We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Tri-Star Hotel

Tri-Star Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tri-Star Hotel
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Reviewed 4 May 2013

What a fab hotel. This is ideally placed for anyone visiting Birmingham, visiting NEC or flying from Birmingham Airport, these being just a couple of minutes away from the hotel. We stayed here as we were going to the NEC. The hotel offers excellent customer service, great food and the room we stayed in although small was more than adequate for what we needed. The room we had overlooked the airport giving a great view of the air traffic. Would definitely recommend this hotel and we will no doubt be staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Tri-Star Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

Clean room with a nice bathroom, and a very comfy bed. Polite and pleasant staff; easily booked over the phone, warmly welcomed at arrival, and was served a delicious breakfast next morning. Great location - close to airport and city. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vlad1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst at a conference in NEC. The staff are brilliant, cannot fault them. The hotel is a little noisy from the aircraft but the triple glazing helps considerably. Breakfast is excellent, rooms average size and all was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

After checking in and out of the adjacent Holiday Inn within a 1 1/2 hr period due to insufficient heating in our allocated room, and suffering apalling customer service from the Holiday Inn Duty Manager, the Tri-Star was just what we needed! A warm welcome awaited with friendly polite staff. we explained how we had just left the Holiday Inn and the chap, bless him, provided us with an additional radiator just in case! There was no need - our room was cosy, triple glazed to reduce the noise from aircraft to a surprisingly quiet level, it was clean and the decor was modern and fresh. Nothing was too much trouble and we relaxed as if we were at home. We had a very nicely cooked evening meal; full English breakfast was included in the price which was cheaper than just a room at the holiday Inn! Much better value, well located. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Small hotel, ours despite being at the back nearest the runway was quiet
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Staff were excellent from beginning to end of stay very attentive.
Rooms had paper thin walls and if you are unlucky and get a snorer in the next room or revellers across the hall your in for a rough nights sleep. That said the noise of the aeoplanes was minimal compared to the buzzer on reception.
Breakfast was good although some items were out such as milk when arrived.
Great location for the LG Arena.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FelixFosters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The wife and I stayed here for one night whilst visiting the NEC. It was a very good price and included breakfast and parking. It was easy to find and there was plenty of parking. I found the hotel to be more of an up market bed and breakfast really. Room was basic but clean and comfortable and had the usual amenities including tea and coffee etc. This is a family run establishment and the owners we met were friendly enough and very helpful. We had a view of the airport from our room, the hotel being about 400m from the runway, so I ended up watching the planes. It was great. Hotel is about a mile from the airport, rail station, NEC etc. Believe a bus runs past the hotel about every twenty minutes. They might even be able to arrange pick up or drop off for you. It was very good for the price we paid. On point of note, if you want a room with a view if the airport then phone them and book as they tend to go very quickly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We needed a comfortable double room close to Birmingham airport for 1 night at the end of a 5 week "holiday" that was beset with illness and annoyances. This small, family run hotel was a welcome relief. We didn't want the various facilities available at the larger airport hotels - just something quiet, warm, clean and welcoming - and, almost by accident, we found it at the Tri Star. And you really do have to find it, as it is unobtrusively tucked away and apparently not well known to taxi drivers. Even our Satnav had some difficulty. But it was certainly worth finding, because it was exactly what we wanted. Lovely, tremendously helpful people running the place, everything neat and clean, decent food at reasonable prices, lots of free parking and free Wifi. Ok, it's situated at the side of a very busy road, but our ground floor room faced towards it and was amazingly quiet. No frills, but comfortable and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welltravelled63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solihull
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
1,115 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
1,854 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tri-Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tri-Star Hotel

Address: Coventry Rd | Elmdon, Solihull B26 3QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Price Range: £74 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tri-Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Tri-Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing