We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Village People R Us?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Solihull
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Staying at the Village Hotel in Shirley for 9 x nights whilst working at the nearby NEC is a mixture of rest and frustration.

Rest is an oasis of; good modern clean rooms, excellent reception staff, leisure pool facilities, bar, Starbucks on site and an ok self-serve hot breakfast.

Frustration is; poor storage/nil drawers in rooms, just one slow lift, self-closing banging room doors during the early hours and early starts by selfish 4th floor guests, plus drunken returns....coupled with a mediocre restaurant in the evening.

Pretty expensive B&B, drinks & meals too.

Such a shame because The Village Hotel does promise so much.

Pretty ironic when all the guests are commuting to work at the NEC Caravan & Motorhome show some 10 miles away eh?

Room Tip: Maybe the Upper Deck rooms are worthwhile on the 4th Floor?..Maybe not?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,473 - 1,479 of 1,846 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived until the time we left all of the staff at this hotel made us feel very welcome. The check in at reception was friendly and professional, the room was very good, modern and clean. In terms of what the hotel offers there is a very good leisure facility on site, a pub, restaurant and Starbucks all of which were of very good quality and again very friendly staff, particularly The Manager and Adam in Verve and the Starbucks staff. Overall a really good stay and would not hesitate to stay again if we were in the area.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CandyM888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

OK hotel - clean and modern. Room was quite dark probably due to the dark walls etc. Ate in the restaurant - 6pm so not busy. Took 2 hours to eat 2 courses - decided not to have a dessert because wanted to get to bed before midnight. Food was tasty but cold and very expensive. companions asked for medium-rare steak - this appeared murdered!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoochie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

clean hotel modern rooms food fresh cooked and hot but thought it strange the only vegetable they served was green beans!! down side was the fact the gym manager cranked up the music at 630am so loud it literally jumped you out of bed also if you go during the week the childrens swimming times are very limited. that aside enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here on the 7th September for one night, following a day at Drayton Manor. We were travelling with family and there were 10 in our party including a toddler and teenager.
I had previously seen the reviews on tripadvisor for this hotel and this helped me in making my decision on where to stay.
From the moment we arrived, the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough. The receptionist also provided us with a booklet of vouchers for use during our stay. This included vouchers for the pub, restaurant, Starbucks, viva spa and some more.
The rooms were a pleasant contemporary design with everything you needed from a comfy bed and clean bathroom to hot drink making facilities and an iPod dock! We had the use of free wi-fi which was appreciated by all. We had a drink in the victory pub in the evening and were given vouchers on check in to use in the bar :)
The beds were described as comfy by all our family and there were no complaints about the rooms.
We got to enjoy a swim in the morning plus the spa pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna.
Breakfast was nice and again no complaints, plenty of choice from cereals and fruit to cooked breakfast.
On leaving, the receptionist was more than happy to help direct us to the nearest park for the children and even provided us with a map to get there. The staff also provided us with fresh warm milk for my 2 year old nephews porridge and were happy to bring this to the room.
A great family friendly hotel! We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priya0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Checked in on Friday afternoon 4th Oct.

Lovely modern reception, friendly staff and easy check in. Room was spotless and well appointed.
I checked out the gym and my partner met friends in the bar.
Gym and pool was superb.
Wedding was just perfect, lovely staff , all in all a great trip.
We will book in for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alibongo478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Visited this hotel on a 2 night weekend bargain break. First impressions are very good with a very modern reception area, a nice pub lounge serving real ales and a reasonable selection of food, a really nice leisure club and pool, and a dining room. Check in was quick and easy and our room was very comfortably furnished with a good bathroom. We were on the third floor so sleep quality was good as all was fairly quiet. Breakfast was a bit chaotic as by 9.30 am the dining room was full and there just didn't seem to be enough staff. The floor was a bit disgusting as it was littered with stray bits of food that had been dropped by the numerous children that were having breakfast. No attempts had been made by the parents or the dining room staff to clean it up so it was just getting trodden on and walked everywhere. As we were checking out the reception area resembled a crèche as there were so many young children using it as a playroom. Location is OK so long as you have a car as access to the A34 is nearby. Without a car you would be a little stuck although a taxi to Solihull or Shirley would not be very costly as they are quite nearby. Overall though it was a good base for a very pleasant weekend break.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niloc520831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solihull hotels
2.3 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 28 in Solihull
679 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 28 in Solihull
1,124 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
863 reviews
5.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Solihull

Address: Stratford Road | The Green Business Park, Solihull B90 4JG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Solihull)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Solihull
#7 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
#9 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price Range: £47 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull is conveniently located close to the major motorway (M42) and rail networks, making it the perfect base to explore the new Birmingham revival in all its glory. The latest hotspot for big shops, big label and big nights out!. It's ideal for quick access to the NEC, Genting Arena and Birmingham International Airport. Nearby attractions include chocoholics favourite Cadbury World, the Sealife Centre, Touchwood shopping Centre and Warwick Castle. Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull has 128 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining in the Village Grill or the Village Pub - which shows all major sporting events, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 20m Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Prem Solihull Hotel Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing