We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“West Midlands - Drop Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Solihull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Solihull
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“West Midlands - Drop Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Good location, friendly staff, good rooms and facilities in the heart of Solihull . Part of a chain and to a good standard. Busy with business guests, conferences and those who are visiting the NEC. Large car park (charges apply). Can be pricy mid week but good rates at the weekend. Small pool and gym offers additional value (both are quiet normally)

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the fountain are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asahio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwina B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Solihull, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Asahio
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull. I was delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be a great place to stay in every respect. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
With kind regards
Edwina Blyth, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    232
    105
    39
    23
See reviews for
114
159
22
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
north east england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Big comfy bed in a spotlessly clean, spacious room. Friendly, attentive staff, lovely breakfast.
Nothing I didn't like! Would definitely visit again and have recommended my company use it for colleagues too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisky86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwina B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Solihull, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Lisky86
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull. I was delighted to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
With kind regards
Edwina Blyth, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Don't normally use this brand, but enjoyed this visit. Once again, parking and Internet, are additional charges. Breakfast is £10 but it was well worth it, had hot food of all the normal types, and full range of continental breakfast. The place was clean and warm. And rooms were very nice. There is a club you can join and get discount stamps to ease the price of other visits. With the hotel being so big, you do hear the odd noise from people coming in, it seams to be a big place for business meetings. Overall good stay. Would use again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwina B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Solihull, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Brian G, thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull. It was good to hear that you found our rooms to be comfortable and enjoyed using our leisure club. Unfortunately, our WiFi and the technical support for this service is provided by an external company and it is, therefore, necessary to charge our guests for using this service. With regard to the car park we regularly review our charges to ensure that we remain competitive with other local hotels and the charge we make for residents is significantly reduced. Once again Brian that you for posting your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. With kind regards, Edwina Blyth, Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Hotel is a short, pleasant walk from a very nice Town Centre - Solihull, whether you are looking for shopping or restaurants. Hotel is spacious in every respect and even though my visit was with a Coach Party, food, service and helpful attention was very evident.

Room Tip: Request a room that is not 'in the eaves' !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthmuirhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwina B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Solihull, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Ruth, thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and a visit to Solihull town centre. I am pleased you enjoyed the food and service during your stay and shall pass your kind comments on the team. I look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull in the near future. With kind regards, Edwina Blyth, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business and could to fault the hotel. Check in was simple and quick. Room was spacious and well furnished, only grip was the Internet which they wanted to charge for. Bed was comfortable and slept well. Breakfast was your typical,
chain fare the only real disappointment was the car park charge

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NickAAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwina B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Solihull, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear NickAAAA, thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay here and found the team to be efficient. I am sorry you were disappointed with the car park charge. We do state on our website that car parking charges apply at £5 per car, per night and please be assured that we regularly review our pricing to ensure we remain competitive with other local hotels and the charge for residents is significantly discounted. Once again, thank you for your review and I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future. With kind regards, Edwina Blyth, Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udine, Italy
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Been here for just one night but I will be back for sure in the future. The room was very spacious, spotless clean and with a good size bathroom. The shower is over the tub. All the toiletries needed are there. Good selection of TV channels. The staff is very friendly and helpful: I had run out of coffee milk (provided in the room) and I immediately got plenty of replacement from the reception. The location is just perfect: facing TGI Friday inTorchwood Shopping Centre, is just a couple of minutes from the town center and 10 min walk from the train station. Also is 3 min walk from bus stops (966 goes to Birmingham airport and other buses go to Birmingham town centre).
Also, good value for money. Maybe it looks a bit tired (but still spotless cleas), and that's the only negative point I can find. I will definetly go back there when in Birmingham.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fuscol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwina B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Solihull, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Fuscol, thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull. I was delighted to read that you found our hotel to be clean and the team friendly and helpful. We are very close to all amenities in Solihull and glad you where able to take advantage of this. Once again, thank you for your kind comments and I hope to be able to welcome you back very soon. With kind regards, Edwina Blyth, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibiu, Romania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed here for one night as I had an early morning flight from the nearby Birmingham Airport. The hotel is right in the centre of Solihull and is very well signposted so no problem finding it, check in was efficient, the receptionist was very friendly. The room was good with a comfortable bed and good sized bathroom.
I ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food and service were both good, I then sat in the bar area for a couple of drinks, the drinks were a little on the expensive side and the service got a little slow as the bar filled up with people later in the evening but not painfully so.
I had a good nights sleep and breakfast the next morning was good, buffet style with plenty of choice.
Only minor gripes I had was both parking and internet were charged, Holiday Inn and the rest of their group really need to sort this out. If McDonalds and Starbucks can offer free internet why can't a chain of hotels with a large percentage of business customers also provide wireless internet for free

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwina B, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Solihull, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Gareth J
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday inn Solihull. I was delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay.

I have noted your comments concerning the charge for car parking. Please be assured that we regularly review our pricing to ensure that we remain competitive with other city centre hotels and the charge for residents is significantly discounted.

With regard to Wi-Fi the technichal support for this service is provided by an external company, therefore, it is necessary to charge our guests for using their services.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Solihull very soon.

Yours sincerely
Edwina Blyth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solihull hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
3.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Solihull

Property: Crowne Plaza Solihull
Address: 61 Homer Road, Solihull B91 3QD, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Solihull)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Solihull is 5 miles from the Birmingham NEC and ideally located whether you are on business or taking a break. Birmingham International Airport is 15 minutes away. Situated in the heart of England, we are 1 mile from Jct 5 off the M42 with direct links to the M6, M6 TOLL, M1 and M40. Solihull is a vibrant and welcoming town and is the perfect accompaniment to this exceptional 4 star hotel where you can celebrate your wedding venue with a picturesque view overlooking a beautiful fountain and lake. Our fantastic new facilities include 12 modern and flexible meeting rooms designed for both practicality and comfort, 120 refurbished bedrooms, air-conditioning and wireless internet access throughout the hotel, kids eat free and indoor heated swimming pool. Restaurant and our Lounge bar offer both formal and informal dining options to suit tastes from around the world. To make the most of your stay, visit our leisure club and take advantage of the gymnasium, steam, Jacuzzi and sauna. Nearby attractions include Cadbury World, Touchwood entertainment and shopping complex, Shakespeare's birthplace Stratford upon Avon and Sea Life Birmingham. Just a few of the many places to experience when visiting beautiful Solihull. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Solihull Hotel Solihull
Solihull Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing