We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Solihull
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Good clean hotel at an amazing price - the current 2 night pre pay offer. TV not working on arrival so called reception and Ian arrived within 5 mins. Whilst trying to fix the TV we got chatting about what to see in Birmingham. Ian could not fix the TV without taking the surround off and as we were off to the pool we arranged for him to come back in 10 mins while we had a swim. Good pool. On our return the TV was fixed and Ian had left brochures and map for our trip into Birmingham the following day. Employee of the Year contender.

We ate in the Victory Pub, food all good just noisy - football was on. The second night we tried the Verve Grill. Slow service and food not hot enough. The rack of ribs is served on the most ridiculous wooden platter with a bowl of chips balanced on the side. This is always a messy choice but this is just an accident waiting to happen!

The hotel is on a business park but just off the main road into Birmingham, and easy to find from the motorway.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Suzanne

Your positive comments relating to your recent stay have been well received by the whole team. It really is a boost and great for team morale. We really do try very hard to exceed our customers expectations and your positive re-enforcement has a placebo effect!

Likewise we must learn from our critics and focus on improvement through analysis of all feedback. Therefore I will of course be passing on your comments to the Restaurant Manager who will be highly embarrassed to hear of your experience.

We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,454 - 1,460 of 1,933 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Village hotels are a great choice for a relaxing break, we've stayed at them for several years all over the country, usually with children. Have also used them for business trips. This time we stayed as a couple and tried the restaurant for a treat. Don't bother, we left there very disappointed. Wrong, then incomplete starters, 45 minutes wait between courses, lost dessert order, all this when the restaurant was really quiet. Constructive feedback resulted in the offer of £10 off next time we dine there -frankly NOT likely. Service at breakfast and the hotel generally was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CariadMam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Cariadmam

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit.

I can only apologise for your disappointing restaurant experience. Both the Restaurant Manager and his team will be highly embarrassed to hear such feedback as this is definitely not the type of service that they pride themselves on.

I can assure you that this is not a regular occurrence and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback further should you wish to contact me - giles.hammond@village-hotels.com.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Regards

Giles Hammond

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Nice clean hotel, good gym but staff weren't very helpful, didn't seem to know basic information, & the drinks prices in the victory bar were extortionate, £4.50 for a small malibu & coke.....way over priced

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave22571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that you felt that the knowledge level of some of our team members was not up to your expectations. I can assure you that all of the team members are fully trained and signed off after the have been recruited.

The prices within our Victory Pub are competively priced and in line with those competitors in the local area.

We hope you consider staying with us again soon.

Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

All appeared to be fine on arrival- First Impressions were V Good, however when we got to our room we discovered that we had been allocated a disabled room with toilet and wet room shower only. This immediately alarmed us because we had not requested disabled room. Our eldest daughter is disabled and our own bathroom is a wet room with disabled toilet, so we wanted a nice bathroom for a change. We went down to inform the receptionist who had allocated our room our concern. She did say that it may have been because we had booked just recently, but we booked in May this year. She then informed us that a cancellation had just received for an Upper Deck and that one was now available. I asked if I could have this upgrade free due to this poor experience. The Receptionist then said that she couldn’t make this decision and that she would have to ask a Manager to make this decision. After about 10 minutes wait the Manager (Magda) arrived but she informed us that an Upper Deck room was no longer available but she said that all the rooms were the same except Sky TV and the Starbucks Coffee. She also said that no extra toiletries were now available in upper deck, despite the flyers for upper deck stating this added feature. We then reluctantly agreed to move to another standard room. Once in the room Magda returned to inform us that a Upper Deck room was available so we moved again to this room. The room (427) did look very much like the standard room we had previously allocated. Magna came back late to provide my wife with some extra toiletries and a presentation box of toiletries.
All in all we believe that Magna did try her very best to improve our experience and at the end of day one we were happy. However we discovered later that our Sky system could not access all the channels said to be available to Upper Deck guests. We were initially told that lightning had caused this.

The next morning (Tuesday) at breakfast we began to compare Solihull staff with that of the Bournemouth Urban Village staff (We had just stayed at for the previous 2 days). The big difference we agreed on was that that the staff at Solihull just did not seem to be at all happy. It appeared that the breakfast staff were unable to keep up with their service to guests, they seemed to be short staffed we also noticed that they didn’t appear to be speaking to each other. I pointed out that the plates for breakfast were far too hot to pick up even using the napkins provided. I spoke to another guest and she agreed that something was wrong and she had just complained the cereal bowls were dirty.

We left for our day visit to Stratford upon Avon and returned back to the Solihull village around 18:00. Once in our room I telephoned to Reception and informed them again that we couldn’t access all of the Sky Channels still. After about 10 minutes a young man appeared to mend this. He basically assumed I didn’t know how to use the Sky handset he accessed on channel and said “It’s OK now”. I said to him “We have Sky at home I know how to use the hand set”. I then showed him the fault and he realised it was beyond his ability to fix and left.

All in all we found that there wasn’t much team spirit with the staff. With Exception was the middle aged blonde lady at the Leisure Centre desk was First Class. Very Happy & Very Friendly.

I also left the following note with Reception FAO the Solihull Village Manager.

1. The Sky box is not fully functional. On some Channels the message “Your Sky box is not
receiving a Satellite Signal” appears
2. Hand Shower flexi damaged.
3. Bath drain blocked. Effluent comes back into bath when taking a shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the car park so as to keep watch of your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LeginLeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for giving us feedback during your check out today following your stay with us at the Village Urban Resort Solihull. We are always keen to receive any type of guest feedback, although it is never encouraging to receive negative comments this information is vital to monitoring our guests experiences and understanding when we have fallen short of meeting our guest expectations.

I was disappointed to hear that you were not willing to discuss these issues before leaving and declined the opportunity to meet with myself as I would have been more than happy to have taken the time to sit down and discuss the issues that you raised so that we could have understood them first hand. We have a very proactive customer service process here at the hotel to ensure that where possible when guests have experienced issues we acknowledge them and make sure we have do our upmost to make sure they leave with a satisfied response.

Having read through your feedback, I can only apologise for all of the issues that you have mentioned and experienced. As General Manager I am highly embarrassed to here such feedback regarding a number of areas within the hotel.

I can assure you that we take our customer feedback very seriously and that we have a very proactive service recovery procedure in place to make sure that when we receive guest’s comments, we put in place certain actions to ensure that they are eradicated. Had we been made aware of these issues during your stay or on check out we would of course acted on this feedback immediately as we have a very effective and proactive service recovery procedure in place.

I am confident that shold you wish to return in the future you will notice a marked improvement and appreciate that your feedback has been taken on board and actioned.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay for DBB (including a glass of vino each) at Village Urban. Lovely modern hotel- has the "virgin" feel to it ! Lovely 3 course meal each nite including a glass of wine, all for £246 for 2 thro expedia.
Highly recommended. Lovely room. Lovely bathroom and shower.
Close to Warwick castle ( 8 miles) and Stratfored (same) and cadburyworld ( 7 miles).
Lovely staff including very helpful; professional lady at front desk who when presenting us with a bill for £144 when we had only had one extra drink and a burger upgrade sorted it out with a smile and professionalism rarely seen these days.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We asked for and were allocated a 3rd floor room facing car park as meant to be quietest. No problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank debznco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay.

Our team were delighted to read that you and your partner had such an enjoyable stay with us and were able to take advantage of our great value Dinner, bed and breakfast package. It is always nice as well to hear when a staff member has made a marked impression on our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many thanks

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel but there was a problem with the booking. Nothing to do with the hotel. The problem was a 3rd party however the way the Reception looked after us was superb. Very professional and happy staff at Reception and in the Bar. Complimentary drinks whilst a solution was made. This was sorted very quick. Transport provided to the next hotel. Top class communication. Hotel seemed very well kept with many facilities available.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Tennyson15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dera Guest

Thank-you for your kind comments following your recent experience here at Village Solihull.

We are sorry that you weren't actually able to stay with us, although it is great to here that the reception team were able to deal with you issue effeciently and effectively, will be sure to bass on your kind comments.

We hope that you get the chance to stay with us in the near future.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at the Village a couple of weeks ago and I was really impressed! As a group of friends playing golf for the weekend and having a catch up, we found the hotel in a good location and with fantastic facilities! There's plenty of great golf courses locally; the spa and gym really were exceptional; the food was that good we had all three courses (plus a few drinks in the bar); and the room was stylish and comfortable.

There was an issue with the air con but we were informed about this by reception and it didn't affect our stay. To be honest, I was grateful that they told us about this rather than just try to ignore it; and they couldn't have been more willing to try and make our stay as pleasant as possible.

I'd strongly recommend this hotel for either a weekend break or business stay. In fact, this is the first Village I've stayed in and I'll be considering them for future work stays as a result!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H, General Manager at Village Hotel Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for you recent review following your stay with us.

We are delighted to here that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you were able to make the most of the hotel facilties.

We are glad that we able to accommodate you despite the issue with Air conditoning that was only a temporary issue and is now back in full operation.

We look forward to wlecoming you again for you next weekend golf trip.

Kind Regards

Giles Hammond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solihull hotels
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#7 of 28 in Solihull
697 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.6 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
367 reviews
2.3 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 28 in Solihull
1,152 reviews
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Solihull

Address: Stratford Road | The Green Business Park, Solihull B90 4JG, England (Formerly De Vere Village Solihull)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Solihull
#7 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
#9 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price Range: £36 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull is conveniently located close to the major motorway (M42) and rail networks, making it the perfect base to explore the new Birmingham revival in all its glory. The latest hotspot for big shops, big label and big nights out!. It's ideal for quick access to the NEC, Genting Arena and Birmingham International Airport. Nearby attractions include chocoholics favourite Cadbury World, the Sealife Centre, Touchwood shopping Centre and Warwick Castle. Village Hotel Birmingham Solihull has 128 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining in the Village Grill or the Village Pub - which shows all major sporting events, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 20m Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Prem Solihull Hotel Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing