We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astonishingly Dysfunctional Hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Solihull
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Astonishingly Dysfunctional Hotel ”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Today I was working in Solihull at short notice, and couldn’t get into my regular hotel, so I’m trying the De Vere Village. This is a modern and allegedly upmarket hotel in Shirley, but I’m simply astonished how poorly it meets what I believe to be my fairly standard and relatively modest requirements.

Firstly, it’s bloody freezing! I initially wondered whether the reception area might be suffering because it connects to the outside world, and the weather is getting colder, but the room is not much warmer. I sat in the main restaurant, within 6 feet of an open fire, but had to huddle inside my suede jacket to try and keep the cold at bay.

The room has a television, but there’s no access to the external inputs, so bang goes my normal practice of watching my own TV recordings.

Working at the desk will also be impossible as although it’s at a normal height, the only chair is a low easy chair, which comes up about a foot too short. You may remember the scene in Bless This House where Robin Asquith is trying to cook a burger without his head appearing above the counter – using my laptop is rather like that…

Dinner was OK, with decent service, but my hope of a decent cup of coffee at the end was stymied by the coffee bar shutting rather earlier than expected. Back in my room I find my PC has shut itself down and the temperature has dropped again. Obviously when you leave it not only shuts the lights off, but also the heating and all the power sockets.

This is not an acceptable business hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Akjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    603
    309
    151
    117
See reviews for
328
568
48
532
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I arranged a private sunday lunch for my husband's 50th birthday. This was held in one of their private rooms. I was able to specify what meats I would like at the cavery, and it was totally superb ! My husband was equally over the moon! We have since been to the restaurant for sunday lunch on two occasions and on both times have found it excellent. I have always found the staff to be very helpful, polite and accommodating. I would recommend this hotel to anyone !

Room Tip: If you want a large private party - I would recommend booking the private room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickiSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kesgrave, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Rooms were to a very high standard. Nice beds, decent tv's, nice shower and very modern. The only small niggle I had with the room was it didn't have any nice touches like soaps or a shower cap. The breakfast was a big disappointment. The toaster wasn't working so we had stale bread. Not a massive amount of fruit on offer and the cooked breakfast wasn't great at all. No hash browns! But for the money we paid to stay here, I really couldn't complain. Very good value. The swimming pool was excellent, Starbucks in the lobby and the pub in the hotel was good value too. Great place to stay with children.

Room Tip: Bring your own shower cap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suffolk32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend, best hotel I have stayed in in quite a while. Modern clean rooms, large flat screen televisions. Incredible breakfast, better than most 5 star hotels and above all great value for money.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank StevStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The village has a relatively contemporary feel, with rooms looking up to date, and service staff sporting bespoke polo shirts that they may want to keep from the eyes of the penguin polo shirt copyright holder. I also like the break out areas in the conference facilities with unusual scooby snacks such as dried fruit and miniature mars bars, as well as decent coffee machines.

The room was clean, modern in style and layout, with nice touches including an ipod dock. (don't leave the tv on though when you leave the room - the power goes off when you remove the key, which then means the reverse happens when you come back in the room. Sky news blaring out the tv at 1am is not a way to endure yourself to your neighbours.)

The bar is friendly with a reasonable choice of beers, service can be a little slow at times, but is normally good.

Staff in all customer service areas (bar, conferencing, etc) were very friendly and efficient - I noticed that in the conference suite, staff were constantly cleaning, clearing away and restocking the break out areas.

The on site restaurant has a limited menu in a good way - I.e. you suspect everything is fresh and cooked to order, and the quality is good. Breakfast was self service - a little limited on choice, but no issues with quality.

There is also a Starbucks on site, and a gym, spa and pool, though I cannot review the leisure facilities as I was too busy sampling the bar and restaurant.

A pleasant stay, clean, modern air conditioned room, friendly and efficient staff, and good facilities. If I could offer constructive feedback, it would be broaden the breakfast choice, and ensure there are enough bar staff at peak times, but these were minor issues that did not detract from an enjoyable stay.

I will certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here during a stay to Birmingham and was very satisified.

The hotel was immaculately clean, the staff were very helpful and polite. The room was adequate, very clean and what you'd expect from a modern business hotel.
The breakfast was great and the starbucks in the lobby was very convenient, though one slight niggle was that they didn't accept starbucks cards for payment.

Overall i'd happy recomend, and will definitely return when i'm next in this part of the world.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ma3sdipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

If you want average surroundings, average food and below average service for above average prices this restaurant is the place. If you want to celebrate a special occasion, look elsewhere, because a meal here will at best be dis-appointing, at worst it will spoil your celebration!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solihull hotels
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 28 in Solihull
653 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.6 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 28 in Solihull
1,092 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
842 reviews
5.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Solihull

Property: Village Hotel Solihull
Address: Stratford Road | The Green Business Park, Solihull B90 4JG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Solihull)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Solihull
#8 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
#9 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull is conveniently located close to the major motorway (M42) and rail networks, making it the perfect base to explore the new Birmingham revival in all its glory. The latest hotspot for big shops, big label and big nights out!. It's ideal for quick access to the NEC, Genting Arena and Birmingham International Airport. Nearby attractions include chocoholics favourite Cadbury World, the Sealife Centre, Touchwood shopping Centre and Warwick Castle. Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull has 128 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining in the Village Grill or the Village Pub - which shows all major sporting events, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 20m Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Prem Solihull Hotel Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing