We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large, clean room and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Solihull
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Large, clean room and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We had 1 nights stay at this premier inn got to say its the nicest one we have stayed at. We ate at the plough opposite the hotel a lovely evening meal and a great breakfast with lots of choice and kids eat free. Brilliant value for money and the staff were so pleasant and happy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beeStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay at Premier Inn. The team here at Solihull South take pride in providing the best service possible to our guests, and we are delighted to hear your stay with us was so enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull South in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    110
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
98
89
11
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Fantastic Standard as always from the Premier Inn - especially for a motorway hotel. Breakfast was great and all the staff were very helpful. Genuinely can't fault my stay at all. I wish they did a points system though

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is a delight for the team to hear they were able to make your time with us such a wonderful experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull South in the future,

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Family room for one night,one of the best Premier Inn stays we have had.Room was a good size and spotlessly clean with very comfy beds.Very quiet and all had a good night's sleep.All staff were very friendly and helpful both in the hotel and in the restaurant for breakfast.Room was hot but a fan had been provided to cool it down a bit before bedtime,great thinking!Will definitely use again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay here. The team at Solihull South strive to provide the best service possible at all times, and are delighted to hear we were able to make your stay so enjoyable on this occasion. Please note your lovely comments regarding the restaurant have been passed on.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull South in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Donegal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We recently stayed for two nights in Solihull while visiting family in the area. This was our first stay in a Premier Inn and we were very pleased with the overall experience. The service is excellent and efficient while still being friendly and relaxing. The room was very clean and comfortable and the beds are superb. Only comment would be that only one armchair is provided in a room for two people.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeakyCoDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and thank you for your lovely comments. The team here at Solihull South are delighted to hear they could make your stay so enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull South in the future,

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently to split our journey from Scotland to London & I was pleased with everything about this premier inn.
Even though I've never driven in this area & don't use a sat nav (I hate the things) a quick read at the directions & a look at bing maps had me there with no problems at all.
We arrived about ten at night but got parked no problem & the nice lady at reception had us checked in & in our room very quickly, which allowed the driver (me) to walk over to the adjacent pub/restaurant and grab a quick beer. Which went down a treat after 5 hours of "are we there yet".
It's one of those standard places for food & drink and it was huge so as long as you get there before closing time (11pm the night we were there) then you will be able to quench your thirst & grab some food no problem.
The family room we had was clean & spacious, the bed was very comfortable & we had a good nights sleep before heading off to London in the morning.
I'd recommend this place as a good stopover point (we stayed in the Hockley Heath PI on the way back & I preferred the Solihull South one, not much of a difference in them just my opinion) and I would stay here again if I'm back in the area.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments; the team here at Solihull South are pleased to hear you found the hotel with ease and the stay so relaxing. Please note your praise of the room has been passed on to the housekeeping team who strive to provide the best service they can daily.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull South in the future,

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have not ever stayed at a bad premier, this is one of the best ,good location ,just off the m42,rooms very clean and comfortable, staff great , restaurant and bar very reasonable prices and a good varied menu.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westham1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay at Premier Inn. The team and myself are delighted to hear we could make your time here so enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull South in the future,

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This was our first visit to a Premier Inn hotel and was a much better experience than some of the other budget hotel chains. The staff on reception were really friendly, helpful and the check-in process was nice and smooth.
Our family room on the ground floor was massive which was great, the room and bathroom were both really well maintained, very clean. The bed was lovely and comfortable and the TV was one of the best I've had in any hotel no matter what the price.
One minor criticism was that it was not possible to reduce the temperature of the room via the controls and it did get quite warm on the night but for the price we paid it was excellent value for money especially as the following evening we stayed in a different hotel at £100 more per night and on a par with the experience at the Premier Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JK-HKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull S, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

Our team pride ourselves in delivering clean and comfortable rooms and providing a World Class service, so reviews like yours are always a pleasure to read.

With regards to your heating system, we will now investigate this with our maintanance team to prevent similar incidents occurring to future guests.

We do hope that your first stay with us will not be your last and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solihull hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull (Hockley Heath, M42) Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull Town Centre Hotel
1.0 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel
Address: Stratford Road, Solihull B90 4EP, England (Formerly Premier Inn Solihull - Shirley)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Solihull
#10 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quiet spot is handy for big acts at the NEC, Birmingham Airport and many local golf courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing