We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business and world cup”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Solihull
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here after playing a company football match locally (which we won btw) any way back to the hotel ...we had a private room to watch the world cup game and had beer hot dogs and burgers with wedges which was lovely, great service and attentive staff. The room was brilliant really comfy bed and good TV and free wi fi always a bonus :) next day I went for a swim, steam and hot tub before breakfast. I'm glad I did as a ate enough for 2 at the lovely breakfast buffet! Overall a great experience and would defiantly go back here if I could.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Randsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review following your stay and world cup experience with us.

We are so very pleased that you were able to take advantage of our "VIP Boxes" to enjoy the world cup, they have proved very popular during the football so we will be looking to repeat these for all major sporting events!

Please keep an eye out on our website for any future events or promotions.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,592 - 1,598 of 2,048 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Surly staff probably top the list of unpleasantries that riddled my visit here . In the Starbucks a happy chappie was undone by his rude grunting colleague , although competent no one seemed any more than robotically friendly and the screaming , shouting and banging from the room attendants was terrible . The whole place smacked of underpaid , undertrained young staff with no guidance or effective management . The monkeys have been given the keys to the banana cage here and I won't be back to endure another tea party .

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent review following your stay with us.

We are obviously concerned to read your feedback regarding the staff that you encountered in housekeeping and Starbucks. I can assure you that we have a very strict and detailed recruitment and training policy when it comes to selecting staff therefore your experience is not a true reflection of the staff that we have employeed here. The mentioned departments will of course be addressed by their relevant Heads of Departments as it is critical that we look after our guests at all times.

I firmly believe that should you return int he near future you will notice a marked improvmement in these areas.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights as it was our 2nd wedding anniversary,and we got married in this chain of hotels.
We love the village hotels.
we stayed in a family room located on the first floor as requested.
The room was large and clean and we were situated towards the front of the hotel..
We had a very comfortable nights sleep.
Staff were friendly breakfast was delicious so I would deffinately recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mellichap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank-you for your recent review following your stay with us.

We are delgihted to read that you had an enjoyable anniversary stay wtih us and that you particuarly enjoyed both the breakfast and service from the staff. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the rest of the team.

We hope you consider a return next year to celebrate once again.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed for one night 28th June 14 to attend a party in the surrounding area. Accommodation was clean and comfortable with an excellent shower! Dined at the Victory and the food was fab. Hotel staff very helpful. Buffet breakfast which sets you up for the day. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank-you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that the hotel delivered and exceeded your expectations.

I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A very modern chain - I thought room was great, good sized TV, really comfy beds,good wifi and excellent shower. Gym was good stafndard and plenty opf machines available. Bar is good, albeit found service very slow. Did not eat at the bar and although the breakfast was nice, thought 'continental' and fruit offerings were not that great. Would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Stayed on two trips recently both rooms were identical - think they all are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barryan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following oyur recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your time with us and were impressed with aspects of your stay. I can assure you we have a proactive procedure when it comes to guest feedback so I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the pub and breakfast to the respective Heads of Deparment.

We look forward to see welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have just returned from a two day visit to this hotel and l can honestly say the comfy bed was its only saving grace (leisure club looked great didnt use). The bar was very pricey and the food was dreadful, whether that be breakfast with its gone off milk, team cleaning tables with dirty tea towels and fingers in your coffee cup. Or lunch of cottage pie and prawn marie rose to dinner of chewy beef and over cooked gammon. It didnt stop there as the coffee was nasty too - thank god for an onsite starbucks. As a group we struggled through two days of this food and l couldnt wait to get home for some real food. My favourite will remain the risotto from lunch today which could have hung wallpaper! The team need some investment of time and training although they were very polite and friendly they lacked skill which was a shame. My collegue did say she'd stayed at the one in Elstree just recently and one in Blackpool last month and by far this one was the worst - just about says it all!!!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank gingerbiscuit22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I can only apologise for your overall experience, although it is never encouraging to receive negative comments this information is vital to monitoring our guests experiences and understanding when we have fallen short of meeting our guest expectations.

I can assure you that we take our customer feedback very seriously and that we have a very proactive service recovery procedure in place to make sure that when we receive guest’s comments, we put in place certain actions to ensure that they are eradicated.

I have discussed your feedback with the Verve Manager and Head Chef who were both highly embarrassed to hear such comments regarding your restaurant experience; this is definitely not the level of service that they and their teams pride themselves on. Your comments will of course be communicated to the rest of department to make sure they are not repeated and their teams are made aware of the feedback.

We hope that you will consider returning to us in the near future as I am confident that your feedback will be taken on board and used effectively as your visit is not a true reflection of a typical visit to the Village Urban Resort Solihull.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We recently stayed here to visit Cadbury World which is only a few miles away. The staff were very helpful and our family room was very comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay. The children slept on a roll away bed on the floor with a single king size bed in the room.

We only had breakfast at the hotel which was the usual buffet style arrangement. The food was very nice and did its job getting us all off to a good start for a busy day out and about.

We used the leisure facilities which the kids loved. The pool was a good size and didn't seem overcrowded. It is split for those wanting to swim and those wanting to mess around with kids.

The bar was very busy when we were there and the doors of the bar were open as it was a warm evening. Lots of people were standing outside and I can imagine it may have been noisy if your room was above the bar area. Ours wasn't and was on the opposite side of the hotel and was nice and quiet. However when booking I would try and request a room away from the bar area to be on the safe side.

We had an enjoyable nights stay and would use this hotel again if we were in the area and would recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar area to prevent any noise disturbance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danny0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank-you for your great feedback following your recent stay.

We are ideally positioned for some of Birminghams most popular attractions, so we were pleased to here that you could take advantage of this. Our Victory Pub is a popular spot for both residents and non-residents during the good weather however I can assure you that this does not affect our guests stay through noise issues.

Please keep an eye out on our website for all future special offers and packages.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solihull hotels
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#4 of 28 in Solihull
739 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
2.3 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
2.3 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#16 of 28 in Solihull
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Solihull

Address: Stratford Road | The Green Business Park, Solihull B90 4JG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Solihull)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Solihull
#7 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
#9 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price Range: £43 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull is conveniently located close to the major motorway (M42) and rail networks, making it the perfect base to explore the new Birmingham revival in all its glory. The latest hotspot for big shops, big label and big nights out!. It's ideal for quick access to the NEC, Genting Arena and Birmingham International Airport. Nearby attractions include chocoholics favourite Cadbury World, the Sealife Centre, Touchwood shopping Centre and Warwick Castle. Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull has 128 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining in the Village Grill or the Village Pub - which shows all major sporting events, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 20m Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Village Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Prem Solihull Hotel Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing