We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fawlty towers makes a come back”
Review of The Barns

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Barns
Ranked #44 of 49 Solihull B&B and Inns
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fawlty towers makes a come back”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at the barns last evening for one night.
We arrived at 5.30 was shown to our room. There was a broken TV under the
dressing table, this had been there a while as it was covered in dust. The
TV on the wall bracket was antiquated fuzzy viewing and old. I had a shower
and the shower head holder was not fit for purpose and flooded to place as
u had to hold it in your hand. I asked for a hair dryer and they is not
have any only a heated roller brush which was full with hair. Tea bags were
in an open plastic bag with two stained chipped cups. Then for breakfast,
cheap branded cereal , torn bread for toast and on passing the open door of
the kitchen to see to mess and disarray we passed on a cooked meal.
Then we ask for a vat invoice to be told no we are not vat registered and
it's £70.00 we were disgusted that we could not claim the vat back on this
bad experience just added insult to injury!
Never again ! I will never go back.

Room Tip: No I think they are all the same lots of aircraft noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 120Marion_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    6
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Umm had a one night stay after visiting NEC, found place eventually, was welcomed (exagerated ) by an elderly lady, told this is your room , have you been before (no) so here is the breakfast room then she disappeared. No leaflets around about the area, where to eat etc. no residents lounge so wondering where to go, eventually found a lovely pub, cups not matching on tea / Coffee tray , oh and magazines left to read would have Been nice to have up to date reads but no 2010 .Dust all over room especially top of TV which creaked your neck to see as so high up. Dust on dressing table, and on wardrobe . Which had at least 3. Broken hangers and a left over dressing gown in the bottom, left from previous guest no doubt, as was the dirty sock left in the dressing table drawer. Mattress so thin and uncomfortable like sleeping on a board, we had a terrible nights sleep. Oh and we do like a Duvet not sheets and blankets, so looking forward to a farmhouse hearty breakfast , no that didn't happen either, the eggs were good sausage supermarket value pack yuk. Very disappointed , no we won't be back , and certainly not worth the money.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LandH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Solihull hotels

Crawley Down
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed one night here whilst visiting relatives in the Solihull area. We stayed in a lovely, roomy family room which was comfortable, clean and warm. We had an excellent breakfast and were well looked after by Keri the owner. We will definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands - ~England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed at the lovely b@b which is on a working farm, for a wedding at the hampton manor. Kerry the owner was so welcoming and made our stay so enjoyable. I have walking problems and Kerry could not have been more helpful. From making sure we had a walk in shower to putting an extra heater in the room when I was not feeling very well. The breakfast on the two days we stayed was just perfect, nothing was to much trouble even when asking for warm milk for the coffee. I would recommend the barns to everyone whether flying from Birmingham airport, just having a nice break or like us staying due to a wedding close by. Thanks Kerry.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westmids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARLISLE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed at this B&B as we were attending a wedding and the reception was being held at nearby Hampton Manor. The location is really convienient as it is not far from the motorway and yet it still feels rural.The owner could not have been any more helpul or friendly and even drove us to the reception venue!! Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean.Our full English breakfast was fantastic. Owner was happy to cater for my gluten free diet without any difficulty. This B&B would be ideal for anyone visiting an event at the NEC. We are already planning our next trip to do just that!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dellredmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Owner was very helpful in talking me down the lane to the house and the accommodation. Accommodation is around the back of the main house as you enter the property drive with a reassuring security gate at the front of the property. Room was spacious and a little cold. Venue is close to Birmingham Airport so it is well placed for travellers and those off to the NEC. Initially I was aware of the thrust of aircraft taking off however this didn't affect my sleep quality.

The owner was prompt in addressing an issue with the room when asked.

Breakfast in the morning was a little drafty from the door being opened to serve etc however this was a minor issue in the scheme of things.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ripleytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We booked this b&b for one night as we were going to the caravan show at the NEC. The room was huge even though there were just two of us. Perfect for families as it had a double and two singles with a curtain partition. Tea and coffee facilities were great. The owners were so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic. A lovely cooked variety and plenty of other choices too. I really couldn't fault it in any way.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dw1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solihull
0.6 mi away
The White Lion Inn
The White Lion Inn
#2 of 2 in Hampton-in-Arden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Glenlyon Bed and Breakfast
Glenlyon Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Hampton-in-Arden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barns

Property: The Barns
Address: Shadowbrook Lane, Hampton in Arden, Solihull B92 0DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Solihull
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing