We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the Top”
Review of Jessop House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jessop House
Ranked #1 of 12 Tewkesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top of the Top”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is by far the best B & B my husband and I have ever experienced. When we first got here we were booked elsewhere and were very unhappy. My sister and I decided to see if we could find somewhere else to stay. We stopped when we saw the Jessop House and asked if they had any openings. Well, Steve immediately said we will see what we can do and when Chris came in she did not hesitate to tell us she would do whatever it took to keep us as long as we needed. Okay, we were SOLD on the spot. Not only were the accommodations the TOP but the owners were over the TOP. I came down with a cold while there and they took care of me as if I were family. Everything was a cut above. The decor is absolutely charming. This is truly a doll house. If you are ever in this part of the UK, this is the only place to stay! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbeezo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    24
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
175
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I had a 2 night stay here with my daughter. The place is absolutely beautiful, excellently situated to explore Tewkesbury. Chris and Steve are warm and welcoming hosts and will do as much as possible to make the stay perfect. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Jessop House for any occasion.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was the most unusual B&B experience we have ever had. We tried to book here in advance of our trip, but they were full. After a really bad experience at another Tewkesbury hotel, we walked down the street and knocked on the Jessop House door. For all the beauty the listing shows, the reality was ever so much better. Chris Warbrick, the owner, listened to our tale of woe and said she could put us up for the night. We were so thrilled with this place, we stayed for an entire week. If we had not promised ourselves to see more of the UK, we might be there still . My sister had a terrible cold, and Chris and Stephen took care of her while the rest of us did ome sightseeing .There is nothing too much for this wonderful couple. They took my sis hot porridge to her room in the morning and checked on her throughout the day.
All the reviews will talk about the beautiful decor, and they will be correct. Every room is unique and soothing and lovely. Wonderful storage so you can really unpack, exquisitely clean - even washcloths, The attention to detail is beyond anything we have EVER seen in a B&B. The location is perfect- right in the heart of town, steps from the Abbey and the Avon.
But what makes this a five star plus is the hosts. Warm friendly welcoming, they are everything you dreamed your hosts might be. They made us laugh, they made us feel like old friends, and by the time we left, they had made us feel like family.
If you are traveling to Tewkesbury, do everything you can to get a room at the Jessop. Itwill be a vist you'll never forget !

Room Tip: Contact them direct. They will do everything they can to accommodate your requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somanybooks523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After arriving in Tewkesbury and finding our B & B - we were absolutely overwhelmed by the beautiful decor of this gorgeous B & B. It has been meticulously renovated over the past 3 years and attention to every detail is worth noting. Our host, Chris was so welcoming and our family room and bathroom was very clean and stylish. Breakfast was also wonderful. Hope we can return from Sydney one day!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby9938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed in Room 7 for couple of nights over bank holiday.
Fabulous decor, spotless, beautiful rooms in a lovely stylish Georgian house.
Breakfast excellent with plenty of choice
Chris & Steve are excellent hosts, very friendly, great sense of humour and wonderful couple.
All in all, a superb B&B

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanduneGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radway Warwick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a B & B in a million with owners to match. We first stayed at The Jessop Townhouse back in February as a break from caring for my partner's terminally ill Father. It was wonderful to have some time away in such a beautiful establishment. Very sadly, we received news shortly after our arrival at the Jessop Townhouse that his Dad had passed away in our absence. Chris and Steve were so kind and understanding as we were obviously distressed. We were so touched that they then offered to let us stay for a night free of charge after things had settled down. We had so loved everything about the hotel that we decided to take them up on their very generous offer and have just returned from a super night away. The hotel really is a cut above and totally deserves its five star rating. The décor is fantastic with stylish touches everywhere and is immaculately presented. I cannot believe anyone could find fault with anything! This is a place that we will most definitely return to in the future and would unreservedly recommend to anyone. Very hard to beat.
Thank you once again Chris and Steve for your kind and generous hospitality. Caroline and Mark

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondebirdWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights to visit the Malvern Flower Show and visit the Town and Abbey. This Establishment well deserves its 5*. Its very well run, spotless, decor that compliments the lovely Georgian building. Lovely lounge and dining room. Breakfasts very good lots of choice. We were in room 4 with very comfortable bed. Hosts couldnt have been more helpful. Lovely couple. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#2 of 12 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
8.0 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#3 of 70 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jessop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jessop House

Property: Jessop House
Address: 65 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jessop House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership from Oct 2011 Jessop House has been renovated to the highest standard. Rooms feature beds dressed with the finest Jaquard Sanderson linens and cosy velvet bedspreads, grand chandeliers adorn spacious rooms, maintaining many original period features whilst enjoying modern day comforts. Jessop House offers large well equipped en-suite rooms. Experience the splendour of medieval Tewkesbury & the Cotswolds from the comfort of Tewkesbury's finest Georgian town house. Privately owned, personal service is at the heart of everything we do... affordable, stylish and comfortable, Jessop House has all the essential ingredients for an enjoyable and relaxed stay in a beautiful town centre location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Jessop House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jessop Townhouse Hotel Tewkesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing