We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Tri-Star Hotel

Tri-Star Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tri-Star Hotel
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Clean room with a nice bathroom, and a very comfy bed. Polite and pleasant staff; easily booked over the phone, warmly welcomed at arrival, and was served a delicious breakfast next morning. Great location - close to airport and city. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlad1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    23
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
22
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst at a conference in NEC. The staff are brilliant, cannot fault them. The hotel is a little noisy from the aircraft but the triple glazing helps considerably. Breakfast is excellent, rooms average size and all was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

After checking in and out of the adjacent Holiday Inn within a 1 1/2 hr period due to insufficient heating in our allocated room, and suffering apalling customer service from the Holiday Inn Duty Manager, the Tri-Star was just what we needed! A warm welcome awaited with friendly polite staff. we explained how we had just left the Holiday Inn and the chap, bless him, provided us with an additional radiator just in case! There was no need - our room was cosy, triple glazed to reduce the noise from aircraft to a surprisingly quiet level, it was clean and the decor was modern and fresh. Nothing was too much trouble and we relaxed as if we were at home. We had a very nicely cooked evening meal; full English breakfast was included in the price which was cheaper than just a room at the holiday Inn! Much better value, well located. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Small hotel, ours despite being at the back nearest the runway was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Staff were excellent from beginning to end of stay very attentive.
Rooms had paper thin walls and if you are unlucky and get a snorer in the next room or revellers across the hall your in for a rough nights sleep. That said the noise of the aeoplanes was minimal compared to the buzzer on reception.
Breakfast was good although some items were out such as milk when arrived.
Great location for the LG Arena.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelixFosters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
499 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The wife and I stayed here for one night whilst visiting the NEC. It was a very good price and included breakfast and parking. It was easy to find and there was plenty of parking. I found the hotel to be more of an up market bed and breakfast really. Room was basic but clean and comfortable and had the usual amenities including tea and coffee etc. This is a family run establishment and the owners we met were friendly enough and very helpful. We had a view of the airport from our room, the hotel being about 400m from the runway, so I ended up watching the planes. It was great. Hotel is about a mile from the airport, rail station, NEC etc. Believe a bus runs past the hotel about every twenty minutes. They might even be able to arrange pick up or drop off for you. It was very good for the price we paid. On point of note, if you want a room with a view if the airport then phone them and book as they tend to go very quickly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We needed a comfortable double room close to Birmingham airport for 1 night at the end of a 5 week "holiday" that was beset with illness and annoyances. This small, family run hotel was a welcome relief. We didn't want the various facilities available at the larger airport hotels - just something quiet, warm, clean and welcoming - and, almost by accident, we found it at the Tri Star. And you really do have to find it, as it is unobtrusively tucked away and apparently not well known to taxi drivers. Even our Satnav had some difficulty. But it was certainly worth finding, because it was exactly what we wanted. Lovely, tremendously helpful people running the place, everything neat and clean, decent food at reasonable prices, lots of free parking and free Wifi. Ok, it's situated at the side of a very busy road, but our ground floor room faced towards it and was amazingly quiet. No frills, but comfortable and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welltravelled63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2012

we stayed here for one night for our anniversary and birthday , stayed mainly so we could watch the airport it was amazing the views were fab and the room was lovely , the breakfast was excellent as was the staff were 100& 10 % it under sells itself on this website . will definately stay there again ,

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solihull
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#36 of 117 in Birmingham
1,069 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Sheldon
1.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
1.1 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tri-Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tri-Star Hotel

Property: Tri-Star Hotel
Address: Coventry Rd | Elmdon, Solihull B26 3QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tri-Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Tri-Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing