We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 circles for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Solihull
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“5 circles for what you get”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed here with Wife as a stop over while en route to the Lake district. Stayed at Premier Inns before and always find that you get for what you pay for. Sometimes this expression is used in a derogatory sense but not here. For £39 we had a clean and well laid out room, a comfortable bed and a bathroom which served it's purpose very well. The two receptionists we encountered, one at check in and one when we left were very professional, looked genuinely happy to see you and, even though we didn't have anything we needed in addition to the room, felt that they would have happily dealt with any requests with a smile.
Nipped across to the Harvester for a drink after we dropped our bags off and served a decent pint of Guinness. They serve food up until 10pm and you can book a table with reception. Breakfast looked tempting at around £8 for an all you can eat buffet style but left early so didn't try it.
Would definitely stay here again as only 2 minutes off the M42 so broke up our journey perfectly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fruitnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Solihull South M42, it is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. The team here at Solihull South strive to provide the best service possible and are always happy to help.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull Premier Inn in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    115
    29
    10
    5
See reviews for
106
95
12
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
roldan. Murcia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We always stayed here when visiting friends and family in the West Midlands, it's friendly staff make you feel welcome, it's clean and IF YOU DO HAVE A PROBLEM it's sorted out straight away. Ideally situated close yo motorway, and easy access into solihull town centre. Great taxi firm to use are A2B . Wonderful meals at the plough beefeater which is on the same site.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lynette080660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your fantastic comments regarding your recent stay. It is a delight to hear we are your first stop in the West Midlands and that the staff have helping you have such an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull South M42 in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Room was clean room and fairly spacious. Bathroom clean and adequate. Liked the option of being able to choose pillows.
Two negatives: shower pressure and water pressure in basin not powerful enouigh. Additionally, found bed too small for a double which was the biggest minus for me.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay here at Solihull South. We apologise that on this occasion you found a few elements of your stay did not meet expectations. Your comments regarding the water pressure have been noted and will be looked into.

We hope to welcome you back to Solihull South in the future,

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The hotel, which is very conveniently sited close to a large Tesco and a great Notcutts garden centre as well as the motorway is really friendly, clean and welcoming. The staff are efficient and the rooms comfortable - good firm beds and a choice of pillows to suit anyone's preferences. Although close to main roads the hotel was quiet with good parking and a nice pub. I've stayed before and will certainly do so again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Myself and the team are delighted to hear your stay was so enjoyable and the location of the hotel suite your needs perfectly.


We look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull South in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed here last night ahead of a works function close by. I'd booked a good two months in advance so was able to get the room for £29 a night, bargain! It looks like the bedrooms have had a facelift; mine was spacious, clean, nice temperature (hotel rooms are always too hot) blackout curtains that didn't let in any light with a very comfortable bed and two types of pillows. The bathroom was immaculate and I like the attention to detail, especially for the ladies, the large mirror lights up so its really handy for getting ready. There's another full length mirror by the door and a little unit for your luggage which has a built in hairdryer under another lighted mirror, again brilliant for getting ready and with a plug right underneath super handy for straightners. Overall the hotel was very quiet, I didn't hear anyone all night and slept like a baby. With this being so easy to reach from the motorway, with plenty of parking and with a great Beefeater right in front of you you really can't go wrong choosing this Premier Inn. I will happily stay here again and heartily recommend it to anyone else.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back of the hotel furthest away from the main car p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrummieMoneypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullSouthM42, Owner at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your fantastic comments regarding your recent stay at Premier Inn. Myself and the team are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay. The hotel had a refurbishment last year and it is thanks to our wonderful room attendants that it has stayed so lovely!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull South M42 in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Another excellent Premier Inn - one night stay while after concert at the NEC, which is a short distance away, close to M42 and easy to find. Easy parking in the large car park, the room was clean, fresh, quiet and staff helpful.



  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your fantastic comments regarding your recent stay at Premier Inn. Myself and the team are pleased to hear we could make it so relaxing for you, and hope to welcome you back to Solihull South in the future.


King Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

What can I say about this hotel... The rooms are clean, the staff are friendly and its handy for travelling around the west midlands by car because its so close to the M42. There is a 24 hour Tesco down the road as well as a drive through McDonalds... all in all the facilities both in and around the hotel are great!

The bad point, which I don't suppose is the hotels fault, and to be fair its only a minor irritation, was the waiting time in the restaurant which is attached to the hotel. It is a Beefeater and does serve really nice food, but the restaurant is huge and often you are left waiting for ten t fifteen minutes before you spot your serving staff and have to wave to get their attention. I ordered a bottomless Pepsi, expecting some refills, but only saw the waitress when she came to clear my first course and by the time I was half way through my main course I was ready for another drink.

I would certainly stay there again, as the hotel is quiet, easily accessible and everything I needed.

Room Tip: Room 41 is huge! I have stayed in other room at this hotel, but if you are given the choice I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seventh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay at Solihull South Premier Inn. Myself and the team are delighted to hear we could make your time with us so enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solihull hotels
2.1 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
1.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
821 reviews
1.0 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#11 of 25 in Solihull
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#8 of 25 in Solihull
623 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel
Address: Stratford Road, Solihull B90 4EP, England (Formerly Premier Inn Solihull - Shirley)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Solihull
#10 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quiet spot is handy for big acts at the NEC, Birmingham Airport and many local golf courses ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing