We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Vietnamese food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New World - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
New World
Cuisines: Vietnamese, Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delicious Vietnamese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I came across this little gem whilst on a short stay in Tewkesbury with my wife and son (15). All 3 of us enjoyed our meals which were a mixture of beef and pork dishes. My Vietnamese chilli beef dish was fantastic. The service is friendly, attentive but not obstrusive. It was nice to chat with the owner for a few minutes at the end of our meal. The restaurant itself was clean, had a nice calm, relaxed atmosphere and I would happily return again when we are next in Tewkesbury.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eskerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A real find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have been going to this Vietnamese restaurant for a few years now. It is a real find and in a way I do not want to share it! But then that would be selfish!
You are always made to feel really welcome and the food is always freshly cooked and excellent value whether you go in to eat in the restaurant or just for a takeaway

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rufus588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good meal, very friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We went to New World on a Thursday night, so it was not that busy. The owner served us and chatted to us when we were not eating and was very friendly and welcoming. She made us feel like valued customers. The food was tasty, freshly prepared and plentiful. Whilst we are familiar with south east Asian food we do not know Vietnamese food particularly well, so we ordered a set meal to try a few dishes we did not know. This was tasty and my wife said that the chicken satay was amongst the best she's ever tasted, which is high praise given she tries this virtually everywhere! I suspect that some of the dishes had been tamed for the British palate, but you cannot blame a restaurant a smallish town for this, however every course was delicious and whilst there was plenty you were not over-faced.
Definitely worth another visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MarLinStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly service and delicious Vietnamese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

A delicious Vietnamese meal, in comfortable surroundings. Very good value for money and we spent a long time chatting with the friendly Vietnamese owner and the Polish waitress.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Really delicious and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were visiting Tewkesbury area and did not expect to find a Vietnamese restaurant here! But we love this kind of food so decided to give it a go for dinner. The owner is really nice and friendly and chatted to us as we were the only people in there! She reccomended a couple of dishes including the crispy lamb. My reccomendation would be the Sea Spice pork which comes on a sizzling plate with bamboo and onion- really delicious! We shared a bowl of rice and it was enough between two of us. We don't drink alcohol and the bill between us was very reasonable at just over £20- we will definatley return if in the area!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank enielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New World also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing