We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
Nearby Hotels
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Lion Inn(Hampton-in-Arden)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hogarths Hotel(Dorridge)(Great Value!)
US$239
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haigs Hotel(Balsall Common)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,349)
Filter reviews
1,349 results
Traveller rating
451
406
256
142
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
406
256
142
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbowling greengeorge restaurantspiral staircasehigh streetafternoon teatown centreindian restaurantstrawberriestrouser pressbars and restaurantsreception staffrestaurant staffone night stayan overnight stayevening meallizmarshmallows
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
969 - 974 of 1,349 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Surprised Ramada put their name to this place.

Stayed here one night for a business trip and it was not good. The room was pretty shabby with ripped net curtains and a giant moth in the room. The TV didn't work as there was no connector box; an hour after ringing reception to get it fixed with no progress I had to call again to be told they might not be able to find one as the hotel was full. Hmmmm. Staff eventually came up with one 1.5hrs later, and then had to go again to find a remote to get it to work.

I ordered room service and that came promptly and was of average standard. Breakfast the next morning was a decent buffet with plenty of choice - staff here were great.

I spoke to a number of colleagues who were all very disappointed by the rooms and service.

Apparently some rooms have been refurbished and these are of a better standard... I was in the main hotel and that definitely hadn't had a refurb.

If you're staying here for the NEC a taxi over will cost anything between £10 and £15 each way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela1Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

My apologies for the delay fixing the TV as stated this was a busier than normal week and may have taken a little longer to respond. I have advised our housekeeping staff to check all net curtains to ensure any damaged ones are immediately replaced.
Our housekeeping team do work to specific Ramada standards and this will be monitored by the relevant managers.
We do receive many complimentary reviews regarding the cleanliness and helpfulness of the staff which can be read in other reviews!
Thank you for your feedback.
Regards
Anita Tarry/Customer Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at the Ramada while exhibiting at the NEC, What a fantastic Hotel the staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough to make us feel more welcome. The room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable,The food was outstanding and and we ate dinner there every evening barring one when we had been invited to an awards dinner elsewhere. The service was second to none and the Restaurant Manager was a joy and the young man behind the bar was extremely helpful and polite. We arrived quite late on our final evening after breaking down our stand after the show and expected to order from the 24 hour Room Service only but Adele arranged for us to order from the A la Carte Menu which we were most grateful for as we had been to busy to eat during the day. This is a very nice feeling smart Hotel with professional helpful staff and we will be returning when we are next exhibiting at the NEC.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you so much for the review.
We always try our best to exceed customer expectations and it is always a pleasure when this is acknowledged by our guests!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramada Solihull very soon.
Regards
Anita Tarry/Customer Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We booked our trip 6 weeks in advance, we booked two room for 4 persons (age 55-70) As we were getting on the road I phoned the hotel to ask about parking the servicing times in the restaurant and to let them know that we would be booking in late at approx 8-8.30 depending on traffic. The receptionist told me that she would make a note our arrival time (they had my card details so I was happy that our rooms would be waiting for us). We arrived at just after 8 to be told that there was no rooms for us. Alternative arrangements was not offered straight away, no apologies, just a shrug of shoulders. After a long pause they said that they would call a taxi and put us up at another hotel. The other hotel was much more noisy and one of the rooms that we got over looked the air-con units. The elder member of our party was very upset by the changes and unfortunately unknown to me until the next day, was the one with the room next to the air-con units. Our Friend managed only 3 hours sleep, as we had a day of walking around the NEC this was not a good start. Just after lunch we had to call it a day and head home. The trip was totally spoilt, and even though we were promised that a customer manager would follow this complaint up, we have not had a call, an explanation or apology.

Room Tip: never got to see rooms
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank 4Cavaliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Regrettably, overbooking situations do arise in hotels from time to time and it is necessary to transfer guests. Wherever possible alternative accomodation is found in a superior hotel with complimentary transport.
This complaint has since been dealt with directly by the hotel.
We do our utmost to ensure out bookings are kept to a minimum and apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Anita Tarry/Customer Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Booked B&B in a Townhouse Executive Suite at this hotel through Bookings.com 7 weeks before our stay. On our arrival we were told we were to be upgraded, sorry DOWNgraded, to an ordinary room as they had over booked and a computer glitch that had occurred the day before had not revealed this. The head receptionist stated that she had tried to telephone us and on inspection the 'phone log did indeed show a call at 1545 hours, 3.75 hours after we could have checked in (1200 check in time for these rooms) and about 30 minutes before we actually arrived. We were, however, told we could have a complimentary bottle of wine in our room "if we liked". The duty manager appeared and confirmed that this was indeed the situation and she did not really understand what had gone wrong with the computers to cause the mix up but she would find out and provide feedback. She also offered a free meal or to arrange another hotel, and to refund the difference in room prices should we decide to stay. We moved away to discuss this and were offered a complimentary drink which we declined.

As we had already driven 200 miles and not wishing to attempt to navigate Birmingham in the rush hour we reluctantly decided to accept the standard room. The manager said she would see if a townhouse was available the following night and would inform us. The standard room proved to be just that, overlooking the bowling green. Shortly after arrival the manager 'phoned the room to inform us that a townhouse would be available the following night and that if we packed up again in the morning they would move our gear. We initially accepted but subsequently declined as we did not wish the hassle of packing first thing then re-settling in after the hectic day we were anticipating. I went to reception to inform them of this decision, reminded them of the meal offer but suggested we be given complimentary breakfast as we were meeting friends that evening (we were duly refunded the breakfast cost) and that a bottle of wine might indeed help us cool off.

We later discovered a few issues with the room:
1. Only towels for 1 person.
2. Only 1 tissue left in box.
3. Red low battery warning light appearing on safe.
4. Bed light dimmer switch on one side broken so there was only the spindle.
5. Dimmer swich on other side would not dim, only on or off.
6. 1 of 3 bulbs out in entrance way. Unfortunately this was the bulb that allowed you to use the mirror for hair and make-up.

Items 1,2 & 3 were reported to reception as we went out that evening, on our return there was a plastic bag with towels and toiletries dumped on the bed. A susbsequent 'phone call brought a box of tissues. Items 3,4,5 & 6 were left on a note for housekeeping, as requested in the hotel information booklet. No action was taken. Fortunately the safe continued to work. These are relatively small niggles but the proportion they represent tends to depend on the first impression you have of a place. Ours was not good! Further, the room proved to be very stuffy necessitating the windows to be fully opened with resultant noise (even over the bowling green). The bed was hard - a mattress topper would not be amiss. As ours was a studio room the bed was only 4' 6" - normal double rooms have 6' beds (2 x 3' joined) as do the townhouses.

We spoke to Booking.com who contacted the hotel but were told that we had accepted compensation. This was not really the case. We accepted gestures made by the hotel in reparation for spoiling what was to be a special couple of days for us, part of which was to be the more luxurious room. We later noticed that the card we were given with our keys for room 111 had another persons name on it and was only for one night, as opposed to the two nights we booked. I wonder what accommodation these persons were given? After they were due to leave a townhouse became available! We also received no further feedback as to how the overbooking occurred.

The Ramada mission statement states ".......we have a promise to exceed our guest's expectations, a promise to provide the best possible stay". I feel OUR stay fell well short of this. For information, apparently this hotel is not actually owned by Ramada but is operating under their umbrella.

P.S. I would like to commend two of the breakfast staff, Sue and Varun, for their efficiency and helpful and pleasant attitudes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eltelrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

We apologise for any inconvenience due to the downgraded room type, whilst we do our utmost to ensure this does not happen due to the unusual high demand when our computers close out this can leave some room types overbooked.
When additional towels are taken to a room they are placed in clear bags for hygiene reasons which are preferred by many guests.
The issues in this review have been addressed through another feedback channel and all maintenance issues have been dealt with.
Anita Tarry
Customer Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews