wedding amidst picturesque surroundings. Take advantage of the hotel's extensive grounds, catering for up to 200 guests and ideal for outdoor teambuilding activities. Celebrate a special occasion in the ballroom, discuss business in one of the 15 meeting rooms and stay connected with Wi-Fi in public areas. Choose from a full range of treatments at The Escape Spa.. Swim laps in the indoor pool or simply relax in the sauna, whirlpool or steam room. Keep fit at the LivingWell Health Club featuring cardiovascular and strength training equipment. Refresh with a cold drink in the Terrace Bar and relax in a comfortable arm chair or enjoy some fresh country air while savouring a snack at the outdoor golf terrace. Take in views of the golf course while sampling traditional English and internationally inspired cuisine cooked to perfection by the talented chefs at Balharries restaurant. Unwind in a comfortable guest room with a 32-inch plasma TV, on-demand movies and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury Hotel Tewkesbury
Hilton Tewkesbury
Tewkesbury Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing