We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GJI”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Solihull
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 53 Solihull B&B and Inns
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“GJI”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Beautiful home and grounds with a warm welcome from the owners. Excellent breakfast and good pub/restaurant in walking distance. Easy access to Birmingham city via train station and short drive to NEC.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJIrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane E, Owner at Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again.
Best wishes,
John & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
17
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conwy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The hosts were very welcoming to their lovely rural home. Rooms are accessed by a very grand staircase and the one I stayed in large, comfortably furnished, and very quiet.

Breakfast was great and was a good start to my day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane E, Owner at Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us Michael, glad you enjoyed your visit and hopefully see you again.
Regards,
John and Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I am not surprised by the glowing testimony of all their reviews. Jane and John go that extra league not just mile for their guests. What with John ensuring I could drive in the morning by deicing my windscreen and Jane ensuring I ate at lunchtime by making me sandwiches each day. I arrived 'home' to find my bedroom lamps on and all my furniture and clothing magically neatly titied in such a welcoming and inviting way. It really was home away from home and because I couldn't face going out to dinner in the evening I was welcomed to reheat dinner each evening for which I was very grateful.
I would advise ANYONE working or visiting the area to spurn the usual hotels and come and be pampered by the kindest most thoughtful hosts who are litterally 10 minutes drive from the NEC.

Room Tip: I've only stayed in one and it was just perfect with 2 arm chairs and very welcoming and comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perdy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane E, Owner at Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your very kind remarks, glad that we made your stay so enjoyable.
Best wishes, John and Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butembo, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Simply a joy staying here as I have a couple of times recently, and will continue to do, to alleviate the misery of exhibiting at the NEC.
Try the Malt Shovel just down the road for food....Fish City.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tacobblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane E, Owner at Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Many thanks for staying with us again and for a great review.
Best wishes,
John & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our company has attended the NEC every June for the past 4 years and every year stayed with Jane and John in their superb house. After a long day on the stand at the NEC, to sit down with a cup of tea in their garden and rest our weary feet is absolute heaven. In the evening, dinner at The Bulls Head with superb beers and food is the perfect end to each day. Breakfast is beautifully cooked and keeps us going all day on the stand. The NEC is 10 minutes drive away and staying at the Gatehouse is very convenient for business visitors. We are back in 2014 for MACH which is in April and a 5 day show and possibly Subcon for 3 days in June, we have our accomodation booking already confirmed, thanks to Jane and John!

Room Tip: Overlooking the superb garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane E, Owner at Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review, and we looking forward to welcoming you to The Gate House in April.
Best wishes,
John & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

What a great place to stay! Beautiful house and gardens overlooking rolling countryside ... You'd never guess you were so close to the NEC!

Jane & John are so welcoming and with an excellent breakfast every morning you're set up for the day! The rooms are spacious, comfortable and immaculate.

Couldn't ask for more and hope to be back in the not too distant future. Couldn't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane E, Owner at Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review, and we looking forward to welcoming you to The Gate House in April.
Best wishes,
John & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

If you are looking for a civilised place to stay near Solihull, you could not do better than The Gatehouse B&B. The house is in a beautiful setting, the rooms are comfortable and inviting, and you are assured of a very warm welcome from Jane and John. Jane's breakfasts, which are always freshly prepared using local produce and are served in the elegant dining room, are guaranteed to set you up for the day ahead. There are two pubs within walking distance, each offering a different take on eating and drinking, but both excellent. What more could one ask for in a B&B?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajsblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solihull hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Manor
Hampton Manor
#1 of 2 in Hampton-in-Arden
387 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Balsall Common (Near Nec) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Barncroft Guest House
Barncroft Guest House
#1 of 3 in Hampton-in-Arden
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Woodlands Bed & Breakfast
Woodlands Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 53 in Solihull
70 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Stables- Deer Park Farm
1.6 mi away
Achill Guest House
Achill Guest House
#3 of 5 in Knowle
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gatehouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: Barston Lane | Barston, Solihull B92 0JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gatehouse in the quiet village of Barston, Solihull, is a Bed and Breakfast Guesthouse.Its early Victorian features have been given a modern makeover attracting many repeat bookings for its owner who has run the Bed and Breakfast business for more than twenty years.Set in well-cared for grounds providing ample parking behind automatic gates, the Gatehouse offers a comfortable stay for those visitors who require a bed and breakfast in the Solihull area with full English or continental breakfasts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing