We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best hotel in Preston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legacy Preston International
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2009

I recently had a need to visit Preston with an overnight stay, and rather than trek down to the Docks I opted for this recently opened Hotel, as I felt the rate was good value considering its location, just a short walk from the main railway station.

The receptionist was friendly and efficient, and quickly found my reservation, even though I had booked through an independent site rather than the Hotel's own.

This particular Hotel uses a contactless smartcard key system, similar to the "Oystercard" in London, but the receiver on the door lock isn't immediately obvious (for reference, it's on the top, above the handle) so it did take me a few seconds to gain entry to my room. Unfortunately, the secondary lock (lockable from the inside) wouldn't turn, but that's only a minor niggle.

The rooms feature a personal safe, which sports both a keypad to set a 4 digit PIN *and* a magnetic card reader as an alternative. When I arrived, I found the safe to be locked, but use of suitable search terms soon found the default override code so I was able to make use of the safe during my stay.

As others have mentioned, the rooms feature a flat panel TV with a number of Freeview channels available.

Unlike some "budget" Hotels, the bathroom actually contains a bath, and even at 6'5 (196cm if you prefer metric), I managed to stretch out and relax in it nicely. My one gripe being that the shower hose had been fed behind the taps, so I was unable to access the entire length of the bath with it. (I prefer washing my hair kneeling over the tub.)

Unusually, heating in the room came from a conventional radiator, with the window opening to allow air in. Given the location of the Hotel (i.e. next to a main road) this may prove to be a problem in the Summer due to traffic noise with the window open.

A Full English Buffet breakfast is served in the basement of the Hotel, and is of a reasonably high standard. There are two minor niggles I experienced, however:

Firstly, they have a "conveyor" toaster. Okay, you can do something silly like 300 slices of toast an hour with one of those, but they: a) cost a fortune to run, as the elements are on constantly; b) seem to have two settings...warm bread, or charcoal; and c) in the unlikely event of finding the "perfect" setting, that same setting the next day will result in either warm bread or charcoal. As a result of these "features", most chains (including the budget ones) seem to have switched to using the more "traditional" slot loading toasters.

On a related note, whilst having butter served in a little dish at your table is a nice touch, providing a couple of "shards" of butter that will just about cover two slices of toast at a push is not so nice. Again, most chains tend to provide individual "pots" of butter and margarine.

Minor niggles aside, the Legacy is a very good Hotel, and I would certainly stay there again were I in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthPaw1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
There are newer reviews for Legacy Preston International
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2009

Stylish contemporary hotel with good clean rooms and bathrooms. Tea and coffee making facilities, large tv, desk area, coffee table and armchair and full length mirror. Full English breakfast included. I thought it was very good value for money, my only gripes being the road noise from our room,the fact that the cooked breakfast was slightly on the cold side and the limited parking. Staff friendly and efficient. Didn't use the dining facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marnieSuffolk_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

Arrived here with a hangover and was able to check in early at 1.30pm (normal is 2pm). Climbed into the bed with fab bed linen (starched white, fluffy duvets).

Flat screen on the wall with digital channels.

Clean bathroom, with a bath.

No mini bar but expected in the this standard.

The car park is smallish, but when I got in at midnight there was at least one space that I could see.

When I asked for directions/map to a certain restaurant the receptionist sent me to the wrong place. Then a taxi driver sent me to the wrong place!

Anyway definetly recommended for a night out, visiting the uni etc

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

Great modern hotel, staff were friendly and helpful, rooms clean and comfortable. Breakfast was buffet style, large hot and cold selection of items. Major drawback to this hotel is tiny car park compared to the size of the hotel, don't expect to park there if you arrive after 5pm. Hotel staff didn't really know of any viable altenatives.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2009

My husband is staying here at the moment, it was selected due to its fabulous rate of £49.50 per night including dinner, bed and breakfast!

I was a little sceptical due to the rate but he is a very happy bunny and they serve dinner until about 10pm so he has been well catered for.

Parking and a flat screen TV too.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WindsorHillsPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

Stayed for one night at the hotel. The hotel is brand new so rooms are clean and tidy. Freeview on the TV so a lot of free to air channels. Rooms are not huge but bigger than the main competitor in the city centre, the Holiday Inn.

Although right next to the Ringway I noticed no traffic noise and I was overlooking it. Someone did a great job with the double glazing! Wifi is free in the rooms and lobby and works well. Iron and board in the room plus a safe.

My main issues were as follows.

1. Parking is free for 40 cars. This is a 75 room hotel and the car parking in the morning I stayed was full to the brim with people parking on verges etc to make extra spaces. There is an apartment block(?) next door which may share the car park. I wouldn't say you could guarantee a space if you arrive late, and if not the location is not close to another car park I could see.

2. Breakfast is decent buffet style but is located in the basement. Hence no windows. I found this a little odd.

3. The hotel communal areas on the ground floor are just all on the small side. It looks very much like the hotel has been shoehorned into the space.

The prices are OK but not remarkable, I think they are very much in line with the holiday inn....Hence overall I was a little disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cdchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2008

The Legacy International is almost brand new, so still very clean and tidy. It has modern, nicely designed rooms and pleasant staff. Good breakfast. Ideal for an overnight stay picking up students from the University. Close enough to walk into town, but with parking. Just off the ring road but a bit difficult to access from the South/East direction. Very close to the traffic so if summer would suggest asking for a room on the side away from the ring road so you can open windows. Not a problem in November as windows kept tightly shut!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Joala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Preston hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#10 of 15 in Preston
601 reviews
3.1 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
997 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#7 of 15 in Preston
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#4 of 15 in Preston
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashwood Hotel
Ashwood Hotel
#12 of 15 in Preston
135 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#11 of 15 in Preston
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Preston International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Preston International

Address: Marsh Lane, Preston PR1 2YF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Preston
Price Range: £56 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Preston International 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legacy Preston International Hotel. This hotel is ideally located close to the ring road, and within easy reach of the M6 Motorway, making it an ideal accommodation base for both business and leisure. The Legacy Preston International Hotel offers guests the following up to date facilities: 75 contemporary-style bedrooms, disabled-friendly bedrooms available on request, all rooms fitted with iron & ironing board & 'in-room' safes, guest lift to all floors, flat-screen satellite televisions with remote control, FREE Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel, meeting rooms - 3, 24-hour Reception with secure door entry between 11.00pm & 7.00am, Cafe Bar Menu served DAILY 10.00am until 10.00pm, Extensive Lounge Menu, Licensed Bar, FREE Car Parking for 40 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Legacy Preston International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Preston International Hotel Preston
Legacy Hotel Preston
Legacy Preston International Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing