We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The night we left the restaurant” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Solihull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Hotel Solihull
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Solihull
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The night we left the restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Appalling! Rooms average,with air conditioning not working and only a small fan to compensate. Sat down to eat in restaurant at 2015, starters distinctly average. Still waiting for main course at 2135 so left without signing bill,just hope breakfast is better!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crossf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest

We are so very disappointed to read about your recent experience within our Verve Bar and Grill. I can apologise for this and assure you that this is definitely not a typical experience and that having communicated this information to both the Restaurant Manager and Head Chef, they were both highly embarrassed to hear such feedback as this is not the level of service they and they're teams pride themselves on.

We would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith within Village hotels, therefore please get in contact with myself so that we are made aware when you staying with us next.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    508
    265
    132
    100
See reviews for
271
476
39
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

My husband booked a 2 night stay here, with breakfast, so we could have a little break in the area. Spent most of our time in Stratford (25 mins) but there is loads to access nearby.
Check in was standard, friendly welcome. Once we got to a room though it was baking in there & the AC not working! Being 6 months pregnant I would never have been able to sleep. We went down to reception where 2 lovely ladies were extremely accommodating, upgrading our room to their Upper Deck package. This room still didn't have working AC but this was not a problem as we were moved once more! Both ladies were very apologetic & helpful, although I get the impression the AC is a recurring problem.
Breakfast was straightforward for the price, not gourmet standard but plenty of it & enough choice.
Hubby enjoyed the gym facilities too; well kept & clean.
The only aside I have is that I would not pay for the Upper Deck package (£20 extra per night). This is essentially for sky movies & Starbucks brand of tea/coffee. The beds are no more comfy & are actually smaller than our original room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hcard85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your recent review following your stay with us.

We are delighted to ear that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that we were able to accommodate room moves for you due to the current air condtioning issue. The are fully aware of the issue and the matter is being dealt with urgently. I can assure you that our Upper deck bed are differen to those of the standard rooms, and they also offer benefits such as the full sky package, complimentary water, starbucks tray and different toiletries.

Please look for all of our promotional rates and packages on our website.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West midlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here on a number of occasions just for a night away. It is a lovely hotel with very friendly staff. We have used the pool/jacuzzi and have also eaten in the restaurant. On our latest visit we were slightly disappointed with the new menu.
We were lucky enough to be in a room with working air conditioning as we gather there have been some problems with it for some time, however as I say we were lucky and this didn't affect us!
Would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SamC911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest

Following your recent stay with us, we just wanted to thank you for posting a review.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that the air condtioning that is only affecting a few rooms did not disturb your stay with us and that you were able to take full advantage of the facilties.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
134 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Love the village hotels and so purchased an online voucher for a day pass at the Solihull village inn to use the leisure facilities, enjoyed 2 classes and a nice swim, steam & sauna. (Good value) Staff were friendly & welcoming. Decided to stay and have lunch although waited a little longer than would have liked and had to send coleslaw back as tasted off! Enjoyed relaxing in the lounge area with a Starbucks.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank anna_d1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed the leisiure facilities here at the Village Solihull.

We have recenetly changed the management team, therefore they will be so very pleased to read your glowing feedback, I will be sure to pass it on to him and the rest of the team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the leisure club soon.

Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The air conditioning wasn't working and when I complained I was sent a fan, which made no difference. I hardly slept at all and when I complained in the morning I was told it was only my room, which was obviously not the case based on other reviews. A sorry doesn't make up for a sleepless night. Would have rather of driven home than get no sleep.

Breakfasts at the village chain of hotels are always disappointing, premier inn breakfasts are far superior. Very basic with little choice.

The only good thing is the leisure facilities, very good pool and gym.

Won't be returning to this village anytime soon, especially not when the weather is hot.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank chocolatespot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for posting a review following your recent stay.

I can only apologise for the lack of air conditoning during your stay with us. We are fully aware of the issues we are experiencing with our air conditoning, unfortunately due to the seriousness of the issue there has been a delay in the completion of this work. It is being dealt with as a matter of urgency, however we have been unable to detail a completion date as it is in the hands of our contractors.

I can assure you that once rectified I am confident that we can restore your faith within the hotel and it's services as this is definitely not a true reflection of a Village Urban Resort experience.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Solihull hotels

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I spent two nights here and it was a really pleasant stay. Clean and comfortable - the rooms were nothing exceptional, but offered everything you need and expect for a mid range hotel. Room service was fairly quick and arrived hot which is always a bonus! It's just a shame they don't offer anything than sandwiches and paninis after 10:30 I think it was - not absolutely sure of the time but remembering it wasn't particularly helpful if you arrived late. The gym is really good if you have the time or inclination to visit it. Great place to crash, but not for a romantic weekend!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us.

We were delighted to read that we were able to cater for all of your needs during your stay. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the rest of the team.

Please do keep an eye out on our website for all current room rates and packages.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We needed somewhere in Solihull to meet and talk and get a little work done. The foyer has various areas with seating to choose from - some more casual (sofas) and others with more upright chairs. There is a Starbucks on site for refreshments. I had arrived early found a corner and got on with what I needed to do. I found the floor set power points for lamps rather useful for charging phone/laptop. If you choose your corner carefully you can get away from the bulk of the music interference (they play music in the entrance area). I wasn't making phone calls but noticed several others working away took all their phone calls outside.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank-you for your feedback following your recent visit.

We are so very pleased to hear that the facilties of our lobby area catered for your meeting needs. We also do have 6 excellent meetings rooms within our "hub" that are available for great value daily delega rates with a number of different packages. Be sure to speak to one of our receptionists the next time you visit as they will be able to give you a showround and more information on our meetings provisons.

See you again soon.

Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solihull hotels
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 25 in Solihull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
2.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
5.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Solihull

Property: Village Hotel Solihull
Address: Stratford Road | The Green Business Park (Off Dog Kennel Lane), Solihull B90 4JG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Solihull)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Solihull
#6 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
#8 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Solihull is conveniently located close to the major motorway and rail networks, making it the perfect base to explore the new Birmingham revival in all its glory. The latest hotspot for big shops, big label and big nights out!. It's ideal for quick access to the NEC, LG Arena and Birmingham International Airport. Nearby attractions include chocoholics favourite Cadbury World, the Sealife Centre, Touchwood shopping Centre and Warwick Castle. Village Hotel Solihull has 128 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Village Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Prem Solihull Hotel Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing