We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food but slow service”

The Plough Beefeater
Ranked #135 of 293 Restaurants in Solihull
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Food but slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The beefeater is a very pleasant restaurant, the menu is varied giving adequate choice for most people
It is ideal to go out to meet friends or with the family
The wine list is good for every day drinking & is served at the correct temperature
The seating comfortable & the staff always pleasant & helpful
Their reward programme is a good bonus
The only real downside is that there never seem to be enough staff & those that are there are running around trying to do their best for everyone & not always succeeding - this makes the service slow which spoils the occasion
The toilets could do with updating & are not always as clean as they should be
All in all it deserves 4 stars but could earn 5 stars with some improvements

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foolsgold55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    86
    59
    59
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“First class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

My daughter took me on a belated Father's Day meal
the atmosphere was exceptional and the food was great thoroughly enjoyed it

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank selsey-spicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Definite decline in standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My Mother, Daughter and i visited here yesterday for lunch and to say we're disappointed was an understatement. Considering it wasn't remotely busy when we arrived you'd think the service would be exceptional but unfortunately it was not up to previous standards.

Firstly my starter was in correct to they quickly tried to fire the breaded mushrooms but these were cold in the middle and hardly edible. My daughters tomato pasta was not tasty at all and she wouldn't eat it. The lasagnes that both me and my Mother ordered where weirdly presented and had hardly any actual meat in them. Needless to say we did not stick around for dessert. The waitress on the other hand tried.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yarniedeboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

If you want what you ask 4 go next door Cuz the plough is v. Poor waited half hour for dessert to be told we dont have vanilla ice cream. That was after an hour waiting for a double burger which half was missing. This was on a very quiet Tuesday.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davidhop11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Late change of plan”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Visited the plough Sunday lunch, as the weather was gorgeous we planned to eat out side, and we arrived early to choose a suitable table. However when we arrived the outside tables were disgustingly dirty covered with bird droppings cigarette butts down the cracks of the table,it was obvious these tables and seats had not been cleaned for wks. litter everywhere. We then went inside and ordered our food which to be fair was ok. The service by Janet who had apparently been at the restaurant for fourth yrs was seamless. Although even the table we were seated was also very sticky, most uncomfortable. Don't think I will be going again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tedbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough Beefeater also viewed

Solihull, West Midlands
 
Shirley, Solihull
 

Been to The Plough Beefeater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing