We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tudor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tudor House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Lovely 1 night stay in the Tudor House. The room was excellent overlooking the river. Staff very pleasant and attentive. Will certainly visit again when back in that part of the country. You should visit the Abbey.

Room Tip: Room 20 the Gazebo Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeezytony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    201
    69
    30
    20
See reviews for
55
280
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We wished to explore Tewkesbury and chose this hotel online. However we booked on the phone. Very straightforward.
The signing in was easy but would have appreciated help with luggage up the stairs to our room. However, only one member of staff available and he was also looking after the bar it seems, so one felt a certain amount of sympathy for him!
A fairly winding journey up the stairs to our room. Remembering that this was a very old inn(16th century) one found the floors and ceilings rather warped adding a certain something to the whole experience. Rafters and joists all over the place! The room was large enough but only one upright chair...there would be room for two I think. Storage and space quite adequate. Everything clean and tidy. Disappointing that the bathroom door refused to remain closed(!) and the bath had no non-slip mat or grab handle. Otherwise perfectly adequate. Free WiFi in the room.
The restaurant is part of the bar and the menu was tempting. Unfortunately they had run out of the pie my wife was hoping to have and I had the last lamb shank pie. It was delicious. Apparently they are renowned for them.
The view from our bedroom was over the river and adjoining countryside so we felt very privileged.
A good night's sleep found us ready for breakfast. The usual breakfast room was closed and we were directed back to the bar area. It is all virtually 'serve yourself' except for the main 'cooked' menu. The waitresses seemed to leave you to your own devices until you asked them for tea,toast etc., when they pointed out where one could make one's own! We can recommend the eggs benedict!
The hotel is suitably situated for visiting various parts of the town and adjacent to a river walk.
Parking is at the back of the hotel and is rather tight. It is approached down a very narrow lane adjacent to the hotel.
They kindly allowed us to leave our car there while we went for a town visit after checking out and before our departure for home. A very interesting stay as we were able to visit the wonderful abbey.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuhillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The staff were really friendly and the room was a four poster the gazebo room lovely comfy bed and plenty of storage in the period furniture which matched throughout, even a large ladies dressing table with a big mirror and natural light and plenty of electric sockets so you can have your hair-dryer and ghds and able to get ready with out having to squint in a little mirror , you ladies will know what i mean ,plus the views looking out over the canal was spectacular. the couple who run the tudor house were both very friendly and nothing too much trouble even allowing us in to the secret garden to see the old axe scared oak door that the Jacobite rioters had axe to gain entry in king georges time dated 1714, the garden was out of bounds as they were doing some restoration to it but again no prob to let us have a little look as my partner loves his history.we both had a fantastic 2 night stay and would recommend to all we will defiantly be going back. well done tudor house keep up the good work.

Room Tip: we stayed in the gazebo room , plenty of space sofa and two comfy chairs with a table to sit to .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda196252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Just arrived home after a 2 night stay at The Tudor, right from the start We were made to feel welcome, and We cannot praise the staff highly enough, Thank You All.
We had a twin room on the 1st floor, and it had everything that We needed for a short break, and was very clean.
We ate in the restaurant both nights, and the food was really nice, and well presented, in fact, My Hubby said that it was the best food He'd eaten in a hotel for a long time.
Breakfast was just as nice and filled Us up for the day ahead.
We would definately stay there again if in that part of the country, once again, Thanks to all the staff.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nettylee91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level Contributor
512 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We chose the Tudor House Hotel because it was conveniently located on the Tewkesbury High Street and had character. (Oh, yes, and also because we'd heard it was haunted!) It was a good choice. The twin room was large and comfortable. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was very good. Parking was a bit scary (narrow access road and narrow spaces), but other than that, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USExpat1nUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We decided on a last minute short break during the school holidays and booked the Tudor House Hotel due to its proximity to the town centre and on-site free parking. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who showed us to our room on the first floor, a spacious room with a slopping floor, the bed being levelled by books under the bed legs on one side! The bed was very comfortable and the room had a good sized flat screen tv. The shower was spacious too and powerful. Breakfast is the usual fayre with a vegetarian option and is served in the bar area. We stayed two nights and had a meal in the bar on our first night. There is a good choice of starters, mains and deserts and a some good local beers too. All the staff we encountered are friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickthepod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

After visiting Burford, Chipping Campden and Bourton on the Water, we were very disappointed in Tewkesbury as a whole. The hotel was ok, and although it tried to keep that old inn charm, I felt it was lacking. The place is in need of an update, even if only to restore the old features. Our room was on the main road so was quite noisy but adequate enough. The one really off putting thing was that the hotel smelt of cooking/grease everywhere you went and it stuck to your clothes. Breakfast was just ok, best part was the coffee you could help yourself to.
All in all it was ok and cheap enough if you're passing through and not intending on spending much time there

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4georgie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
1.3 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tewkesbury Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
4.2 mi away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House Hotel

Property: Tudor House Hotel
Address: High Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tudor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Tewkesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing