We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Solihull
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Picked this place due to the location and it was a decent price. Wasn't expecting great things but was surprised. Firstly the rooms are as you'd expect its not 5 star but its fine and as you'd expect for the price. But the service from the staff is unusually exceptional. Everyone we dealt with was fantastic especially Isobel on reception who went out of her way to make sure we had a great experience. The staff at the lounge were friendly too. Totally exceeded what I expected and we will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nasrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimSparrow, Manager at Crowne Plaza Solihull, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Nasrobinson,

Thank you for your review and compliments about our team, we're really pleased you had a great stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Tim Sparrow, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    234
    106
    40
    24
See reviews for
117
164
22
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights here recently for business and found the whole place to be very friendly, clean and comfortable. The room was very spacious and well presented. THe location is fantastic being right next to a large shopping centre which gave me options for evening activities.

Thank you to all the team there, made my stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimSparrow, Manager at Crowne Plaza Solihull, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear James S,

Thank you for your excellent review, and on behalf of the team, you are welcome.

We hope you will be back soon, we'll work that bit harder so you'll give us all five stars!

Tim Sparrow, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in the Holiday Inn, having stayed there before a couple of years ago. Check in was friendly & quick on arrival. Our room was average on entering there appeared to be a stale smell which went once we opened the windows for a while. I was a little disappointed by the room as we had one on the roof top so the window was very small and hence the room was dark, however I didn't ask to change as we were attending a wedding and wouldn't be spending too long there. The room was clean and fresh every day. Breakfast was very quiet in the hotel each day and as we had paid for it to be included we availed of it, the food was kept heated under lamps and was average there was alot of it cooked sitting there for the hour we were there . I think it would be better maybe if they took table orders for hot food at breakfast time. Staff were polite and friendly in the bar area. I think the main reception lobby is not inviting though & could do with a revamp. If I was returning to Solihull I might stay here again solely due to it's proximity to Touchwood shopping centre & town centre.

Room Tip: Rooms with rooftop windows are dark ask for a main room window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flintstone2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimSparrow, Manager at Crowne Plaza Solihull, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Flintstone2014,

Thank you for your review. We've noted your comments and we hope you will return to us again soon.

Tim Sparrow, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Reception-friendly, tried to be helpful although seemed a little clueless with a company booking reference, although I had a copy of what was paid for still seemed to cause confusion.

Room- clean, bed was comfortable, average choice of extras.

Room service-very polite young girl, food was edible, quick service.

Noise- very loud noise from local bank holiday festival. Zero sleep. No chance of early night for 5 am meeting. Loud neighbours. Adjoining door tried on numerous occasions. Mentioned to reception on hotel checkout. Not much feedback.

Wifi- very expensive for such unreliable connection. Waste of £10. (12 hours)

Average. But what do u expect from a hotel chain who don't really care about customer service.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank edgeleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimSparrow, Manager at Crowne Plaza Solihull, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear edgeleyman,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you had a poor night sleep and that you experienced billing issues.

Unfortunatly I have not been able to establish which is your reservation to investigate further, but if you would like to contact me, I'd be happy to look into it.

Wi-fi access is complimentray at Holiday Inn Solihull for IHG Rewards members, and is soon to be complimentary accross the IHG portfolio (again for IHG Rewards members) in the coming weeks. It's simple and free to join.

I would also like to say, that we very much care about our customer service and I'm sorry if we gave you an opinion to the contrary.

Tim Sparrow, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked two nights at this hotel, arriving on Friday, we were meeting friends and enjoying a weekend away. Solihull, people commented, Birmingham!!!. Why on earth are you going there? Well we had a fantastic time, we are what would be described as, god help us!!! Middle aged. The hotel was perfect. We had read reviews about noisy rooms, I emailed hotel and asked to be located two rooms toward the back of hotel, they replied within 24hours, we had no problem with noise The beds were King size, the curtains were black out, the bathroom had huge spotlessly clean white fluffy towels. The individually controlled air conditioning worked. The hotel had a swimming pool a jacuzzi a sauna and a steam room, it also had a gym, we didn't use the latter. It provided towels to use within the leisure complex. It was opposite, (but far enough away from) a fantastic shopping complex that also had many of the popular eating places, TGI's, Ask, Nandos etc, plenty of pubs. A man in the swimming pool, friendly as everyone was, asking us were we were from suggested a pub that was perfect for us and did fantastic pub reasonably priced food. The receptionist Isobel couldn't have been more helpful checking an booking a visit to a Birmingham attraction that I had seen on trip advisor, the "Back to Backs (National Trust), booking essential £8.00 per person and all four of us left feeling that is was two hours worth spent. We went into Birmingham headed towards the canals, Birmingham has more canals than Venice!!!! We had an hours boat trip £7, very informative. The hotel was amazing, the staff could not have been more polite helpful and friendly, we asked for an extra pillow, no problem, we had a faulty light in our room, fixed within an evening out. We had the breakfast, good choice, replenished often, I wanted poached eggs, not on the menu, no problem. We all agreed we had a lovely weekend,, and everyone at the hotel was lovely. We will definitely return as we didn't see anything of the shopping that Birmingham has to offer. The Holiday Inn Solihull was an amazing find in a central well located area. We all agreed it was a weekend that ticked all the boxes and we will return to the Holiday Inn Solihull again, thank you Holiday Inn and the lovely staff that work there, we will visit again

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzybedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimSparrow, Manager at Crowne Plaza Solihull, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear dizzybedfordshire,

Thank you for your lovely and comprehensive review and kind words about our team, in particular highlighting Isobel. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and the local attractions, including Birmingham's 100+ miles of canals!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Tim Sparrow, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here on business trip. Located at perfect location just opposite to Touchwood shopping mall and 2 mins walk form city center.Staff is very helpful and cordial. Breakfast do not have much variety but pretty decent. Good place to stay in Solihull.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ujjwal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimSparrow, Manager at Crowne Plaza Solihull, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Ujjwal K,

Thank you for your review, I'm really pleased that you enjoy our central location and the service from the team. Perhaps next time you may consider an item from the breakfast menu and cooked to order, rather than from the traditional buffet.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Tim Sparrow, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have been to this hotel quite a few times and I must confess I have received the best services in any hotel so far. I have stayed in quite a few hotels in UK and outside as well on business but this Holiday Inn has surpassed all expectations. Staff at the desk and Breakfast are very amiable and helpful. The location is great and add to it the helpful staff and you wouldn't want to be anywhere if you are anywhere around Birmingham.

Room Tip: Any will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShovanChatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimSparrow, Manager at Crowne Plaza Solihull, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear ShovanChatt,

Thank you for your great review. The team and I are really pleased that you enjoy your stays with us and we look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Tim Sparrow, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solihull hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 25 in Solihull
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
785 reviews
2.1 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#11 of 25 in Solihull
1,497 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Solihull

Property: Crowne Plaza Solihull
Address: 61 Homer Road, Solihull B91 3QD, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Solihull)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Solihull is 5 miles from the Birmingham NEC and ideally located whether you are on business or taking a break. Birmingham International Airport is 15 minutes away. Situated in the heart of England, we are 1 mile from Jct 5 off the M42 with direct links to the M6, M6 TOLL, M1 and M40. Solihull is a vibrant and welcoming town and is the perfect accompaniment to this exceptional 4 star hotel where you can celebrate your wedding venue with a picturesque view overlooking a beautiful fountain and lake. Our fantastic new facilities include 12 modern and flexible meeting rooms designed for both practicality and comfort, 120 refurbished bedrooms, air-conditioning and wireless internet access throughout the hotel, kids eat free and indoor heated swimming pool. Restaurant and our Lounge bar offer both formal and informal dining options to suit tastes from around the world. To make the most of your stay, visit our leisure club and take advantage of the gymnasium, steam, Jacuzzi and sauna. Nearby attractions include Cadbury World, Touchwood entertainment and shopping complex, Shakespeare's birthplace Stratford upon Avon and Sea Life Birmingham. Just a few of the many places to experience when visiting beautiful Solihull. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Solihull Hotel Solihull
Solihull Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing