We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Solihull
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Used as a stopover for an early flight from Birmingham airport the following morning,perfect location about 15 mins from the airport. Always try and use Premier Inn and once again wasn't disappointed. Used the onsite Beefeater restaurant for dinner and was very good value for money.For a first time with Premier Inn was pleasantly surprised to find a 40 inch TV in the room. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise8589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay, it is a delight to hear you enjoyed your time with us so much and found the room so pleasing! We are very lucky to have the larger televisions here for our guests to enjoy.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull South M42 in the future,

kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Newly refurbished Premier Inn and is very clean. The reception staff are very friendly and more than helpful, and the restaurant staff are very polite and efficient. Would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, it is a pleasure to hear we could make your stay at Solihull South M42 so enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull in the future,

kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed here last night after previously staying at the end of November for a works night out and this was also my reason for staying here last night and again I couldn't fault it. Lovely warm welcome from the lady on reception, not one of these false, overbearing welcomes you get in a lot of hotels, a real sincere welcome. We arrived earlier than normal check in allows but luckily a room was free so they allowed us to check in a little earlier which was very accommodating of them. As usual the room was spotless and the bathroom was pristine. The hotel was much fuller than last time (possibly due to Crufts) but other than a full car park I had no idea there was anyone else in the hotel as I heard nothing all night. All my previous comments stand: love that you can turn on the lights around the mirror in the unit so for us ladies putting on your make up is really easy and that I can put my straighteners on all in one place. Bed was really comfy, choice of pillows was nice and for two people there's plenty of room. We didn't eat at The Plough Beefeater last night but this is a regular hang out for a lunchtime treat so all in all you can't go wrong staying here. No doubt I'll be back for the next night out and will always look to stay here.

Room Tip: If you are really concerned about noise ask for a room at the back of the hotel. Rooms here only ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrummieMoneypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us, it is a joy to hear you enjoy your time with us so much. The team here at Solihull South M42 are always striving to provide the best customer service they can and will always continue to do so.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull South M42 in the future,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at Solihull South M42 - very welcoming and so comfortable as always! Booked this particular hotel for convenience as our daughter was taking part in a National squash tournament at the Arden Squash Club. The rooms are always so clean and cosy. Cannot fault any part of the stay. We ate in The Plough (restaurant attached to this particular hotel) and the food and service was excellent. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us, it is a pleasure to hear we could make it so enjoyable for you. Our housekeeping team work very hard to provide a comfortable stay for all our guests, and I will gladly pass on your kind comments regarding the restaurant service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull South M42 in the future,

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed there as a family trip, had things to do in Solihull so was well located. The wifi was down and phones had no internet good access. Room was ok and was alright for the night we stayed. Booked on arrival a meal at the pub, which was just over the road, but needs a separate review (understaffed, poor service,etc)
Overall a good stay the only minus the pub option was our only alternative and the internet was down, really bad weather so not a lot to do.

Room Tip: Family room was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gri80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Solihull South M42. I apologise that on this occasion you had difficulty with the wifi and want to assure you this has been addressed and recently updated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull South M42 in the future,

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed here with Wife as a stop over while en route to the Lake district. Stayed at Premier Inns before and always find that you get for what you pay for. Sometimes this expression is used in a derogatory sense but not here. For £39 we had a clean and well laid out room, a comfortable bed and a bathroom which served it's purpose very well. The two receptionists we encountered, one at check in and one when we left were very professional, looked genuinely happy to see you and, even though we didn't have anything we needed in addition to the room, felt that they would have happily dealt with any requests with a smile.
Nipped across to the Harvester for a drink after we dropped our bags off and served a decent pint of Guinness. They serve food up until 10pm and you can book a table with reception. Breakfast looked tempting at around £8 for an all you can eat buffet style but left early so didn't try it.
Would definitely stay here again as only 2 minutes off the M42 so broke up our journey perfectly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fruitnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Solihull South M42, it is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. The team here at Solihull South strive to provide the best service possible and are always happy to help.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull Premier Inn in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We always stayed here when visiting friends and family in the West Midlands, it's friendly staff make you feel welcome, it's clean and IF YOU DO HAVE A PROBLEM it's sorted out straight away. Ideally situated close yo motorway, and easy access into solihull town centre. Great taxi firm to use are A2B . Wonderful meals at the plough beefeater which is on the same site.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lynette080660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolihullSouthM42, Manager at Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your fantastic comments regarding your recent stay. It is a delight to hear we are your first stop in the West Midlands and that the staff have helping you have such an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Solihull South M42 in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solihull hotels
0.5 mi away
The Regency Hotel Solihull
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#7 of 28 in Solihull
697 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
367 reviews
1 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#12 of 28 in Solihull
1,935 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel

Address: Stratford Road, Solihull B90 4EP, England (Formerly Premier Inn Solihull - Shirley)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Solihull
#11 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price Range: £45 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quiet spot is handy for big acts at the NEC, Birmingham Airport and many local golf courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Solihull South (M42) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Solihull (Shirley) Hotel Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing