We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what we needed!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Mews

The rear of the property from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The rear of the property from the garden
South Facing walled garden with built in BBQ The kitchen with antique pine table and chairs for 6
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
The rear of the property from the garden
South Facing walled garden with built in BBQ
The kitchen with antique pine table and chairs for 6
The lounge with two sofas and an arm chair
huge wood burner in the lounge for cozy nights in
The main bedroom
Main Bedroom
En Suite for double bedroom
Family Bathroom with huge double ended bath
Bunk bedroom with its own sink
Bunk Bedroom (full size single beds)
Church Street, where the property is located
River Avon, moments from the mews
Tewkesbury Ham in the frost
Tewkesbury Abbey
Tewkesbury Abbey
View from the top of Tewkesbury Abbey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mike G
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just what we needed!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The Mews was everything we needed for our October half term break. The cottage itself was very spacious, well equipped, and a perfect location right in the town centre, but hidden enough for peace and relaxation, in fact the only down side, if you could call it a downside was the time of year we chose for our holiday, it would have been great to make better use of the courtyard garden and Bar-B-Q, but it really didn’t spoil anything, we, including our teenage daughters had a great time.
This part of England is a breathtaking, The Malvern’s, Forest of Dean, Vale of Evesham, I could go on; our dog wanted a rest after our break, there really is a lot to see within a short drive, we crammed a lot in, in a week, and there was still stuff we missed out on.
I would thoroughly recommend the Mews, and the location in which it is situated.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis B
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Superb location”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We have stayed in many holiday rentals but never with a location as convenient as this one. We enjoy going out to eat and drink and so prefer to walk! We did so for 7 nights and never walked for more than 3 minutes. There are loads of restaurants/pubs etc in Tewkesbury ranging from the inexpensive to the more up market. The "Mews" is behind number 22 Church Street and so is very quiet. A useful bonus is the dedicated car park space 2 doors away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelmor...
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 23 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

The Mews is a spacious well appointed cottage centrally located in the historic town of Tewkesbury. Our hosts Alex & Nick live conveniently next door providing friendly advice and assistance making our stay a pleasure. The old cottage has all modern conveniences including two bathrooms/WC upstairs (with an additional toilet and basin downstairs), dishwasher, washing machine, comfy main bed, cosy heating and good wi-fi internet connection. The cottage even has 3 TVs. The Mews has its own private parking lot and is close to all the amenities of the town; and is virtually next door to the historic abbey. As a couple, we loved the amount of room - much more than we needed with large kitchen, 2 bedrooms, separate living room - which made us feel at home
The cottage is well presented, neat & tidy and generally clean, however is due for a general spring clean to remove spider webs, clean oven, clean toaster and shower drainage - this would have increased our rating to excellent.
We loved our stay in Tewkesbury and recommend the Mews

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location close to town amenities and the spacious accommodation
Liked least: In need of a spring clean
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N wales
Reviewed 20 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChrisR49
Surbiton, Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great cottage & location!”
Reviewed 26 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We've just returned from a great week at 'The Mews'. This cottage is very comfortable and has everything you could possibly need. Alex, the owner, supplied a very generous welcome pack which catered for your immediate needs. . . and wine as well!
The cottage location is brilliant for exploring the Cotswolds and situated almost next to Tewkesbury Abbey. The High Street is literally 2 minutes walk away and you'll find a good selection of shops where you can get most of your day to day items. In the High Street is a brilliant Indian restaurant - The RajShahi. The prices are very reasonable and the portions are MASSIVE! We had to have a 'doggy bag', and I have a very healthy (unhealthy) appetite!!! There is a Wetherspoons bar/restaurant 30 yards away, opposite the cottage. For a larger supermarket, there is a Morrisons about 5 minutes drive away.

We enjoyed ourselves so much that we shall certainly be returning to the cottage in the not too distant future.

Our thanks to Alex and her husband for making our stay so enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location and comfort of the cottage.
Liked least: The very steep staircase.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redpanda2...
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way.....we didn't want to go home!”
Reviewed 26 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012

We just came back from a weeks stay at the lovely Mews Cottage, and what can I say? Well, we were all down in the dumps to be leaving, and we literally couldn't have had a better time anywhere, for any money, it was just great!
We hadn't travelled a huge distance to get there compared to some (under 2 hours), nonetheless, after being in the car for that time,and being a bit weary it was all very painless getting into the property, quick and easy!

I can't say enough about how nice the cottage was. I have never stayed in a cottage before, and we did it mainly for the convenience of bringing our dogs. To be honest, even if we didn't have dogs I don't know why anyone would choose a cramped B&B over a lovely cottage like this. Anyway, I was amazed at the finishing touches....nice TV's in every room, lovely towels, bath robes, wine, even dog bowls.....you wouldn't find that in a hotel! It was very quiet and easy to sleep there, and I found the bedroom really light and airy with the lovely sash windows.
We took full advantage of the wood burner, though we did buy our own logs as we couldn't get the ones in the yard to burn.....probably us being inept though!

Tewkesbury itself is very pretty with excellent walks. We walked round the park, along the "battle trail" and around the ham many times with the dogs. The Abbey is very nice, though we didn't climb the stairs to the top. There are lots of shops and pubs just outside the property, and you will have pretty much everything you need to hand...and just 5 minutes drive away is a big Morrisons, which you can stock up in, if you need a larger shop.

We were slightly dissappointed with the local food options...we had one Chinese takeaway, which was very expensive for what you got, we tried 3 different pubs, and at best it was average. We didn't find a "wow" pub or restaurant, as we expected to.
It wasn't the end of the world though, as the fantastic kitchen means you are more than equiped to rustle something together, or go and get some M&S meal deals, as we did! BBQ's in the Summer would be ideal out in the back yard too.

Our fave pub was the Nottingham arms. Such lovely staff and friendly customers, and they fell in love with our dogs, and when we went in without them one night they were slightly dissapointed that they weren't joining us ! :)

We had a very full week, as were lucky with the weather...We visited many Cotswold villages, my favourite being Broadway. We also went into Stratford on Avon, Cheltenham and Worcester. We had a cracking walk with the dogs up to the Malvern Hills, which I would really recommend, the views from the top were great, and it wasn't too challenging a climb. Some days we didn't go out in the car at all, but made ourselves at home locally, and went for long walks or a wander around the shops, which was nice too.
That is another good thing about this property...it is so close to everywhere....I don't think we drove more than half an hour at one time to get anywhere, sometimes it was a lot less.

I could go on forever, but I won't! We are returning in June, and have already decided that we intend to return at least twice every year. So much less hassle than going abroad, especially when you have animals to consider. Who needs Greece when you have the Cotswolds!
Thanks again Alex

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The room and facilites at the cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ceejay60
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 7 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent location close to town centre. Very quiet with good parking. Enclosed garden/patio very safe for children. House well equipted.
Ideal for visiting Coswolds and easy access to M5.
Second bedroom has bunk beds which our children loved.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Steep stairs
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing