We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant suprise”
Review of Tewkesbury Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tewkesbury Park
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A pleasant suprise”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I work in the local area and used to stay at the Tewkesbury Park as one of the default Hotel's our business used. Unfortunately the standard of accommodation, service and food dropped to such an appalling level in 2013 we stopped using the hotel as a business and I moved to using the Thistle Hotel in Cheltenham.

I am aware that the Hotel subsequently went bust and has been taken over by a new owner so I decided to return this week when I couldn't get into the Thistle

Must say I was dreading the experience, but was very pleasantly surprised by the improvement in the service and the standard of my room.

Beds could still do with replacement, decor needs attention, the food is still too limited, dining area too formal and bar area is poor.

with the nice weather I did get a chance to sample the golf course and found that the twilight green fee was very reasonable at £14 for a round. The course was excellent and in great condition and playing after 6pm meant that I had a very relaxed enjoyable round in lovely surroundings without the pressure of a packed golf course (really good as I am not a low handicapper!)

This is a great golf course and it seems to me like the new owners are putting the effort in to improve the standards in the hotel - They just need to continue with this and improve some of the decor, bar and dining and I would consider moving back to this hotel for the majority of my business trips.

Not good enough yet as just a hotel - but if your a keen golfer then its a strong pull to put up with some of the things that I am sure will improve with time.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noleen G, General Manager at Tewkesbury Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Graham H

I am very pleased that you chose to give us another chance when you visited the hotel recently and that you have seen some improvements to the service and standards in the hotel.
Having taken over the hotel three months ago we still have a lot of work to do but this has now started and will continue over the next year or so .

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    142
    59
    22
    15
See reviews for
89
237
6
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel is in a quiet golf club, situated just outside Tewkesbury, it is a walk into town but probably about 15 to 20 minutes, the bar and restaurant area is very nice and the staff are great and very helpful, breakfast is a self service affair and of good quality and selection. Although there for work purposes I would not hesitate to use it for a trip to the area with my wife.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noleen G, Manager at Tewkesbury Park, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Rick
It was kind of you to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel we will certainly welcome both of you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, friendly staff, easy to find and park, nice room was clean and tidy, dinner and breakfast was nice would recommend. Free internet was good. Only one problem! Did not get my wake up call in the morning, I was not the only one!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noleen G, Manager at Tewkesbury Park, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Mark
Thank you for your review it was kind of you to take the time
I am sorry you did not receive your early morning call from my team
We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

July 19th 2014 we held our wedding at Tewkesbury abbey with our wedding breakfast and evening do at Tewkesbury Park hotel. Months before the wedding we had constant contact with Sam and Clair who were happy to help anytime of the day and with any of our requests. The day before we arrived at the hotel to be welcomed by all members of staff working on our wedding. Sam was there from start to finish and what an absolutely fantastic job this lady does! The morning of our wedding was a wet one, torrential rains and thunder. Sam and Clair were both waiting for me at the entrance to walk me to my car with an umbrella, and proceeded to do the same for the bridesmaids and flower girls. We had forgot the flower girl pots and Clair came out of her way to get to the Abbey before the wedding started, running in the pouring rain and in her high heels, to make sure the pots made it to them on time. The amazing attention to detail lasted throughout the entire day. The surroundings of this hotel made for some stunning photo opportunities. If I could do our day again, I would 110% pick this location. Not a single thing bad could be said about the staff, hotel, location or food. Thank you for making our day as perfect as it was!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalaParrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noleen G, Manager at Tewkesbury Park, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Cala
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel it is always nice to receive such positive feedback I have passed your review onto all of the team concerned
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Spent a weekend at this hotel for the Tewkesbury Medieval festival which is held in an adjacent field so couldn't be handier. The setting is stunning, surrounded by the golf course and open countryside. The staff I met were all friendly and efficient. My room was clean and tidy and had all that I needed although it got very hot even with the window open at night. The communal areas are tired and worn but I hear are due to be updated. There was handy disabled parking near the reception although only a few spaces. Lovely views over the golf course from my room.

Negatives, my room was a very long way from reception and up two flights of stairs. There is no lift. I had to ask for help to take my suitcase up. As I have had a slipped disc it was no fun negotiating these stairs. The drinks meals and bar meals are all expensive. I paid £5 for a small (very small) glass of rose. Breakfast can be obtained for less than a fiver in Wetherspoons, so I wouldn't pay £12.95. Similarly for evening meals, plus the restaurant seemed very formal. Wifi was a bit hit and miss too.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems ask for a ground floor room as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWLadyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noleen G, General Manager at Tewkesbury Park, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear NWLadyManchester
Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding our hotel i have passed you comments onto our team as this will help us develop our product over the coming months,
we are very pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with us and look forward to seeing you again
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I spent four days and nights here with dinner included.

The location is beautiful, with superb views of the surrounding countryside and the well kept golf course that surrounds the hotel. My room had an external door that opened onto the course, which was fantastic.

The atmosphere of the hotel is old and tired, particularly the interiors, food and drink options - even the music in the dining area didn't venture beyond early 90s.

To list a few annoyances: my shower was broken, bath unusable, room card expired, had enormous waits for bar service, badly cooked steak, poor quality meat and vegetables - on two occasions the beef served was mostly gristle.

In all, the best maintained aspect of the hotel was the golf course and at times it felt like the guests were an inconvenience to the leisure-centre aspect of the hotel. However, the staff were very helpful when you could find them and I felt they would go out of your way to help you.

I would give an average score, but I imagine this shouldn't be the average experience for a four star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noleen G, General Manager at Tewkesbury Park, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Alex thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of our hotel.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your time in the area, and we would welcome the chance to show you the improvements we are putting into place over the next few months, i have shared your review with our team so they can understand where we are not achieving the corrects standards.
Thank you once again and we look forward to your next visit
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Whilst I can not disagree with the comments re: hotel being tired and outdated at present, I was told on our visit that there are now new owners who are putting a lot of work into bringing the hotel standards up. Our room was ok, clean and tidy, the bathroom not so and we all thought the breakfast was ok. I would go back there, the hotel has a lot to offer, swimming pool, squash and tennis courts etc and the prices are not astronomical.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noleen G, General Manager at Tewkesbury Park, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Fussyfour
We always welcome constructive feedback concerning our hotel, i have passed on your feedback to our team members to help us improve the standards that we offer.
I hope that when you next return you will see an improvement in all areas of the hotel.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
3.3 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
6.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,307 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,202 reviews
8.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
227 reviews
6.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tewkesbury Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tewkesbury Park

Property: Tewkesbury Park
Address: Lincoln Green Lane, Tewkesbury GL20 7DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tewkesbury Park 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a commanding position with stunning views of the Severn valley, Tewkesbury Park is just 5 minutes' drive from the M5 motorway. This family owned Georgian Manor house has been beautifully restored to offer the outstanding quality and facilities demanded by today's traveller. The addition of full leisure facilities including pool, sauna,steam room,gym, hot tub, squash and tennis, together with its 18-hole on-site golf course, makes Tewkesbury Park a true resort. Perfect for visiting the Cotswolds, the Wye Valley and the Malverns, as well as nearby cities of Gloucester, Worcester and Regency Cheltenham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tewkesbury Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Tewkesbury Park Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Brook Tewkesbury Park Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Tewkesbury
Tewkesbury Park Hotel And Country
Country Club Tewkesbury
Hotel Park Tewkesbury
Tewkesbury Park Golf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing