We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food twee setting”

Longfellows Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 296 Restaurants in Solihull
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Friendly and intimate family run restaurant. Innovative English based cuisine prepared by chef/proprietor Doug Long. Changes to menu daily.Beautiful garden area for alfresco dining. Early evening and lunch Prix Fixe menu available. Open for Sunday lunch. Only 5 minutes away from Birmingham NEC, Genting Arena,Birmingham Airport and Rail station. Parking available.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
355 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great food twee setting”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The food has long been fantastic in this small restaurant. The decor is a bit dated and when it's full as it often is it can feel a bit cramped.

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    55
    27
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect little gem”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We visited Longfellows for the first time to celebrate mother in laws 86th birthday. I explained that both parents wear hearing aids so a quiet table would be appropriate. Couldn't have asked for better. Quiet background music and wonderful service. The food was simple and exquisite! The pork belly and the lamb were especially remarkable. Lovely fresh desserts. We finished with coffee, served in the garden on a beautiful sunny Sunday afternoon. We could have been a thousand miles from Solihull, or at least in a Mediterranean garden. We will definitely return, with or without an excuse! Thank you all.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NannyTrish163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lacks wow factor”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

There was a reasonable menu choice. The food was well prepared but was a bit bland. The decor and fittings could do with updating; it has remained like this for many years. The service was excellent, it could not be faulted. The price was reasonable; however I would rather pay a bit more and have more exciting food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WJCSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family lunch celebration”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a fantastic family Sunday lunch. There were 15 of us, all ages and tastes. The food was delicious and the service was second to none. We were all ordering different drinks constantly and the staff were attentive and efficient and we were never hurried or left alone. The weather was beautiful so we had 2 tables in the garden but the dining room inside would have been lovely too.
From the road it does not stand out but it is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elbarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knowle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable evening”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Have visited longfellows many times and have always enjoyed our meals, sensible pricing and good service,only down side was vegetables bland.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Longfellows Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Solihull, West Midlands
 
Solihull, West Midlands
Balsall Common, Solihull
 

Been to Longfellows Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing