We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Bristol
1 review
“Excellent Customer Service”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I really was very impressed with the hotel, and even more so with the customer service I received after I got home - I'd managed to leave my glasses there, and they not only found and looked after them, but also sent them back to me very promptly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased we were able to find your glasses and hope to 'see' you back at Ramada very soon.
Regards
Anita Tarry Customer Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    369
    235
    119
    80
See reviews for
185
295
40
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
telford shropshire
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times as its close to everything u need and always found the staff friendly and efficient especially Jack on reception who is truly a great member of staff and made our stay even better :) . Liz in the restaurant is also a lovely lady and always makes us feel welcome

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smarty77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
It's always pleasing to hear when we have exceeded a guests expectations, thank you for your valuable feedback.
Your comments will be forwarded to the staff concerned.
Regards
Anita Tarry Customer Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guildford
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

the good parts-Leanne at reception who went was very helpful and pleasant, the hot water in bathroom which was dangerously hot (that's porbably a good and bad part), the toaser which was quick and browned toast evenly, the lack of noise from adjacent rooms, the new carpet

the bad points - male cleaner walked in while I was in toilet, yes I should have put chain on door but a knock would have been helpful, I asked same cleaner later on if I could have some more milk (only 2 capsules) he said there was none left, I expressed surprise but he confirmed none, fortunately Sainsburys only round the corner but a bit of a pain to have to go out again

I ordered room service, sandwich and chips which were shown as £1.50 on menu, when it arrived sandwich was on brown bread and not white, bill was more than I calculated but I assumed it was service charge so didn't tip, when I checked chips were charged at £2.95 and when will hotels realise that one tea bag in a pot will only give watery tea.

breakfast adequate but food rather cold as were the plates and still only one tea bag in the pot

note for next trip - take tea bags and milk

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babetteGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
We are sorry your found your visit disappointing, all relevant departments will be advised of your comments and immediate improvement will be made.
Supplies for the rooms ie tea bags, coffee and milk are always available on request from reception.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Regards
Anita Tarry/Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Solihull hotels

Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel initially on price and proximity to the NEC.
It priced to be a great choice.
All staff especially the restaurant staff gave us great service.
Food very well presented and tasty.
It's close proximity to shops and restaurants makes this hotel a perfect choice for visitors to the area.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angieb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to Ramada Solihull, the restaurant staff will be forwarded your very kind compliments!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Anita Tarry/Customer Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The big selling point of the Ramada Solihull (ex George Hotel) is its location, bang in the middle of Solihull and a stone's throw from all the major shopping amenities including the new(ish) Touchwood Centre and John Lewis. There is also free parking for hotel guests in the hotel's own car park, which is both handy and saves money and/or a walk.

The hotel itself is a more modern affair than the old exterior would suggest, and indeed all of the guest rooms are in a more recent low-level structure 'round the back', grouped round a pleasant bowling green. Much of this area has has a recent refurbishment, so everything looks and smells new, although bathrooms do not appear to have been upgraded.

The room was spacious, clean, well equipped and quiet, although there was some noise seepage from adjoining rooms. The bed was very comfortable, the room had tea/coffee facilities and a flat-screen TV, although this was annoyingly connected via a digibox, so there were ugly cables everywhere, and no instructions how to make everything work. Lighting was good, heating controls worked well and there was free wi-fi, although this was slow at times. I couldn't find the high-speed cable promised in the hotel guide, and had to ring up to find out how to connect the wi-fi, as this was not explained on check-in.

The reception desk seemed to be permanently under strain with a long queue waiting to check in, and slow progress. We were wrongly informed that breakfast was until 1100, so when we arrived to eat at 1015 found that almost everything had been taken away. Luckily staff knew that some people had been given the wrong information, so we had a hot breakfast cooked for us, but it was not the best start to the day.

Public areas all look a bit worn and tired, and could do with freshening up. The lifts speak annoyingly in American for some reason, with the ground floor being termed "Floor Zero". Easy to correct, I would have thought.

I did ask for an easily-accessible room because of my wife's current mobility problems, but this was apparently ignored by the hotel, which is a shame.

We would go back to the Ramada because of its location and because of the quality of the guest room.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite a hike from reception. Ask if you need something closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithmalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
We are pleased your enjoyed your stay and thank you for the excellent feedback which will enable us to make improvements, where possible.
Kind Regards
Anita Tarry/Customer Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I stayed here in a group of 20 for an ee training event. The way everyone was treated was amazing, the kitchen, bar, waitressing team and hotel staff where superb and made us felt at home. the rooms were clean and amazing. the service was the best I have ever seen making the best hotel experience we ever had. I cannot recommend this place enough.
Thank you everyone especially liz and the team.

Room Tip: no tip needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
It's always a pleasure to receive such a positive review, thank you!
Hopefully you will visit us again soon.
Kind Regards
Anita Tarry/Customer Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I have stayed in a lot of hotels in the past, however, none of which quite stand out as much as the Ramada Solihull. At first glance the exterior of the hotel does not look the best however this image could not be changed quickly enough. As soon as you enter the main doors you are greeted with a warm welcome from one of the friendly hotel staff, all of whom were fast and efficient at getting me checked in an escorted to my room. The rooms in general are very comfortable and pleasant, not the nicest but by far not the worst. The walls are not the thickest however this is not much of an issue as their seemed to be little late arrivals. The food in the hotel was enjoyable, the choice on the menu could have been better however all my meals were prepared quickly and tasted good. The bar within the hotel is very warm and had a typical "English" feel to it with a wide selection of alcoholic and soft drinks. The one thing that makes this hotel stand out over its local competitors like the Hilton is the level of service that you receive. One specific member of staff, Liz, was possibly one of the friendliest people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting, from the moment I met her she greeted me like an old friend. This has clearly influenced her fellow colleagues who all give a smile with every conversation. Furthermore, I furtherly enjoyed my stay and would definitely return again and recommend it to my friends and family. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidYule95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham Solihull, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
All the staff at Ramada are very customer service focused and to receive such praise is very much appreciated!
Liz and the team extend their thanks and hope to welcome you back very soon.
Kind Regards
Anita Tarry/Customer Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solihull hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 28 in Solihull
640 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 28 in Solihull
1,080 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#13 of 28 in Solihull
1,666 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
2.2 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Birmingham Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Birmingham Solihull

Property: Ramada Birmingham Solihull
Address: The Square, Solihull B91 3RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Birmingham Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Birmingham/Solihull (known locally as The George) started life as a 15th-century coaching inn and now mixes the old and the new around England's oldest crown bowling green. Ideally situated at the end of Solihull's high street with easy access to the M42, NEC and airport, the hotel offers the perfect destination for touring and relaxing in the heart of the West Midlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Birmingham Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Birmingham, Solihull Hotel Solihull
Ramada Solihull Birmingham
Solihull Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing