We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Hotel Solihull
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed at Village in Solihull from 5 August for 5 nights with my Wife whose 30 birthday we were celebrating and our 2 kids. Were a bit concerned the room would be too small with the travel cots that were supplied from the hotel, but infact had a very sizable room where by the cots fitted in perfectly still leaving us room to manover. Had a slight issue with my phone but was put right by maintenance mangaer Mick, who was Fantastic and made us feel at home, as a result ended up exteded our stay by a further night. All the team at Village Solihull were fantastic and made our stay very enjoyable and well worth it. Looking forward to our next visit there later this year. Have also stayed at Village in Elstree and Bournemouth were we also recieved excellent service. All the rooms were clean and tide. Very contempary which was nice. Kids loved the swimming fercility. The Victory bar was nice to chill out in and to enjoy a cold pint! Would highly recommend Village Solihull. Manager Jason was also very accomodaing. Great experience.
Mr Singh and Family

Room Tip: Stay in a family room - Perfect Also spent a night in the upper deck room - Will be going again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,693 - 1,699 of 1,923 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Four of us have just returned from the Village hotel and we had an absolutely fantastic weekend.
we had booked our weekend through Travel Zoo so had a really good deal anyway. On arrival at the hotel we were booked in really quickly - our rooms were clean and very nice with all the amenities, ie: iron, hairdryer etc.

The staff in all areas of the hotel were really happy and couldn't do enough for us. The meals were good and a nice choice on the menu, although we had to wait a while for our evening meal, it was not a problem, the staff did apologise, and it was the next day we found out the the staff were all new that evening, this did show at all.
Our biggest thankyou goes to Jason who was working in the victory pub and who did not seem to go home at all over the weekend !! he went out of way to cater for us, was happy and bubbly and made us feel very welcome - infact to the point of making eggs benedict for us even though they were not on the menu !! This hotel should be really proud to have such good staff who obviously enjoy their jobs and this showed through the attitudes towards the guests.

I would love to go back and stay there again and would recommend anyone to stay there.
Thank you once again !!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julesCanveyIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Arrived at 3pm. Very slow check in. Went out for the evening and returned looking forward to some room service to be told at 10.30pm the room service was on break and to call back after 12pm!, we then attempted to sleep but hotel services were very loud within the comunual areas from the early hours oneards. My son like all kids woke up looking forward to a swim. We kitted up and walked to the swimming reception to be told the pool was shut until the afternoon. Our final objective was to have breakfast, we attempted to organise a table to be told they don't have any two person tables available however there was a sea of four persons ready to go, we happily took a seat in reception to then observe other couples behind us in the line were being selected. I would strongly advise anyone from staying at he village in Solihull.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VILLAGEenquiries, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear Sebastian

Thank you much for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor about you recent stay. I am so sorry to learn that it was such a disappointing second vist after your great stay first time around.

What a disappointing experience?! Please accept my sincere apologies.

I have had the opportunity to review our Room Service procedures following the problems you encountered. At the time of your visit, by 10.30pm the chefs have gone home and the room service responsibilities fall to our night porters but there is just one night porter on duty until midnight, hence the response you received. I agree that this is not an acceptable level of service. As such, we have now, trained our Pub team to deliver our limited Room Service menu between 10.30pm and midnight to prevent such problems recurring in future.

I am also sorry that you found the swimming pool closed and can only imagine how disappointing this must have been for you and your son. Unfortunately a child "had an accident" in the pool and for obvious Health and Safety reasons, we had to close and clean the pool. Whilst this has never happened before in the 3 years that our hotel has been open we have made provision with the local leisure centre to use their pool for our guests should something beyond our control like this happen again.

As I am sure you would have experienced during your last visit, the way we handle the queue for breakfast at peak times is not usually done like this and I agree the team really should have seated you at a table for four straight away.

I fully understand why you were so disappointed with your stay and would really like the opportunity to try and put this right for you. Please, drop us an email at solihullenquiries@village-hotels.com so that we can do just that.

Kindest regards and apologies once again, Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed with friends a one night stay on 4th August 2012. We arrived at 3pm and had a quick and easy check in. We had 6 rooms and they were all clean and tidy. The rooms were very modern and all room features such as ipod docking station and tv worked well. The beds and pillows were fantastic. We had booked the stay through travelzoo so we had a three course meal in the evening. The food was very nice. We did not use the leisure facilities. Breakfast in the morning was lovely and they even rearranged tables to seat the 8 of us all together. I have stayed in other Village hotels but this was by far the best. The location might not be great for everybody but we had no plans to leave the hotel so this suited us fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikkij1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We were so impressed with the service that we experienced at this hotel and the facilities were great too. We were down for the weekend to visit family/Thomas land, (which our two year old enjoyed), we arrived at about 10pm with two very sleepy infants (a toddler and a 5month old baby) to find that our reservation hadn't gone through properly, the receptiontist was so professional reassuring and helpful, she upgraded us to an upper deck room and made sure that our children had everything they needed. The receptionist was of a standard that we would have hoped for in a 5 star hotel and we were pleased to find that the rest of the staff were also very good. The room we had felt really good value for money, spotlessly clean and well kitted out, the pool was great for families, although times for the children were restricted. We would definitely be back and indeed on our way back up to Scotland we chose to stay in another de vere hotel, because of our positive experience in Solihull, (Whites, in Bolton) pleased to say that they reception staff here were excellent as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scatterbrain1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Definitely catering to the younger client....took me a while to work out the controls for the various bits and bobs in the room. Only problem for me was finding it....beware using a TomTom that has not been updated recently because you will end up in another part of town.

Room was fine, very comfortable bed and nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

we stayed here for one night as we attended a family wedding and we loved the hotel. It is very well managed and the reception staff go the extra mile to help out with anything you want.

The rooms are lovely and clean. Beds are sooooo comfy! The attention to detail is great, all the little extras really upgrade this hotel. Breakfast was exceptional with a wide selection to eat at your leisure. Starbucks was a real added bonus. We didn't attend the pool, but wished we had brought our swim gear - never mind next we will.

Well done to all the team here at the Village for making our stay a brilliant one! Will defo stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasper_Columbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solihull hotels
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#7 of 28 in Solihull
696 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.6 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
367 reviews
2.3 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 28 in Solihull
1,152 reviews
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Solihull

Address: Stratford Road | The Green Business Park, Solihull B90 4JG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Solihull)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Solihull
#7 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
#9 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price Range: £37 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull is conveniently located close to the major motorway (M42) and rail networks, making it the perfect base to explore the new Birmingham revival in all its glory. The latest hotspot for big shops, big label and big nights out!. It's ideal for quick access to the NEC, Genting Arena and Birmingham International Airport. Nearby attractions include chocoholics favourite Cadbury World, the Sealife Centre, Touchwood shopping Centre and Warwick Castle. Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull has 128 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining in the Village Grill or the Village Pub - which shows all major sporting events, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 20m Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Village Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Prem Solihull Hotel Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing