We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Solihull
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Had a great 2 nights breakfast included stay at the Village. Breakfast and also the 3 course dinner we had on the first night were both great and service in the restaurant was very good. Leisure club was very good also, lots of facilities and well maintained. Room was clean and modern and fairly quiet with a decent TV. Bed was a tiny bit uncomfortable, but that's probably because it's not quite what I'm used to.

Bar had a good promotion on the Sunday night where most draught beers were £2.50 a pint. Otherwise, it is a bit on the pricey side, but nothing out of the ordinary for a hotel of this type. There are lots of shops and restaurants nearby and we found a really nice Indian restaurant a couple of miles away (get on A34 towards Birmingham and carry on until "Robin Hood Island") called Sherwoods. Modern decor, good service and fresh, tasty food. They also give 25% off food if you present a Village room keycard.

Only very picky niggle was the girl on reception at the hotel. We waited for 5 minutes at an unmanned desk for someone to attend to us and she came out of the back with no word of apology. My wife said that we'd been waiting for 5 minutes, and she said "I've only been in the back a couple of minutes". Just one little thing that wasn't that huge a deal, but was in contrast to the service we received elsewhere on our stay.

Would stay again.

Room Tip: If there's a party night on, try to make sure you're not above the bar :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    605
    311
    151
    117
See reviews for
329
569
48
535
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2012

went to devere village hotel for grease tribute night the room was so tightly packed with tables with no room to walk in and out. food took along while to arrrive vegetables were hard.sweet plates were left on the table until the end of the night as was all the drinking glasses no one came round collecting glasses,not sure if this is normally the kind of service this hotel offer i would say they were under staffed, most of the party expressed there disappointment of the night.
tribute act very disappointing would i go to another event there..no

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I really wanted to like this hotel - it seemed to be everything I like about a hotel: very modern, swimming pool, gym, big reception, costa coffee, sports bar/diner, restaurant, plenty of parking. However, I felt a bit let down:

1) Arrived at 5pm after long drive looking forward to going to pool, only to be told at check-in that no children allowed in the pool after 5pm (specifically booked this hotel because of its facilities).
2) 'Family room' was a normal double room with two mattresses squeezed in (one by bathroom and one by window) so very cramped for four persons
3) Room wasn't very clean (crumbs and a comb found on the floor)
4) Kid's food in the bar/diner was very poor (no choice of anything healthy at all and no veg offered to accompany the usual burger and chips on offer)

Compared to the Hilton we stayed in the next night, which allowed children in the pool until 8pm, healthy and free food and drink for children, and was a third cheaper, I felt disappointed by this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Business_girrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed friday night and had dinner in the bar the hotel was very nice clean,freindly and gym was good as well we payed £89.00 for 2 kids and 2 adults for bb and cadbury worlds tickets as well.Breakfast also was nice so coudn't fault our stay at all thankyou.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dg1186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

A new Village venue with very good facilities. The pool was closed due to some child deciding the loo was too far away!! Otherwise all good and easy to find off the motorway although in an industrial are - usual for Village venues!!

Room Tip: Get a higher floor to avoid bar and car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k_beeBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed at Village in Solihull from 5 August for 5 nights with my Wife whose 30 birthday we were celebrating and our 2 kids. Were a bit concerned the room would be too small with the travel cots that were supplied from the hotel, but infact had a very sizable room where by the cots fitted in perfectly still leaving us room to manover. Had a slight issue with my phone but was put right by maintenance mangaer Mick, who was Fantastic and made us feel at home, as a result ended up exteded our stay by a further night. All the team at Village Solihull were fantastic and made our stay very enjoyable and well worth it. Looking forward to our next visit there later this year. Have also stayed at Village in Elstree and Bournemouth were we also recieved excellent service. All the rooms were clean and tide. Very contempary which was nice. Kids loved the swimming fercility. The Victory bar was nice to chill out in and to enjoy a cold pint! Would highly recommend Village Solihull. Manager Jason was also very accomodaing. Great experience.
Mr Singh and Family

Room Tip: Stay in a family room - Perfect Also spent a night in the upper deck room - Will be going again
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canvey island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Four of us have just returned from the Village hotel and we had an absolutely fantastic weekend.
we had booked our weekend through Travel Zoo so had a really good deal anyway. On arrival at the hotel we were booked in really quickly - our rooms were clean and very nice with all the amenities, ie: iron, hairdryer etc.

The staff in all areas of the hotel were really happy and couldn't do enough for us. The meals were good and a nice choice on the menu, although we had to wait a while for our evening meal, it was not a problem, the staff did apologise, and it was the next day we found out the the staff were all new that evening, this did show at all.
Our biggest thankyou goes to Jason who was working in the victory pub and who did not seem to go home at all over the weekend !! he went out of way to cater for us, was happy and bubbly and made us feel very welcome - infact to the point of making eggs benedict for us even though they were not on the menu !! This hotel should be really proud to have such good staff who obviously enjoy their jobs and this showed through the attitudes towards the guests.

I would love to go back and stay there again and would recommend anyone to stay there.
Thank you once again !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesCanveyIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solihull hotels
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 28 in Solihull
653 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.6 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 28 in Solihull
1,092 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
842 reviews
5.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Solihull

Property: Village Hotel Solihull
Address: Stratford Road | The Green Business Park, Solihull B90 4JG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Solihull)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Solihull
#8 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
#9 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull is conveniently located close to the major motorway (M42) and rail networks, making it the perfect base to explore the new Birmingham revival in all its glory. The latest hotspot for big shops, big label and big nights out!. It's ideal for quick access to the NEC, Genting Arena and Birmingham International Airport. Nearby attractions include chocoholics favourite Cadbury World, the Sealife Centre, Touchwood shopping Centre and Warwick Castle. Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull has 128 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining in the Village Grill or the Village Pub - which shows all major sporting events, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 20m Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Village Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Prem Solihull Hotel Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing