We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, Clean and Great Nights Sleep” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Solihull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Village Hotel Solihull
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Solihull
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, Clean and Great Nights Sleep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We visited the De Vere/Village hotel in August on our way back from holiday. Check in was easy and efficent and very helpful receptonist.

The room was clean with lovely big bed. Bathroom was clean which is a big plus in my eyes. Great decor also and free wi-fi.

Breakfast was brillant and everything available.

Would recommend the Village group to anyone

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    508
    265
    132
    100
See reviews for
271
475
39
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

This was my third stay at the Village hotel and I was impressed again. The rooms are very modern, all shiny black surfaces and an impressive red screened wall in the bathroom. The beds are very comfy, the hairdryer provided is one of the best in hotels (not the usual 800watt naff ones that take about 30 minutes to dry my hair!) and the bar is great. Breakfast is also very plentiful.

The hotel is perfect for stays while visiting family, or for a couple getaway weekend. They do offers and events - we came for the New Years Eve celebrations last year which was great fun and the Victory pub and grill is on tastecard for discounts.

Only minor quibbles - reception staff can be a bit moronic and one time they had run out of extra pillows which is unacceptable in a large hotel like this! Also room service is very slow!

Overall would definitely recommend, especially as you can get rooms for about £50 a night if you book in advance - bargain!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hac07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

I could ask for more if this hotel,

Firstly the room is exactly what you see in the picture, it was comfortable and stylish. You can't go wrong with a hotel that offers free wifi and a docking station for your iPhone so you can listen to your own music.

We used the gym and spa facilities which were top class, there wasn't any shortage of equipment to use in the gym or space in the spa area.

We loved the food, we had chosen for the set menus and we were stuffed, you definatly get your money's worth and guaranteed to clean your plate if you have enough room in your tummy.

Breakfast time was just as good as the dinner you are never short of choice and everything was tasty.

My only complaint is that we were facing the car park so we heard a lot of other hotel guests being a bit loud quite loud.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

It's soooo over rated..... Would not have been happy if I'd have paid full price !
Not the most helpful receptionist !
The room was very dark and the window smaller than a newspaper, the huge bronze blinds were all bent and broken and had dead flys behind it ! Yuk !
No shower gel , but nice monsoon shower head !
Room service was awful , on basic chicken and garlic mash , was cold and the mash was basic with no garlic as advertised and tasted like packet smash !
You couldn't leave a debit card for extras and had to pay cash only for food !
Would I stay here again ........mmmmm no , even if the price went down from £110 to £80 !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseAhmadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VILLAGEenquiries, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Lousie

I am so sorry to hear that your experience did not match those encountered by most of our guests. Cold room service food and problems in your room would not make anybody an advocate of our facilities and I am sorry that we let you down.

I am not sure if you informed us of any of these issues during your stay but we would have been delighted to replace or refund your meal or move you into a different bedroom had we been aware of the problems you were encountering.

Since we opened 3 years ago we have won numerous awards for fantastic service and standards but like any business and despite our best efforts, it would be impossible to get it right every time. I think it is vitally important though, that when we do get it wrong we do whatever is neccessary to right that wrong and I would invite you to contact us so we can do just that for you.

Please contact us at solihullenquiries@village-hotels.com so that we can pick this up with you and hopefully leave you a better lasting impression of our hotel.

I look forward to hearing from you at your convenience.

Kindest regards, Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Solihull hotels

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed here overnight and had no problems. Was a bit hard to find but that was all we didn't like. Upgraded to upperdeck for only £20 which was a bargain. The room was spacious and the bed was really really comfortable. The bathroom was the best and loved the shower facilities. The free wifi, sky with a wide range of channels and the bose speakers were an added bonus. Breakfast with piping hot and delicious. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful. I've never stayed at a village hotel before but I will definitely stay here again. My only regret was not having enough time to use the leisure and spa facilities. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mudster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We booked this hotel through hotels.com because we had stayed there before and been very happy. The main reason for choosing it was its location and the fact that it had a pool and we knew it was a clean hotel. This time, however, although it was clean and neat and fresh and the rooms were lovely and quite large, we were disappointed that we were unable to use the swimming pool with the children after 5pm and before 9am. The hotel explained that the information was available on their website, but as I had booked through hotels.com, I had not found this information out. Subsequently, I had 2 very miserable little girls who had been very excited to go for a swim before bed time and then again before breakfast. Sadly, they were unable to due to the fact that the leisure facilities are run by a separate group and have outside patrons. I understand this, but in the words of my 6 year ole "It's not very nice of them to not let us swim at all....."
Although it is a good hotel with nice staff, I am not sure I would recommend it for families who might want to go swimming with their children, unless they are just staying at the hotel and not going anywhere else as it is really only available when you would be out for the day.......
Also, for one of the rooms, we booked a cot and although we phoned in advance to check there would be a cot in the room and also asked at the desk if there would be a cot in the room, and were assured that there would be a 'cot in the room', there was no cot in the room and we were given a single put-u-up mattress for a 6 month old baby! We did not try to sort this out as we were tired and the children needed to sleep and as we had asked 3 times and also put the request in writing, we did not hold out much hope of it being sorted satisfactorily.
Finally, my husband came back in after getting a burger in the grill and told me that he had just had the most expensive burger of his life..... £14, for what he described as a £5 burger..... Disappointing....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We have just returned from what was a planned two day break at this hotel taking advantage of a KGB deal and also the free Cadburys World tickets.

First impressions are that it’s modern, recently built (3 years ago I believe), slightly odd location on a small industrial estate and a little out the way but it looked good. Check in was quick as other travellers have mentioned and the receptionist, Danielle, very efficient and friendly. We had paid the extra to go ‘Upper Deck’ which was a lovely room well furnished, clean with the promised little extras, however I was surprised at the size of the room, extremely compact, does not do it justice. A room that is billed as being at a higher standard I would expect to have more room.

We had a look around the facilities and the pool looked really nice, and was a decent size. the gym was very spacious and appeared to be well equipped. We’re members of the gym at another site and this looked really good.

Down stairs in the foyer there is Starbucks as with all the Village Hotels now but this was somewhat cramped and looked that it had just been squeezed into the last remaining space and did not create the relaxing atmosphere experienced in other hotels.

This is where the experience changed as reception was full of unruly, noisy children running riot. The oldest would probably be about 10yrs or 11yrs old and the youngest probably no more than 4-5yrs. They were running around the reception area, jumping on and off the furniture and using the chairs to ‘springboard themselves onto the sofas. They were knocking over other smaller children, deliberately pouring their drinks over furniture making then unsuitable for sitting on and damaging the furniture and advertising banners. Where were the parents? In the bar, too busy to supervise their children and ensured they behaved.

They attempted to play in the Starbucks area and to the credit of the member of staff, who was on by herself, she got them to get out and stay out. Complaints were made to the staff on the desk who stated that they had mentioned it to the duty manager who had had a word; clearly the parents had not taken any notice. We let is a while for further intervention my management, why the reception staff could not have intervened I don’t know other than I suspect, ‘its not theIr job and they're not paid to do that, It’s the managers job’ or I suspect that they were uncomfortable with the potential confrontation that would certainly ensue.

There was no improvement, despite further complaints by others and ourselves, at which point we decided that we did not want to remain in such an environment.

We requested a transfer to another hotel and in fairness to the staff, particularly Danielle; they were very helpful and appreciated the situation and we took are Cadburys World tickets with us.

Their explanation and excuse though was that there was a wedding on at the time and also a christening the following day – this clearly does not excuse the behaviour of the children and certainly does not provide any excuses for the management who clearly could not manage the situation and insist that the respective parents control their children before the situation became worse.

A transfer was arranged although the next hotel did not have the upgrades to ‘Upper Deck’ we were offered a complementary evening meal at the next hotel but there was no suggestion of a refund for the extra we had paid to go Upper Deck.

Review of the next hotel can be viewed at Village Urban Resort Walsall.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJunkie1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solihull hotels
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 25 in Solihull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
2.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
5.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Solihull

Property: Village Hotel Solihull
Address: Stratford Road | The Green Business Park (Off Dog Kennel Lane), Solihull B90 4JG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Solihull)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
#6 Romantic Hotel in Solihull
#8 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Solihull is conveniently located close to the major motorway and rail networks, making it the perfect base to explore the new Birmingham revival in all its glory. The latest hotspot for big shops, big label and big nights out!. It's ideal for quick access to the NEC, LG Arena and Birmingham International Airport. Nearby attractions include chocoholics favourite Cadbury World, the Sealife Centre, Touchwood shopping Centre and Warwick Castle. Village Hotel Solihull has 128 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Village Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Prem Solihull Hotel Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing