We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a good update”
Review of Tudor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tudor House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed in Tudor House in May, its a lovely building and the breafast is very good. Our room had a great view looking out over the river Avon. A very comfortable bed, but the whole room need a really good dust and handles needed putting on some cupboards. The bathroom was large but looked like they had done some updating new shower unit but the bath needed a new shower screen it was so dirty. The panel on the bath was hanging off and broken.

Walking downstairs the very large chandelier ( its a Tudor type light fitting) needed a really good clean there are years of dust on it.

Would we stay there again, I would have to think about that one!

Room Tip: Room over looking River Avon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

I booked this hotel for my wife and me and then I did look at reviews the day before I was due to book in and slightly worried.
On arrival the staff where happy and pleasant and we was very happy with our room.
We enjoyed a nice meal in the bar/restaurant where there is a good choice of proper beer before heading out.
We got back to our room in the early hours and slept like logs in a very comfortable bed and then in the morning we went down for a lovely full English breakfast (please add beans to this)once again served by happy staff.
If I'm ever in the area again or if my friends are I would recommend this hotel straight away as I much prefer a hotel with a bit of character than the flat pack hotels that are the same anywhere in the world.
As for paying for the room on arrival there is a sign saying they do this because they do not hold customers card details which seemed fine with my wife as she has all of my money anyway :-)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We called in here for a coffee and were delighted with the service. They had home made cakes and scones which were simply delicious. It is a very attractive building and a nice seating are outside, would have loved to have spent a little longer lingering here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ganfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked a four poster bedroom which " benefits from the picturesque views overlooking the River Avon and the Malvern Hills".
On arrival we were asked to pay the full room bill upfront before seeing our room (I have never been asked to do this before). We were then directed across the car park, up three flight of stairs (with no lift) to a room overlooking the car park. There was no phone connection to the main hotel and no information pack in the room. I therefore had to walk down 3 flight of stairs and walk across the car park to talk to reception. When I expressed my upset regarding the room view I was told the hotel was fully booked and I could therefore not be moved to one of the rooms at the end of the building benefiting from the views. It was sad that I had not been provided with the room I had booked with booking.com as this spoilt my overall view of the hotel. There were other positives about the hotel. The hotel was quiet, the room comfortable and clean although required some work. The breakfast was great. Sad that the hotel did this. We stayed in the Gazebo room.

Room Tip: You may request a room with picturesque views but I cannot guarantee you will get them. We stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed here for one night. The evening meal was fine and well priced. The room was a bit dark but, considering the age of the building, this wasn't an issue for me. The bed and bathroom were okay.
The staff at breakfast were surly. Not what I expected having had a better experience for the evening meal.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RitafromKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed one night recently, booked 3 bed room which was huge, single bed was in seperate ante room not like what you get in modern hotels which is a small bed squashed in to double room. A lovely welcome, we had a lovely meal in the bar. After a good nights sleep we had a lovely breakfast, the building itself is delightful, all beams low ceilings strange shaped rooms

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank judeB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

When we checked in at the Tudor House Hotel, initially I was a bit concerned due to what I considered to be some pretty drab interior decor, perhaps due to low light which didn't help, but anyway a nice young man checked us in. I'm always a bit concerned when asked to pay for our room "up front" as it were as it gives me the impression that they may have some "dubious" guests on occasions.

Shown to our room in the main building and once again, the drab decor on the stairway was a real off put, but our room, including the bathroom was okay, with a nice comfortable bed. We decided against dining in the bar/restaurant and instead opted for a traditional fish and chip meal at a fish restaurant nearby. Returned to the hotel and had a couple of drinks in the bar before retiring for the night.

Good nights sleep and down to the inclusive breakfast in the dining room served by pleasant and attentive staff. Good varied breakfast menu which, when served, was excellent.

We left the Tudor House Hotel without any complaints and despite my initial concerns regarding the internal decor, the hotel grew on me. But oh, how can they allow the decor to create such a bad first impression I'll never know, when without too much effort, they could add so much to their guests experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RobboLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewkesbury
2.2 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hop Pole
The Royal Hop Pole
#1 of 7 in Tewkesbury
961 reviews
9.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
536 reviews
7.5 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
510 reviews
7.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House Hotel

Address: High Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Price Range: £58 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tudor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Tewkesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing