We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break in Tewkesbury”
Review of Tewkesbury Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tewkesbury Park
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Short Break in Tewkesbury”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The golf course was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed the round we played. The hotel has only recently been taken over and there are signs of much needed upgrading throughout the hotel e.g. painting and ground work. Reception is quite impressive. Hotel reception staff friendly but ordered a newspaper on 2 days which never arrived and when I asked about it neither receptionist knew about it. Restaurant light and airy but again a bit tired. Staff friendly but a bit of customer service training would help. Food was well presented, tasty and value for money. Rooms tired but clean. We got a very good deal with Late Rooms so for a cheap break it was an excellent choice. May visit again to see how things have improved.

Room Tip: Rooms over golf course are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noleen G, General Manager at Tewkesbury Park, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Jeanette
Thank you for your constructive feedback, the improvements to the hotel are continuing and your comments regarding the staff and services have been taken on board and shared with the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    142
    59
    22
    15
See reviews for
89
237
6
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A great golf course, however the food was average - had to ask for more jugs of water as two between 24 people was not enough. No forks for the puddings hence strawberry shortbread tended to fly across the table!

Room Tip: Did not stay, only had dinner and a round of golf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noleen G, General Manager at Tewkesbury Park, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Rayanna
It was nice of you to take the time to review our hotel, we appreciate all of our guests feedback and we will share your comments with all of our team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I think the title is the best way to describe it as the extensive grounds consist of a golf course (only). Step outside the hotel too far and you're in danger of being hit by a golf ball as there's nowhere to stroll!

Having said that, it's great if you're a golfer but maybe not so good if not as it's a long walk or drive through the middle of the golf course to the town. Tried to get a drink and sit outside in the evening which would have been very pleasant as the view is great, but a wedding plus another party together with the terrace to the golf bar dominated by a group of noisy, drunken women made this impossible.

However, it was a Saturday night so, having said all of that, catch the hotel at a quiet time and it's good but perhaps a little tatty in places for a 4-star. We only paid £68 online for a double room for a night so can't really complain. Good breakfast for £10 each if you're a guest.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndyNorwichUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noleen G, General Manager at Tewkesbury Park, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Andy Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel, we appreciate your comments, and i will share your constructive feedback with our team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I work in the local area and used to stay at the Tewkesbury Park as one of the default Hotel's our business used. Unfortunately the standard of accommodation, service and food dropped to such an appalling level in 2013 we stopped using the hotel as a business and I moved to using the Thistle Hotel in Cheltenham.

I am aware that the Hotel subsequently went bust and has been taken over by a new owner so I decided to return this week when I couldn't get into the Thistle

Must say I was dreading the experience, but was very pleasantly surprised by the improvement in the service and the standard of my room.

Beds could still do with replacement, decor needs attention, the food is still too limited, dining area too formal and bar area is poor.

with the nice weather I did get a chance to sample the golf course and found that the twilight green fee was very reasonable at £14 for a round. The course was excellent and in great condition and playing after 6pm meant that I had a very relaxed enjoyable round in lovely surroundings without the pressure of a packed golf course (really good as I am not a low handicapper!)

This is a great golf course and it seems to me like the new owners are putting the effort in to improve the standards in the hotel - They just need to continue with this and improve some of the decor, bar and dining and I would consider moving back to this hotel for the majority of my business trips.

Not good enough yet as just a hotel - but if your a keen golfer then its a strong pull to put up with some of the things that I am sure will improve with time.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noleen G, General Manager at Tewkesbury Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Graham H

I am very pleased that you chose to give us another chance when you visited the hotel recently and that you have seen some improvements to the service and standards in the hotel.
Having taken over the hotel three months ago we still have a lot of work to do but this has now started and will continue over the next year or so .

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel is in a quiet golf club, situated just outside Tewkesbury, it is a walk into town but probably about 15 to 20 minutes, the bar and restaurant area is very nice and the staff are great and very helpful, breakfast is a self service affair and of good quality and selection. Although there for work purposes I would not hesitate to use it for a trip to the area with my wife.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noleen G, Manager at Tewkesbury Park, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Rick
It was kind of you to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel we will certainly welcome both of you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, friendly staff, easy to find and park, nice room was clean and tidy, dinner and breakfast was nice would recommend. Free internet was good. Only one problem! Did not get my wake up call in the morning, I was not the only one!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noleen G, Manager at Tewkesbury Park, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Mark
Thank you for your review it was kind of you to take the time
I am sorry you did not receive your early morning call from my team
We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

July 19th 2014 we held our wedding at Tewkesbury abbey with our wedding breakfast and evening do at Tewkesbury Park hotel. Months before the wedding we had constant contact with Sam and Clair who were happy to help anytime of the day and with any of our requests. The day before we arrived at the hotel to be welcomed by all members of staff working on our wedding. Sam was there from start to finish and what an absolutely fantastic job this lady does! The morning of our wedding was a wet one, torrential rains and thunder. Sam and Clair were both waiting for me at the entrance to walk me to my car with an umbrella, and proceeded to do the same for the bridesmaids and flower girls. We had forgot the flower girl pots and Clair came out of her way to get to the Abbey before the wedding started, running in the pouring rain and in her high heels, to make sure the pots made it to them on time. The amazing attention to detail lasted throughout the entire day. The surroundings of this hotel made for some stunning photo opportunities. If I could do our day again, I would 110% pick this location. Not a single thing bad could be said about the staff, hotel, location or food. Thank you for making our day as perfect as it was!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalaParrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noleen G, Manager at Tewkesbury Park, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Cala
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel it is always nice to receive such positive feedback I have passed your review onto all of the team concerned
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
3.3 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
6.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,202 reviews
8.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
227 reviews
6.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tewkesbury Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tewkesbury Park

Property: Tewkesbury Park
Address: Lincoln Green Lane, Tewkesbury GL20 7DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tewkesbury Park 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a commanding position with stunning views of the Severn valley, Tewkesbury Park is just 5 minutes' drive from the M5 motorway. This family owned Georgian Manor house has been beautifully restored to offer the outstanding quality and facilities demanded by today's traveller. The addition of full leisure facilities including pool, sauna,steam room,gym, hot tub, squash and tennis, together with its 18-hole on-site golf course, makes Tewkesbury Park a true resort. Perfect for visiting the Cotswolds, the Wye Valley and the Malverns, as well as nearby cities of Gloucester, Worcester and Regency Cheltenham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tewkesbury Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Tewkesbury Park Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Brook Tewkesbury Park Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Tewkesbury
Tewkesbury Park Hotel And Country
Country Club Tewkesbury
Hotel Park Tewkesbury
Tewkesbury Park Golf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing