We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent level of service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Solihull
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent level of service.”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I have stayed in a lot of hotels in the past, however, none of which quite stand out as much as the Ramada Solihull. At first glance the exterior of the hotel does not look the best however this image could not be changed quickly enough. As soon as you enter the main doors you are greeted with a warm welcome from one of the friendly hotel staff, all of whom were fast and efficient at getting me checked in an escorted to my room. The rooms in general are very comfortable and pleasant, not the nicest but by far not the worst. The walls are not the thickest however this is not much of an issue as their seemed to be little late arrivals. The food in the hotel was enjoyable, the choice on the menu could have been better however all my meals were prepared quickly and tasted good. The bar within the hotel is very warm and had a typical "English" feel to it with a wide selection of alcoholic and soft drinks. The one thing that makes this hotel stand out over its local competitors like the Hilton is the level of service that you receive. One specific member of staff, Liz, was possibly one of the friendliest people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting, from the moment I met her she greeted me like an old friend. This has clearly influenced her fellow colleagues who all give a smile with every conversation. Furthermore, I furtherly enjoyed my stay and would definitely return again and recommend it to my friends and family. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidYule95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
All the staff at Ramada are very customer service focused and to receive such praise is very much appreciated!
Liz and the team extend their thanks and hope to welcome you back very soon.
Kind Regards
Anita Tarry/Customer Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    364
    229
    116
    80
See reviews for
182
291
39
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petetlee
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Here as part of the EE training. Can't speak highly enough of the place. Room was spacious with clean towels brought every day. Liz and her team were amazing, delivering top class service and going out her way to make sure our stay was the best it could be!

Thanks so much guys!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adambox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Liz really is our secret weapon in customer service!
Thank you for you kind comments.
Hopefully you will visit us again soon to enjoy more hospitality at Ramada Solihull.
Many thanks
Anita Tarry/Customer Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijeka, Croatia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

right, let me start with the good things:
* hotel is very warm. literally. which is quite surprising, do to it's size. really felt comfortable.
* employees trying to help always. even if they can't sort out the issue, at least they try. nice thing.

"ok"-ish things:
* breakfast and food, generally. I mean, is edible, I won't say it's not. but nothing to write home about, or to remember. typical english breakfast is there. if you are unfortunate not to be british, well, bad luck. you have one choice of cold cuts, one (max 2) choices of bread, one or 2 cheese (and cereals, but I don't consider those "food").
food from the restaurant is pretty bland. there is a reason for which that restaurant is empty during the day, and mostly people accommodated in the hotel eat there.

bad thing:
lack of information of the surroundings.
You know those leaflets that you can find around any reception, with maps, things to do in the neighborhood, restaurants, museums, exhibitions and stuff? Well, those are missing. Completely. Not even one map of Solihull (which is one of the most boring cities I’ve seen in my life. And I have seen few.).
I asked the ladies from the reception about this kind of things. Receptionist was very kind to print me a map. A print screen of google satellite view (not even map view). Totally useless, but I appreciated her intention to help.

So, dear Solihull Ramada management:
Ever thought that providing such information (like all other hotels do, by the way), will be beneficial to your business and to the community where you operate???
Maybe instead of going to Birmingham and spending my money there (like I had to do), I would have found some nice places in Solihull to spend my money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.
We have had many compliments regarding the food both in the restaurant and at breakfast and will always accomodate any extra requests by our guests.
We also have an even mix of outside and resident guests in the restaurant and many compliments on Trip Advisor, we accept as much as we try we can't please everyone, but we do try!
Solihull is a bustling vibrant town with a great modern indoor shopping center, we do rely on the local authority to provide tourist information and will be chasing this up ( for information we have a stand with over 200 leaflets advertising local attractions on the ground floor corridor).
We hope you will visit us again and take full advantage of what Solihull has to offer.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Liz and her team at the Ramada produce service to the highest standard. All staff were helpful, ,friendly and willing to solve any problem thrown at them.
My self and colleagues stayed here for 4 days and the high standards were maintained through out the whole stay!!
A really nice location with quick easy access to the highstreet.
The rooms were nice and bar and general decor was warm, cosy and comforting. Definitely worth a visit.

Well done Ramada team!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate301287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Liz and the team will be pleased we met your expectations!
We hope to see you all again very soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Staff were very helpful, food was good, accommodations were clean and the room was always ready when I needed it. Location was convenient, and there were several nice places for a walk at the end of a long day. A good place to stay while attending a conference at the NEC.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan1324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
We hope to see you back at Ramada Solihull very soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Booked into the St Johns hotel 4 weeks ago then last week they phoned to say that they have overbooked and they will have to move us, not happy but they Located the Ramada Hotel, maybe a blessing in disguise, this Hotel is Ideally situated to the Touchwood centre, 10 steps and your there. We were upgraded to their Town Suites which were very good clean and spacious. Hotel staff were very good and helpful. We had afternoon tea, which was delightful. We went to the cinema early evening which is 4 mins walk away, beats killing time in the hotel room. Plenty of Restaurants in the vicinity, never tried the evening meal in the hotel but it was not overpriced.
Breakfast was very good and plentiful, free newspaper also.
I know where we will be staying next time we visit Solihull, Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your future visits.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Excellent team; very welcoming. The hotel is ideally situated for shopping in Solihull and the NEC which is just 10 mins away by car. The food is very good and the accommodation spot on. We unfortunately left some Christmas presents behind but the Head of Housekeeping called us to let us know they had them and this was followed up by a brilliant lady on reception who took our details and arranged for them to be sent to us. We received the items the next day; outstanding in my book. A massive thank you to the team; a credit to your organisation

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulJK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are all pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you received your lost property, although the post office must take some credit!
We hope to welcome you back to Ramada Solihull very soon.
Kind Regards
Anita Tarry/Customer Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solihull hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 25 in Solihull
626 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#12 of 25 in Solihull
1,055 reviews
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#11 of 25 in Solihull
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
2.0 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
2.2 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Birmingham Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Birmingham Solihull

Property: Ramada Birmingham Solihull
Address: The Square, Solihull B91 3RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Birmingham Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Birmingham/Solihull (known locally as The George) started life as a 15th-century coaching inn and now mixes the old and the new around England's oldest crown bowling green. Ideally situated at the end of Solihull's high street with easy access to the M42, NEC and airport, the hotel offers the perfect destination for touring and relaxing in the heart of the West Midlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Birmingham Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Birmingham, Solihull Hotel Solihull
Ramada Solihull Birmingham
Solihull Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing