We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Solihull
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Christmas Party”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My works Christmas party was here and I decided to book a room than rather get a taxi. The web site gave me a price and I phoned them instead and got a cheaper rate. Checking in was quick and pleasant. The room was very nice and the bed was comfortable. Good size bathroom with a nice bath. Can't fault the room or the facilities. Breakfast was adequate and nothing to go crazy about. The staff were great and very helpful. The bar was good but quite expensive. There is a Starbucks there which is nice to get a coffee. I never used the leisure facilities but they looked nice.

Overall the place is modern and I would not hesitate to stop there again. Oh yes lots of free parking

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    586
    298
    146
    114
See reviews for
316
551
45
522
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in December overnight as it was the location of this years Christmas office party, the hotel is very modern with a large open style reception which features a Starbucks and easy access to a sports bar and a separate restaurant & lots of sofas, our room was on the 1st floor and overlooked the car park (which there is plenty of) but you cannot hear any noise at all.

The room was clean not a bad size comfy bed with extra pillows and a iron and ironing board, the bathroom had a nice rain drop shower and bath again with plenty of room, the hotel offers free wifi and has a large gym and swimming pool.

As we were there for a party we didn't use the restaurant only the function room which is huge, the sports bar is nice friendly staff.

Breakfast is your usually buffet style but was very nice the coffee was horrible so stopped and got a Starbucks from reception after we checked out.

Overall a nice urban hotel to stay in with a touch of luxury I would recommend this hotel for anyone needing to stay on business who wants something with more style than a premier inn and more facilities, and for anyone staying for pleasure it's a nice oasis in Shirley.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank stew_mot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Good rooms
Modern
Nice facilities
Breakfast good
Restaurant good
Great location
Loads of parking
Helpful Staff
Affordable
Good deals
Great for meetings
Always buzzing
Quiet rooms, a little small
Good facilities for wheelchair users

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hovitez1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Pre booked for the ‘black & white’ Christmas dinner/dance.
On entrance we were directed to our event as another similar party was simultaneously happening in another room. Found the cloak room to drop off our coats which surprisingly was free & got tickets for our coats.
Our party of 10 all met up in the designated bar and enjoyed a couple of drinks prior to the dinning room opening. It was at this point I realised that most people seemed to have understood this as a black tie event, in dinner suites and bow ties…ooops. I had thought my black jeans & jazzy black & white shirt would be okay but ceased to be an issue as the evening got underway.
The dining room was decked out really beautifully adhering to the black & white theme with candles on all the large round tables – all credit to the people who put this together.
After a bit of a wait, the first course arrived, menu had advised choice of 2 items but pate was being put in front of all of us – on asking this could be changed to the alternative goats cheese – we weren’t asked to advise of our preferences as far as I know but I didn’t arrange this, so don’t know.
This was followed by baskets of bread which we all ate with butter – but then tomato soup arrived unexpectedly…Oh, this is what the bread was for…..not an issue really.
Main course for most was turkey Xmas dinner – very nice.
Sticky toffee pudding, mince pie & coffee followed. We all agreed that the food has been excellent & very good value for money.
In between courses we all played the ‘black or white’ guessing game where a lucky diner won a free Sunday lunch.
After the meal, it was general chatting & dancing & drinking.
The music was excellent & varied to suit the tastes of the audience age.
I must say that the bar guys were brilliant throughout dealing with a constant barrage of orders in a very professional manner – one of the guys, I think he was called Nathan was especially helpful against the mounting tide of customers – all good though.
The only negative was that when we went to collect our coats we found the cloakroom unattended, door open & in darkness. This room was still full of coats etc, some of which looked quite expensive yet completely available to anyone. We were never advised that the cloakroom would be unattended at a certain time or would certainly have collected earlier.
Anyway, a really good night enjoyed by all our party & to end on a positive, our taxi arrived within 10 minutes 

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0ff_Line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south uk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Paid for two nights b&b for an event in the area. Our fault we paid top rate for the stay, two other couples we stayed with paid much less by booking through different web sites.
Reception area dark but check in was quick and friendly. Took lift to room, only one lift for the whole hotel so be prepared to wait!
Had been assigned a disabled room for no apparent reason, I am sure had either off us needed the features it would have been ideal but there were emergency cords everywhere, bed was very low, bathroom sink low etc. when complained to reception was given a book of vouchers only one of which could be used! If you get a deal which includes dinner you only get £14.50 towards the bill so be careful, you don't get a full dinner included.
Pub very noisy and very busy.
Table booked in restaurant for 8pm, service soooooo slow and had to ask too many times for drinks & food. Alot of the menu was off, very poor for standard of hotel. Eventually got out of there at 0:30 which crazy!
Breakfast good but again had to ask repeatedly for tea/coffee.
Starbucks in the hotel has very very inflated prices, how and why people pay the prices I have no idea but a soya latte cost me £4.30, on the high street this would have been about £2.60.
In all the staff were all very friendly but service was very poor, would I stay again? Not here I'm sorry to say. Have stayed in other village hotels which are fab but this one let the chain down .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dafttart41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel is clearly sign-posted. From Dog Kennel Road, enter the industrial estate and the hotel is left at the roundabout with plenty of car parking at the front.

The hotel itself is a very imposing building, resembling a large office block make from black glass.

Reception area is not brightly lit which aids the ambiance. There are small seating alcoves at various points, as well as a Starbucks coffee shop. Although a large area, it feels warm and welcoming, helped by the gas–effect log fires. You can charge Starbucks purchases to your room, but they don’t accept Starbucks cards.

There is only one lift, which is fairly slow, so you can end up hanging around during busy periods.

On arrival you should get a book of vouchers, including money off food in the pub and restaurant and a wine deal.

The pub has a reasonable range of food, but the atmosphere was quite rowdy with what appeared to be several parties having pre-event drinks. The "pie" was meat in gravy with puff pastry placed on top - there wasn't enough gravy and the meal was very dry - not great.

The restaurant was quiet and service was excellent.The food was better.

If you don’t fancy either pub or restaurant, a couple of miles towards the M42 there are several eating places, including a fish & chip restaurant, McDonalds, Beefeater, and Harvester.

Breakfast had a good selection and was kept well-stocked. Got busy at times with some queuing to get in, so plan accordingly. If you're looking for the prepared fruit, it's over by the hot stuff and not with the whole fruit and cereals as you might expect.

The room was comfortable, although not enormous. The bathroom was probably the cleanest I’ve seen in a hotel – except for the ‘waterfall’ showerhead that could have done with de-scaling. Bed was very comfortable, except that it wasn’t fastened to the wall so if you tried to sit up on it, it would shoot from under.

There is a small desk area, but no table, so eating in the room for more than one would be awkward.

Convenient for the NEC, although it took us an hour to get to it due to it being a popular show and the queue extending to the motorway – probably worth investigating some back routes! Reception said a taxi would be about £15 each way.

The leisure centre had a decent sized pool. It was divided into lanes, which appears a bit awkward at first glance, but actually works quite well, giving a lane for fast swimmers, a lane for modest swimmers who just want to do lengths, then a free swim area, and finally one for kids’ lessons. Changing rooms are a good size; get your room card ‘stamped’ for use in the lockers – no coins required.

Steam room was very good. The Jacuzzi was huge, but not very hot at all. The pool could’ve benefited from being a couple of degrees warmer as well.

Overall fair value and would definitely consider again for Birmingham or NEC break, but would avoid the pub.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark_f_peterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed overnight as we went to the tribute night for a works do. Lead singer should know that some people can lip read!! He was very unkind about people dancing, plus they were not singing live. The food was cold and mass produce frozen roast, tastless rubbish!!we asked for a wake up call early enough to get up, shower have breakfast which is included in the price of the stay. Did not get one so over slept had to dash around to be able to get into work on time minus the breakfast!! I was offered one to go, however UK laws state you cannot eat and drive!!!plus did not have the time to wait for it. The free wi fi is useless I gave up trying!! The room had a view on to a flat roof littered with fag ends great! Would I recommend the village for a event or stay NO certainly not. So a very expensive night was so dissapointing.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilypink72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solihull hotels
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 28 in Solihull
641 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.6 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 28 in Solihull
1,080 reviews
5.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
2.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Solihull

Property: Village Hotel Solihull
Address: Stratford Road | The Green Business Park, Solihull B90 4JG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Solihull)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Solihull
#8 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
#9 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull is conveniently located close to the major motorway (M42) and rail networks, making it the perfect base to explore the new Birmingham revival in all its glory. The latest hotspot for big shops, big label and big nights out!. It's ideal for quick access to the NEC, Genting Arena and Birmingham International Airport. Nearby attractions include chocoholics favourite Cadbury World, the Sealife Centre, Touchwood shopping Centre and Warwick Castle. Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull has 128 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining in the Village Grill or the Village Pub - which shows all major sporting events, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 20m Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Prem Solihull Hotel Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing