We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked All Of My Boxes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tri-Star Hotel

Tri-Star Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tri-Star Hotel
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Solihull
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ticked All Of My Boxes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I hardly need to add to the other positive reviews of the Tri-star. Everything worked, reception was efficient both in and out, that place was clean without being clinical (it even survived the finger-across-the-top-of-the-wardrobe test). The triple glazing kept out the noise of aircraft (not that there are many from BHX). The rear car park is ample, the room was comfortable and service excellent. This place is definitely run by people who recognise the connection between the guest and their pay packet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeMayUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
22
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Have been to this little family run hotel on many occassions espeacially when am traveling back to belfast to visit family. The family run business beats any hotel chain around the area 1-2-1 conversation given and service excellent. Rooms are very comfortable and cosy, Airport less than 3 minutes away . Top choice guys, thanks to the family that run the tristar .... excellent guys well done.

Room Tip: if your leaving early morning tell the staff they leave you a cool choice to make yourself before yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmuch2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Five of us stayed at this hotel which is right next to the Airport while at the Autosport 2014 show.

I booked directly with the hotel and email communications were perfect. The hotel is a 5 minute bus ride from the terminal. Take the 900 (every 7 minutes during peak time) towards Birmingham City Centre and ask driver to be dropped at "The Gables". Be careful crossing the busy dual carriageway!!

Rooms were clean and well sound insulated so you are not bothered by the aircraft noise. Great full english breakfast in the morning and cute little snug bar for the last one of the evening.

Would definately stay there again!

TIP: Buy a GROUP DAYSAVER ticket on the 900 bus which gives all day travel on all B'ham buses for up to five people. It only costs £8 which is great value for money and cheaper than 5 single tickets!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

This hotel is just great! There were six of us (3 couples) in our group and we needed a hotel near to the NEC. The hotel is situated right on the main road and at the end of the runway at Birmingham airport!!! But don't worry there was no noise at all. Triple glazing worked a treat. Rooms clean and tidy and big enough. There was also a great bar , lounge with TV where we had a night cap after the show. Excellent menu available although we ate out at The Boat pub which was recommended by the lovely owners of the hotel. The breakfast was awesome, tea,coffee cereal, juice full English. Delicious. You could actually see the planes taking off whilst having your breakfast...but no noise !!! I would definitely stay here again and it's absolutely brilliant value for money. Far better than the chain hotels nearby. Lovely Irish lady running the place, and I'm very sorry I can't remember her name. Recommend ? Yes , absolutely!

Room Tip: I don't know if there was a fitness centre there and I had to click something !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Lovely family run hotel, defiantly value for money!, Rooms were small but didn't matter to us as was only a matter of sleeping over night we spent the evening in the bar which was a lovely calm atmosphere, although the airport is situated directly behind the hotel and can see the planes taking off you cant hear the noise surprisingly, Everywhere was very clean and modern, we stayed for 1 night while visiting NEC for Horse Of Year Show, Staff really made the effort to speak to us and make us feel welcome and fished us a few takeaway menus out as we got there after the meals had stopped (although staff offered to make us a sandwich we fancied a takeaway, but we appreciated the gesture), Breakfast was lovely, Will definatly be booking for HOYS next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val_steve_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

stayed for only one night a couple of weeks back when attending neil young concert at lg arena great find lovely irish lady and son could not have been more helpful said owner even gave us a lift to a nearby pub/restaurant boat inn i recall great choice so we could have meal and drinks and get to gig on time would highly recommend and will definately stay here again if visiting lg/nec or flying from birmingham airport great view near to tower triple glazed so minimal aircraft noise unlessyou open window of course also with added bonus of a hearty /delicious breakfast so glad we chose this over a chain hotel and very good value for money

Room Tip: room sixteen had a great view of runway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonandSteve730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed one night at the Tri-Star hotel while visiting the NEC for a concert. The hotel was a great place to relax before the concert, the staff were charming and dedicated to making our stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. the room was clean and well appointed with plenty of clean white fluffy towels and tea and coffee making facilities and the bed was big and comfy. I can't fault this hotel in any way. the breakfast was well cooked, hot and delicious. We enjoyed watching the planes taking off nearby but the noise did not get through to our room where we slept well. A friendly atmosphere and a very well kept hotel. we will be staying again when we visit Birmingham in the future and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy1953186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solihull
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
1.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
1.0 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
1.6 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tri-Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tri-Star Hotel

Property: Tri-Star Hotel
Address: Coventry Rd | Elmdon, Solihull B26 3QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tri-Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing