We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gayton B&B

Gayton B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gayton B&B
Ranked #21 of 49 Solihull B&B and Inns
Havant, Hants UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed with John and his partner for 2 nights to attend a conference at the NEC. I arrived late due to traffic on the drive up from Portsmouth. They were both very understanding and they provided a meal for me as they were aware nowhere would be open at the time I arrived, a very delicious home cooked Chicken Stew.

The breakfast was wonderful, the room was spotlessly clean and when I thought I'd left my purse at home John lent me £20 to get to the NEC and buy some lunch Not many people would have done that!

Yes, there is a shared bathroom but not once did I have to wait to use it.

The location is superb for the 1 stop train journey to the NEC.

I have already recommended this great family run B & B to friends and colleagues and will definately be staying there again for the conference next year! But I know I'll have to book early as it is very popular.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleyalpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    2
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
8
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

A great find very close to hampton manor where we had a wedding ! Two min drive and probably less than a 10 min walk! Very welcoming and the room was lovely, impeccably clean and very light and airy! Breakfast was delicious and left feeling suitable stuffed! Thank you , will stay again. Great base for Birmingham as less than two minutes from the train station!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roonerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I go to the NEC regularly to visit trade shows. I chose to stay at John's B&B for two nights, because of its close proximity to NEC, it is only 3 minutes away on the train from NEC and the train ticket only cost 1.9 pounds each way. During my stay at John's B&B, I was more than pleased with the hospitality that I received. John went out of the way to make sure I am well looked after and all my needs are met. Throughout my stay, I was made feel so welcome and so at home. Due to the late train arrival on Sunday night, John kindly offered to pick me up at NEC. His partner and he cooked me lovely breakfast every morning. They are ever so friendly and accommodating. The house is a hidden gem, it is tastefully decorated, and the rooms are very spacious, comfortable and clean indeed, and only 2 minutes walk to the Hampton-in-Arden train station. I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone who travels to NEC or Birmingham.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justjen1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Harwood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

A room was booked for a business trip for a colleague travelling with our Director to the Waste Recycling convention in Birmingham. We were asked a time of arrival on the day, which we gave as 5.30pm. On the day, my colleagues finished earlier and arrived at the B & B earlier than anticipated. The B & B was locked up and we tried phoning the B & B on and off for an hour and a half, with no luck. It was pouring down with rain and my colleague gave up in frustration and left at 6.10pm as nobody had arrived, despite us saying 5.30pm arrival. My colleague came home, missing the second day of the conference.
I phoned the B & B the next day and spoke to John who was most unhelpful and rude. I was told that I was lying about the arrival times and telephone calls and that I in fact had spoilt his night as he waited in all night for our arrival.
I cannot comment on the accommodation or services offered as we didn't get to sample them. All I will say is that John's customer service was appalling.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank suzanne74daly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed for one night whilst seeing a show at the NEC. Station was a 5 min walk if that and NEC is the next stop along. Very convenient! The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast lovely and the hosts were very accomodating. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

John was very friendly and location is great for nec. Station 2mins walk from his house and nec is next stop. Journey takes 3 mins if that! However, you are essentially sleeping over on a couples home so use of the bathroom in the morning could be problematic with owners and guests vying for the shower at the same time! Breakfast was delicious and the cake. But i arrived late as I struggled to find it in the dark.... I was looking for b&b signs, but instead pulled up to a home in a tucked away residential street, so felt like I was intruding essentially. I didn't expect this but then again I'm not paying hotel prices so I shouldn't face expected a reception desk when I walked into the landing a living room. Overall basic rooms but free wifi is a necessity as there is next to NO signal in the house with certain mobile providers- but not the owners fault .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cake4k3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Just stayed here for three nights. John is just fab, very friendly, very easy going, very funny. Had the full cooked breakfast with propper sauge and bacon, egg was always perfect.

I was visiting the NEC, which was about 10 mins drive max with no traffic. There is a train station stright to the NEC within a five min walk.

Overall clean, spacious room and lovely owner. Would definately stay again.

ps gave me home made lemon cake when I arrived !!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heycorinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solihull
0.5 mi away
The White Lion Inn
The White Lion Inn
#2 of 2 in Hampton-in-Arden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Glenlyon Bed and Breakfast
Glenlyon Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Hampton-in-Arden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Church Farm Accommodation
Church Farm Accommodation
#1 of 3 in Bickenhill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
5.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hay Lane Lodge
#34 of 49 in Solihull
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
3.2 mi away
Achill Guest House
Achill Guest House
#3 of 5 in Knowle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gayton B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gayton B&B

Property: Gayton B&B
Address: 34 Meriden Road, Solihull B92 0BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gayton B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gayton B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing