We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Solihull
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Solihull
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Village hotels, in my opinion have stollen a march on the competition. The rooms are of a high quality, the hotel has excellent facilities & on many occasions the rate is either comparable to a Premier Inn or only slightly more expensive. But for what you get the price still deliverssstrong value for money. Compared to a hilton or holiday inn the Village chain is vastly superior. The attached Village Pub serves decent pub food (I had a perfectly acceptable burger) but won't win any gastropub awards but service was good. Depending on location the Village is great for business, romantic stays or just a getaway night. I have found that the quality is consistent throughout having stayed at many of the chains hotels.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GS-Smugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read such great comments about your stay with us, I will be sure to communicate these to the rest of the team.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    566
    290
    142
    111
See reviews for
304
530
43
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
180 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Room clean and tidy. Very comfy bed. Docking station for iPhone. Great bathroom and shower. Reception always helpful and polite. Breakfast provided everything from full English to cereal and fruit. Would happily stay here again next time I'm here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dominic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I have recently taken over as General Manager so was delighted to read such positive feedback regarding your stay. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto the rest of the team who will very happy to hear such great comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tremadog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here fir a business trip, visiting NEC

Our first impressions were quite good, it was like a 'nicer' premier inn with pool and gym. We had our dinner here and although the menu looked promising, the food wasn't very good. Same at breakfast, the cooked breakfast was pretty bad (especially the scrambled eggs which looked like bits of rubber floating in milk!)

The room was nice,clean and comfortable but the lighting was really dim which was a bit of a pain in the morning when I was trying to put my make up on.

I think this hotel is fine for one night, getting your head down. And the pool and gym looked good too.. But we didn't have time to make use of them. I will probably book the premier inn next time I visit NEC as it's a bit cheaper for the same sort of thing (and premier inn isn't pretending to be something it's not)

'Most' of the staff were really nice and helpful

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for you recent review following your stay with us.

I am sorry to read that you your stay did not live up to your expectations. I can assure you that we take our guest feedback very seriously, therefore your comments will be communicated the relevant Heads of departments.

We are proactive in our approach to issues therefore I am confident that should you wish to return in the future you will notice a marked improvement in these area's.

We do hope that you consider returning in the future.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tremadog
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here on a recent business trip, the place is nice and the gym facilities seem good. Rooms are comfy but no better than a premier inn, cheap fittings and bedding. Service was good and friendly. Food was pretty poor, just seemed like ready made stuff warmed up and the breakfast was pretty bad as hotel breakfasts go. The thing that bugs me about this place is that it pretends to be a high end hotel but it's not.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P_Madog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest

Following your recent review, I want to take this opportunity to apologise for failing to meet your expectations during your stay.

We welcome all feedback although it is never encouraging to receive negative comments this information is vital to monitoring our guests experiences and understanding when we have fallen short of meeting our guest expectations.

Our Head Chef will be disappointed to hear such comments regarding the food as the dishes on our menu's are made from fresh ingredients and are not pre made.

I can assure you that your comments will be taken on board and actions put in place to improve these particular area's.

We hope you consider staying with us again soon.

Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, Lincs, UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here on a business conference and they are clearly very good at that. Food at lunch and dinner very good. Staff pleasant and helpful.

Room was a little small and dimly lit but had everything you'd expect including bedside reading lights. It was quiet but then it was an end of corridor room with 2 outside walls. I had a standard double room that had a standard double bed unlike most hotels I stay in that usually have a queen sized bed in a double room. Worth noting if I ever book a de Vere hotel for me and hubby.

Overall theme of the public areas of the hotel is black and modern with piped music to match.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I have recently taken over as General Manager so was delighted to read such positive feedback regarding your stay. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto the rest of the team who will very happy to hear such great comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

A group of us stayed ovenight to celebrate a birthday- we had the value menu on the sat nite ( good price- mixed reviews) but overall the staff were attentive and catered for our group very well ... Rooms were quite small but very clean smart and well equipped for an. Extra 25 we extended the room till 2pm on the Sunday and all stays for he fabulous sunday lunch- have to say it was fabulous with loads of choices on the courses you help yourself.. Too full to try he puddings but they looked fabulous- will definately go again for the Sunday lunch and would recommend it

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fordymullins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent visit for our Sunday Lunch.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Sunday Lunch offering. The lunch has proved to be very popular, our Head Chef was delighted to hear that the you were impressed with the selection of courses and desserts.

The Sunday Lunch concept has proived to be very successful since it's launch - be sure to keep an eye out on our website for information regarding our forthcoming "Mothers Day" offering.

We hope to see you again on a Sunday very soon.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business last week and found it a good business hotel. Rooms are a little dark but nice with good facilities - free wifi and plenty of TV channels. The gym is a good size with nice equipment but can get busy at peak times. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and friendly staff. It is a little on the pricey side but you can pick up deals here occasionally so if you can get b & b for around £99 it's well worth it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RichardJ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I have recently taken over as General Manager so was delighted to read such positive feedback regarding your stay. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto the rest of the team who will very happy to hear such great comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solihull hotels
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 25 in Solihull
626 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.6 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#12 of 25 in Solihull
1,055 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
823 reviews
5.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Solihull

Property: Village Hotel Solihull
Address: Stratford Road | The Green Business Park (Off Dog Kennel Lane), Solihull B90 4JG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Solihull)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Solihull
#7 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
#8 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull is conveniently located close to the major motorway (M42) and rail networks, making it the perfect base to explore the new Birmingham revival in all its glory. The latest hotspot for big shops, big label and big nights out!. It's ideal for quick access to the NEC, Genting Arena and Birmingham International Airport. Nearby attractions include chocoholics favourite Cadbury World, the Sealife Centre, Touchwood shopping Centre and Warwick Castle. Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull has 128 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining in the Village Grill or the Village Pub - which shows all major sporting events, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 20m Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Prem Solihull Hotel Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing