We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They sell beer ... and stuff!”
Review of Tudor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tudor House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Normanton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They sell beer ... and stuff!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Excellent! I cannot recommend this establishment highly enough. We always stay here when in Tewkesbury. The owners obviously care and the staff all have the same attitude. They all made us feel welcome and like locals whilst staying professional and dedicated. The food is amazing, made by chefs who really care about food. The rooms are clean, airy and comfortable. If you go to Tewkesbury, stay here!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank X_Bowie_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    205
    70
    30
    21
See reviews for
55
286
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed for 1 night on 1/2/2014
It has a tremendous amount of character, I was disappointed with my room however, I think it was a bigger room made into two as the walls were very thin and I heard eveything that was going on in the next room!!!!! The front of hotel is a bit noisy but you would expect that being on the main stretch. The bed was comfortable and clean and the bathroom was excellant except it didnt have a bath and I would of liked one after trudging the shops all day.
The carpet needed changing as it was quite dirty in places.
I would stay here again because the staff were fantastic and friendly, special mention to the manager and bar staff who escorted my friend to the taxi shop so she wouldnt be on her own.
The breakfast staff were lovely quick and well mannered. Not of her name but the young lady that checked me out was brilliant, funny and friendly. (vibrant hair colour) Was made to feel very welcome well done everyone!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you dont get room number 4, ask to go to back of building if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALISON F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

I love staying at the tudor house hotel in Tewkesbury, especially when the staff such as nisha and fern are working. They are very attentive and take the time to get to know us. Very impressed with the level of service offered to us and will definitely request to stay again whenever staying in the area on business
.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ajveric6590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a party of 8 on 25/26 January. We were allocated room 2 and had no problems with the mattress. The hotel was atmospheric, clean and comfortable, staff were friendly and helpful, special mention goes to George who served our evening meals on both nights and added to our enjoyment with his witty banter. We all enjoyed the food and will come again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank theshawsfromeccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Great looking hotel full of character with a lot of history attached . very nice full English breakfast served in pleasant surroundings . We found the Manageress Pam most obliging as check out time was the usual 11am , our train didn't leave until 6 pm . We were given full use of the lounge for as long as we need it . Made to feel most welcome as guests ,can't praise it enough .

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johnashdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We arrived late but we were greeted by really lovely staff who welcomed us into the hotel. Our room was large, clean and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was modern with a wonderful shower.
Unfortunately our room was at the front which overlooked a late closing pub, so we were woken at 2am!
Breakfast was served in the court room. The food was good quality and served by more friendly staff.
The manager spent time showing us around the history points of the hotel which was lovely and an added bonus.
We'd recommend staying here but try and request a quieter back room!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Booked via booking.com and stayed from 1-3 Jan'14.
Prior to leaving we were a little concerned re flooding that is/was all over the news, and google images indicate the river isn't too far from the back of the hotel. Speaking to two members of staff on the phone we were reassured that all roads were open and the level of flooding in the town 'was normal' for the time of year.
Hotel easy to find, ample parking (January) to rear.
Staff very friendly. Walking into the hotel you are met by the shear age of the building, it's like a film set/ museum - a genuine Tudor building that has been sympathetically added to.
We were initially shown to room 2. The mattress was very well used and it offered no support, my weight (12st) touching the base underneath - I see another recent post on the same subject!
I asked at reception to move and we were offered room 6 at the front of the hotel. I was asked to try the mattress if not I would be offered another room. The staff member could not have been more understanding and helpful. We plumbed for room 6, which was spacious with King size bed and a two sweeter sofa.
There is more noise at the front of the hotel, but seriously what do people expect, it's a Tudor building. There is secondary glazing which did make a difference and the noise wasn't an issue for us.
Ideally situated for walking an exploring the town, pubs, cafe's etc...
Food in the bar was top notch, best steak I've had in a while and best lamb my wife has had!
Breakfast was spot on, attentive staff, plenty of choice (haddock and scrambled egg:)
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - would recommend and stay again.
I'm useless with names but the entire staff we came into contact with we're a credit to the business.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ted6228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
1.3 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tewkesbury Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
4.2 mi away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House Hotel

Property: Tudor House Hotel
Address: High Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Tudor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Tewkesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing