We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you would expect”
Review of The Royal Hop Pole

The Royal Hop Pole
Ranked #20 of 78 Restaurants in Tewkesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Another Wetherspoon pub serving the standard pub food. Nothing special just reliable, and very helpful staff.

Thank Bidds749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that we met your expectations of a Wetherspoon pub, and found that the staff were very helpful too. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Royal Hoppole do not permit dogs. We had found a table and ordered our food and drink when a waitress told us that dogs are not allowed in their garden. Dog friendly places to eat and drink that we know are. : The Berkeley Arms. The Bell. The Nottingham Arms The Brittania. The Theoc. We were made very welcome at all of these establishments. There might be more.

1  Thank elizabeth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Dear Customer. Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we do not allow dogs in the hotel, pub or the garden here at the Royal Hop Pole. This is clearly stated on signs when entering the garden. We are sorry to see that you rated us 1* based on this. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pub always busy but the service always excellent. Have eaten there several times, but I think my favorite is Breakfast to set us up for the day.

Thank trailers2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Customer, thank you for your review. It is great to hear that despite finding the pub to be busy, you also find the service to be excellent too. We agree, the breakfasts certainly set you up for the day! We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

It’s a Wetherspoons. The interior is clean and tidy and the staff are pleasant and efficient. The beer garden ( huge!) backs on to the river. It’s probably one of the best pubs and locations in Tewkesbury. The food- I had steak was good and service quick despite being very busy. Nothing not to like, happy days and good value for money.

Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review, we are pleased to know that you found the pub to be clean and tidy, and the staff were pleasant and efficient. It is good to see that despite being busy, the quality of your steak and speed of service were also not compromised. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

This is not the first Wetherspoon’s hotel we have stayed in but it is the nicest. Lovely building and decor and the reception staff were so polite and pleasant. We ate here several times due to sheer convenience and the food, bar service and general ambience was very good. I was indisposed for part of our trip, but the size of the room meant that I wasn’t just confined to bed.

Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the team to be polite and pleasant too. We are sorry to hear that you were unwell during your stay, but glad that you weren't just confined to the bed as the rooms was spacious enough for you. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Hop Pole also viewed

 
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Royal Hop Pole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing