We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor beds and bedding, no teletext but hey, a large car park!”
Review of Purple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Purple Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Rochdale, England
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
294 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 625 helpful votes
“Poor beds and bedding, no teletext but hey, a large car park!”
Reviewed 13 March 2007

I stayed two nights in March, paying a premium for an "executive room". My advice is don't bother upgrading, as the only difference is a slightly larger bed (which is actually two single beds fastened together).
The rooms are large, but apart from that, there isn't a lot to say. You get a shower (no baths), a flimsy duvet , sparse furniture and a tv which doesn't have the teletext facility !!
Best advice is to go into Tewkesbury (about a mile and a half away) and eat in the Vietnamese New World restaurant or the Indian Rajshahi, which both do very good food.
The hotel is next to the M5 so handy for travellers, and has lots of parking, although the local industrial estate uses the access road as a park-up for all the overnight juggernauts whose drivers sleep in their cabs.
At £67 a night it's very average.

  • Liked — Has a bar with a large screen tv
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable beds/pillows
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    3
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
11
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2006

There seemed to be some surprise on arrival when I said that I'd booked 2 rooms, but the receptionist sorted the matter out quickly. Got an excellent rate of £44 per room per night including breakfast. The rooms themselves were spacious and clean. The only complaint was that it was possible to hear the people in the room above walking across the floor of their room, but this is often the case in budget hotels.

Not much to do in the location, but the pub next door provided food and drink in the evening if required. Breakfast was OK - reasonable quality, but not a great choice. On the weekend we stayed, there was a coachload, who all came to breakfast at the same time, which resulted in shortages of crockery and food.

Despite the one or two problems noted, I felt that the hotel could not be faulted for value for money and would recommend it.

  • Liked — Value for money and comfort of rooms
  • Disliked — Hearing footsteps from the room above.
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a top floor room
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hampshire-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2006

Stayed here on Friday & Saturday nights. The room was very clean and had everything you need from a hotel. Beware of the scrambled egg at breakfast though!

Recommended hotel!

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2006

Excellent, really first class, travel-lodge type of accommodation. The rooms are big, brand new, spotlessly clean, and quiet. The bar/restaurant/cafe area is very adequate for the purpose intended. We paid £20 for a double room on a room-only basis, and this was a great bargain. Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
Thank booksearch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2006

A Problem Created and Solved By A Pleasant Place to Stay

We stayed at the Sleep Inn, Tewkesbury over night in early August, 2006. We had just ended a two week Cruise and this was our first night ashore of our extended vacation on way to York and other UK destinations. We arrived by car at about 6:30 PM. It was a bit hard to find as the Inn’s signage is not easily visible from the main road, but I’ve seen worse.

At check-in we were told that our reservation had been cancelled and the Inn was full. I explained that I had not cancelled the `guaranteed’ reservation and requested that the clerk contact a supervisor; which he did. I insisted that the reservation was never cancelled and after a bit of discussion we were issued a room.

The air conditioned room was clean as was the bath. The off road location provided some relief from road noise, so we could leave the window open over night.

Not much to do at this end of town so we drove into town and around looking at the countryside. Found a couple of Pub’s, had a marginal dinner and returned to the Inn finding ample, well lit, parking available.

The included traditional English breakfast buffet was adequate with a nice variety of hot and cold entrées to choose from.

I would definitely return, but would verify my reservation 24 hrs in advance.

  • Liked — Clean and Air Conditioned with a well lit parking area.
  • Disliked — Cancelled the guaranteed reservation without notice.
  • Tips/Secrets — Re-verify reservation 24 hours in advance.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CalifBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2006

What a great choice we made staying in this hotel. My wife and I took a break from the norm and headed to the sleep inn, Tewkesbury. This Hotel really is great value for money. We booked through choice hotels on a Dinner,bed & breakfast basis for £70 per room per night although when we checked in we were informed that this deal had a dinner allowance of £13.50 pp. This will get you 2 courses from the menu and you just have to pay the difference but we weren't charged for it. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable and the staff, although the hotel was quiet, were friendly and attentive. The menu was pretty basic with not a huge choice but what we ate was very good indeed. the hotel is situated right on J9 of the M5 but the traffic noise from the motorway wasn't a problem.
Basically if you're looking for a budget break on the edge of the cotswolds you won't go wrong staying here and we shall be returning in the future.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2005

We stopped here for 3 nights for a weekend break. The hotel is very new and clean and although it is not within walking distance of the town we took taxis in evenings (between £4-£5) and had a couple of nice meals in Tewkesbury. It is quite central for touring the area we visited Worcester, Ross on Wye, Ledbury and Stratford. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and all in all we had a very nice weekend.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StevieBis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tewkesbury hotels
2.5 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
1.3 mi away
Tudor House Hotel
Tudor House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tewkesbury
512 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tewkesbury Park
Tewkesbury Park
#2 of 7 in Tewkesbury
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Tewkesbury Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#6 of 12 in Tewkesbury
543 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jessop House
Jessop House
#1 of 12 in Tewkesbury
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Hotel

Property: Purple Hotel
Address: Shannon Way | Ashchurch Rd, Tewkesbury GL20 8BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Purple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Hotel Tewkesbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing