We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What has happened to Prets?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pret A Manger

Pret A Manger
Ranked #80 of 293 Restaurants in Solihull
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups, Fast food, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Warwick,
Level Contributor
178 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“What has happened to Prets?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

For us, a 20 mile drive for shopping at Solihull, was always accompanied by a light lunch at Pret's. This, in truth was often the justification for going. Pret's always delivered wonderful, fresh food - which it still does, and exceptional service with smiling, friendly staff - which it no longer does. Something seems to have happened in that the staff, instead of being noticeably different from the average "coffee bar" staff, have now lost their smiles, their enthusiasm, and their positive attitude, and the place has a very different feel from that of a few months ago.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tracerWarwick_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    22
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Slick Branding That Delivers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I often pop into Pret for a takeaway coffee or a sit down drink & snack. You are greeted by a bank of 3 or 4 tills, usually very adequately manned. On the approach to the tills there are packaged sandwiches, salads, fruit, crisps, cake and some hot items e.g cheese & tomato croissants. At the counter there are baked items such as bakewell tarts (often still delightfully warm), chocolate croissants (again, often slightly warm so that the Belgian style chocolate inside is still melted), muffins, pain au raisin etc. They also sell a selection of hot soups. The coffee is good & although very slightly strong for my naive tastebuds, they are always happy to prepare me a weak latte, at my request.
Service is usually very quick & friendly and there is often somewhere to sit. Additional seating is provided upstairs.
The sandwiches always taste as fresh as they say they are. They don't put sell by dates on things & at the end of each day, all leftover sandwiches and salad is given to charities working with the homeless. I particularly like the fact that they offer "slim" sandwiches e.g made from just one piece of bread, as this is often plenty for me. I love the crayfish filling.
Their branding is very smart and appears to promise good quality, which I feel is delivered. Well worth a regular stop for a treat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DandB2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Great Sandwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Fresh they are, tasty they certainly are and well filled with fresh ingredients, they most certainly are - Pret makes great sandwiches. The shelves are re-stacked regularly from what I think is an upstairs kitchen. Pret have stuck to their original principles since they were established and these values adorn the walls of the restaurant and on their packaging. Good fresh food sourced from natural suppliers!

The staff in Solihull are efficient, polite and quick in serving you. I love their club sandwich and their tuna one too. My wife loves their crayfish salad. Such a pity they sell those crisps that are so hard you can shave your legs with them - if I ever shaved my legs that is!

I recommend this branch, particularly if you are in a hurry. But Pret is not cheap.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“avocado wrap heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Wonderful avocado wrap which I sometimes treat myself to when shopping in solihull.
Lovely, squidgey, pine nut, cheesey, avocado bliss... mmmm!
Always good quick service here regardless of if taking away or eating in.
Have weaned teenage daughter onto their wraps and sarnies so I can go more often!
At least they have good veggie options - including soups.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cliqmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Very welcoming staff and most efficient service. The food and drinks were served quickly, the quality was excellent and a most reasonable cost.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RGK027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pret A Manger also viewed

Solihull, West Midlands
Solihull, West Midlands
 
Solihull, West Midlands
Solihull, West Midlands
 
Solihull, West Midlands
Shirley, Solihull
 

Been to Pret A Manger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing