We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant under the circumstances”
Review of Tri-Star Hotel

Tri-Star Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tri-Star Hotel
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Brilliant under the circumstances”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed here in Feb 2009 when I became to ill to drive. I should have ended up in Leicester this night

My room was clean and comfortable, and not noisy despite being right next to BHX. I was also very glad it was out of season and they were not full.

In the morning I had recovered sufficiently to eat what I recall was a good hearty breakfast, and the hotel only let me back on the road later in the day when feeling much better, as opposed to chucking me out by midday.

Of course the price wasn't of paramount importance to me under the circumstances but it wasn't bank-breaking.

I will always remember this kind hospitality that the Tri Star hotel provided and would consider it if ever flying from BHX (Rare though as I have MAN and LHR both at my disposal!)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    23
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
22
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel when visiting NEC. Really friendly and helpful staff. nothing too much trouble. We would stay again without hestitaion.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Stayed here recently whilst working away, Nigel & Philomena were excellent hosts and the hotel was lovely and clean! Would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J011yD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We booked this hotel for one night as we were going to an exhibition at the NEC. The hotel was basic but very clean and the staff friendly and welcoming. We arrived back from the NEC and had a few drinks and some food in the bar. The food was freshly cooked to order and well priced. Breakfast again was freshly cooked and there was also a range of cereals available. The hotel was about 5 minutes drive from the NEC and is next door to Birmingham Airport so if your need a stop over for either I would defiantly recommend the Tri Star Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManchesterBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We were attending an Awards Presentation Dinner locally and this Hotel was a wise choice. Although we could see and hear the planes taking off, it did not spoil our stay. The twin room at the back of the hotel was clean and comfortable. There is a small bar, games room and a relaxing lounge area to chill out in. Breakfast was a feast!! Really set us up for the day. We will most certainly stay at this hotel again, if you are looking for a more lively and noisy hotel forget this one as this is the opposite!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Babybell08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Whilst exhibiting at the NEC, we decided to avoid the traditional hotel chains in the locality and go for a privately owned establishment. Good idea. 

The hotel is situated a 5 minute drive from the exhibition centre, which was both easy to get to and allowed a lie in and later start the following day; recognising the grid locked peak time traffic in the locality which would of otherwise been encountered with a city centre location  

The negative is that a taxi ride is essential in the evening for food and entertainment, albeit in the quieter traffic periods. There is nothing in walking distance, but the hotel does do evening meals which, judging by the quality of breakfast, would be freshly prepared with great produce. We ate out. 

Rooms are small but clean with fresh, white bed lined, TV and coffee making facilities. The en-suite bathrooms are again compact but clean with plenty of fresh towels. 

Service was personal and exceptional friendly, with a TV lounge, pool table and small licensed bar area. 

Breakfast was a real treat. 

Located right next to the airport , the planes were clearly visible taxiing by, but the noise was not a problem, helped by triple glazing. 

Plenty of free parking with a weekly charge of £15 for airport users. 

In summary, a friendly hotel which represented great value for money and only 5 minutes drive from the airport / exhibition centre. I would certainly return. 

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick_From_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Stayed at the Tristar recently with my partner. It is a small family run hotel. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are lovely and clean. Really convenient as a stopover if you are flying from Birmingham airport, in fact you can actually see the planes taking off the runway from the rooms at the back of the hotel (great for plane spotting!) Breakfast was lovely too. We will definately return to the Tristar again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Farleywillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solihull
1.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#42 of 117 in Birmingham
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
2,362 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
1,795 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tri-Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tri-Star Hotel

Property: Tri-Star Hotel
Address: Coventry Rd | Elmdon, Solihull B26 3QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tri-Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tri-Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing