We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Jessop House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jessop House
Ranked #1 of 12 Tewkesbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

My family and I have just returned from a fabulous 4 night stay at Jessop House!
We had 3 rooms, all individually styled to a very high standard. They were ultra comfortable and immaculately clean.
Breakfast at Jessop House is a real treat, with plenty of choice and top quality ingredients, the bacon is to die for!
It is ideally located being a stone's throw from the Abbey, a short stroll to the river and likewise to numerous restaurants, shops, tea rooms and pubs.
Christine and Stephen's hospitality is second to none. When we left we felt like we were leaving old friends! We cannot recommend Jessop House highly enough, we're so glad we decided to stay there!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    24
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
175
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Booked this hotel almost blindly as in a rush but followed the very positive reviews. Thank goodness for Trip Advisor.
Disappointment is NOT a word anyone can attribute to Jessop House and its Proprietors as it is very lovely indeed in every way. Rooms I saw were on the large side for such a bijou property in the centre of town and most comfortably presented and ultra clean.
Every aspect and room has been lovingly and in a very stylish but still traditional fashion decorated and with no expense spared ( I once worked for an interior designer and know where much of the coverings etc were sourced and their high costs).
Lovely breakfast lots of choices, and certainly not the pile it high and sell it cheap sort of food, my smoked salmon and scrambled egg was so beautifully cooked I could have wept!

They even manage to get most guests parked in spaces at the rear with a bit of juggling but there is a public car park nearby as well.

So glad we chose this place and not one of the pub based accommodations that stand out on the High Street. We met several people who did not have such (or even any) nice things to say about their particular choices or those places.

Room Tip: Possibly rooms on front of property have a slightly more charming view but all interiors will outway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippers087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a lovely little hotel in the centre of town. Feels very cozy and homely. My room was surprisingly huge and luxurious: big and the most comfortable bed, a separate area with a sofa, fireplace and a TV. It felt so homely with nice little things like photoframes with real family pictures. Nice big breakfast with a variety of choices. My favourite is scrambled eggs with smoked salmon.
Many thanks to Chris and Steve (the couple that runs the hotel) - they are really friendly and nice people, always make you feel comfortable and are ready to help you with absolutely anything that you might need. I highly appreciate it. I would recommend this place to everyone and would definitely stay here should I cme back to Tewkesbury!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just got back from a two-night stay at The Jessop Townhouse and would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Tewkesbury. The house is beautiful - right in the middle of town and close to shops and pubs/restaurants, but still relatively quiet.

We went for the deluxe room and made the right choice. The room was huge and elegant, with a double bed, sofa, chaise, dressing table, double wardrobe and two chests of drawers. Stephen, our host said it's very popular with brides because you can fit in the make-up artist, bridesmaid and bride's mother at the same time and we believed him! The en-suite was quite small in comparison, but spotlessly clean.

The hosts are very friendly and funny, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was good and a vegetarian option was offered without asking.

A couple of very minor things - the room floorboards are a bit creaky when you walk on them, which is quite noticeable at night. Also, the car parking is a squeeze so be prepared for some shuffling around (although the hosts will offer to move your car for you). Having said that, there's a cheap long-stay car park just a minute's walk away so it's not a deal breaker.

All in all, a great place. We'd definitely stay at The Jessop again and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe - it's the entire width of the building and there is lots of space in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I arrived on their doorstep, mistakenly thinking I had booked it in.( I hadn't. I'd researched it then omitted to actually send the booking). Although they would have had every right to say goodbye to somebody who had just wandered in, my partner and I made to feel very welcome. Just about a stone's throw from the Abbey, it is ideal for Tewkesbury's main attraction. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the breakfast perfectly prepared. If I go back to Tewkesbury I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Perhaps I'll get round to prebooking in the normal way next time rather than risk the disappointment of finding it fully booked!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dominic f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley. West Yorks
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

As promised in our last review in 2013, we have revisited this year. In fact, we have stayed 3 times & occupied 3 different rooms, so sampling both wings. Cannot speak too highly of the whole experience, including the quality of the rooms, the attention to detail, the breakfasts & the friendliness of Chris & Steve. We loved staying over "The Battle" Festival weekend & the different types of evening meals at The Nottingham, Salerno & The (fantastic) Bay Tree with very acceptable 10% discount for Jessop guests. We can think of no other place to rival this in the area & wouldn't wish to stay anywhere else. We hope to be back next year, so please Chris & Steve try to squeeze us in!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carnevale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this property on 3 occasions over 2 years and have never failed to be impressed by the warm welcome, sumptuous and spotless rooms and the delicious breakfasts cooked with local farm produce. We'll no doubt be staying again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the property are quieter but all rooms have thick walls and double glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#2 of 12 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
8.0 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#3 of 70 in Cheltenham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jessop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jessop House

Property: Jessop House
Address: 65 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jessop House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership from Oct 2011 Jessop House has been renovated to the highest standard. Rooms feature beds dressed with the finest Jaquard Sanderson linens and cosy velvet bedspreads, grand chandeliers adorn spacious rooms, maintaining many original period features whilst enjoying modern day comforts. Jessop House offers large well equipped en-suite rooms. Experience the splendour of medieval Tewkesbury & the Cotswolds from the comfort of Tewkesbury's finest Georgian town house. Privately owned, personal service is at the heart of everything we do... affordable, stylish and comfortable, Jessop House has all the essential ingredients for an enjoyable and relaxed stay in a beautiful town centre location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Jessop House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jessop Townhouse Hotel Tewkesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing