We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step Back In Time For Your Tea & Scones”
Review of Abbey Tea Rooms

Abbey Tea Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$11
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Abbey Tea Rooms is the oldest Teahouse in Tewkesbury. NOTE: We are NOT in the grounds of the Abbey, we are on the opposite side of the road with a suit of armour outside. An independent, family run business. Our focus is on good ingredients, mainly locally sourced, supporting the small independents where possible. We pride ourselves on serving food we would like to eat and at the standard we expect. From breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea. Note we do substantial hot meals during week days and a great Sunday roast. Private parties catered for Takeaway service Buffet service Bookings taken
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
325 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Step Back In Time For Your Tea & Scones”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We called in at the Abbey tea rooms after a visit to the abbey across the road. The inside just has to be seen to be believed. They was memorabilia from every decade going back years in every single nook and cranny. So while you had your nice tea and scones you could entertain yourselves looking at old newspaper articles, photos, ceramics, records, and every objet de virtue imaginable. It didn't stop there either. Go to spend a penny in either the ladies or the gents and there is more to read and see at your convenience. The guys had a collection of Bamforth saucy seaside postcards to chuckle at. Oh the tea and scones weren't bad either.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AleksHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    54
    17
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice surroundings but disappointing food”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A lovely little family run tea room but our meals could be described as no more than average and rather over-priced in part I had the quiche which came with new potatoes and salad. This was acceptable for the price, however my partner had the most disappointing ploughman's lunch. For the price we expected perhaps some home made chutney or even some of the locally made mustard they were selling. £2 extra was paid for the addition of ham to the cheese. The expectation was a slice of thick cut ham but instead it looked like a handful of wafer thin supermarket ham had been retrieved from the fridge and slapped on before serving. When mustard was requested, two small sachets of catering sachets were provided. Along with the ham and cheese, a nice chunk of bread was provided together with grapes, a whole small apple and a couple of strawberries. The chutney looked suspiciously like it had come out of a jar of Branston or similar. All in all a disappointing experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 60sangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Perfectly situated opposite the Abbey the tea room was an absolute delight. From the wonderful selection of memorabilia decorating the walls and ceiling to the friendly service and excellent food, the tea room delivered on all counts. We even had prime position as a bride arrived at the Abbey for her wedding. Could have spent hours reading the decor- even in the toilet! Very special :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank am_shannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is a lovely little tea room and restaurant, set on the main street opposite the Abbey. We went for afternoon tea, based on the reviews we had read, and we were not disappointed. A range of teas to choose from and a choice of scones, tea cakes and traditional cakes- we chose the fruit scones with strawberry jam and butter, which were delicious. The interior is very interesting, decked out with vintage posters, newspaper articles and postcards, and the staff were very attentive. A real traditional tea shop.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Exquisite dining in Tewkesbury!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

What a delightfully pleasant and welcoming place to eat, whether it be tea and scones or something more substantial, wonderful food lovingly prepared and beautifully presented, In Tewkesbury, feeling hungry? then this is the place to come.

Will Warburton. Cheshire

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abbey Tea Rooms also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to Abbey Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing