We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“21st birthday at Akamba”

Akamba Garden Centre
Ranked #2 of 41 things to do in Solihull
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“21st birthday at Akamba”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

what a fabulous place! everything from start to finish was perfect. The whole atmosphere of akamba was amazing. everyone had a fantastic time. the staff were all very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. would highly recommend broombusters, they had the audience on their feet from the minute they started to the end of the evening all topped off with the fireater. overall a memorable evening. We cant wait to go back. Antill Party

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank litna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kel c, Owner at Akamba Garden Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello, thank you for spending your birthday here at Akamba. We are really pleased to hear that you and your family had a grey time., also thank you for the great review. Asante.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    129
    39
    21
    27
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“akamba”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

food wasnt the best drinks flat starting to look a bit run down whole place needs some tlc the outdoor items for sale mostly bamboo and half dead trees rip off prices thats if you could read the price labels mostly faded the various pots for sale around the place if they are are full of fag butts and pop bottles the bargain corner was the best mostly dead plants and it was guess the price wont be visiting again

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank neil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kel c, Owner at Akamba Garden Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello, sorry we let you down on your visit, I am a little baffled by some of your comments, particularly your comment on pop bottles in the plant pots, I have personally checked the whole cente and could find no evidence of this, perhaps the staff collected them, you may have noticed that we are in the throws of upgrading the centre, we have resurfaced and landscaped the car park, and are currently re thatching the various buildings. I wish you spoke to someone on the day of your visit, we would certainly have replaced your drink if it really was flat, we would also have offered you alternative food if you were not happy with your first choice, I do agree with you about the plant pots being dirty, as most are on the floor and get continually splashed with water from the hose they do require regular cleaning, looking at this problem we may raise the pots off the ground to help prevent this. moving on to the bargain corner, I honestly cannot find one dead plant ( perhaps you bought all the dead ones) the plants in this area are reduced in price as they are damaged, finished flowering or just need some TLC, the state of the plants is reflected in the price some having up to 90% off - a real bargain I would say.
Thank you for your feed back - it all helps us run a more efficient business. Asante.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“My bday nite in May”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing scenic place to eat and have live entertainment!! The food and staff are beyond belief really!! Such a beautiful place and I would highly recommend trying it!! Thanks Mark & Leeann from Coventry xx

Helpful?
Thank Markleeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kel c, Owner at Akamba Garden Centre, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello thank you for your very kind review, and thank you for celebrating you birthday with us. Asanta Sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Feels like you are in another country love the uniqueness of this place very tranquil in the day and fun of a night great food great ambience a must !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kel c, Owner at Akamba Garden Centre, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello, thank you for your very kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Akamba in the future. Asante.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Heard about this place and we came on Saturday 31st for a bit of lunch. 2 small grand children. Initially pushed towards the buffet but found a snack menu. Excellent fare and very friendly staff. Coming back on 27th with some grown ups for an evening meal. Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MJC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kel c, Owner at Akamba Garden Centre, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a really great review. we look forward to serving you on the 27th. Asante Sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akamba Garden Centre also viewed

Tanworth-in-Arden, Solihull
 
Solihull, West Midlands
Solihull, West Midlands
 

Been to Akamba Garden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing