We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service and variety - Wow!”
Review of POND - CLOSED

POND
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A quirky bespoke tapas restaurant.. bar and deli with a difference... Serving fresh local produce with a Peruivan twist...We are allgery aware and can assist with ease...Recently Renovated with a funky bar and merged with our sister restaurant duk .... we are the perfect destination restaurant... bar and deli...Vegan...vegetarian and gluten free..
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I have had any great experiences here. I love getting the banquet so I get a variety.

Thank JennieLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecooksquad, Owner at POND, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Hello,

Thank you for your review ... we look forward to seeing you again at pond
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 172 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

It has to be said that the food at Pond - an extensive Tapas menu, incorporating some unusual and quite exotic dishes - is excellent. Some interesting combinations make for an interesting and delightful meal.
The issue, though, is the standard of service. Meals were hot and brought quickly but delivery was amateurish, at best. Confused waiters, drinks dumped on the table like a sack of potatoes and a sense of stress underlying the hurrying and scurrying didn't make for a relaxed atmosphere. The staff deliver food to the table - but they don't serve customers; there is a difference.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MacLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecooksquad, Owner at POND, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Hello,

Thank you for your time in reviewing my restaurant... I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food, i am however concerned about your comments with regard to the service element of your visit... we pride ourselves on our service ... i have discussed your feeback with our manager and i shall address this directly now with the waiters who served your table, there is no excuse for their manner and lack of due care so this matter will be dealt with immediately.
Your feedback is much appreciated and we take all comments seriously, as a family company our reputation is key and we love what we do, i hope you will come to us directly to discuss your evening and in the menatime rest assured that this will not happen again. Yours sincereley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Went to Pond for a works leaving meal. It was a Tuesday so expectations were pretty low for atmosphere etc but the food managed to hold its own. Once again a really good mix and the food was prepared really well, they even delayed a pork dish because it hadn't been done right. Overall we just all tucked in and loved all the different flavours and textures..........it's such a social place and I just don't think you can beat it for a damn good gathering...........I shall be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecooksquad, Owner at POND, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Hello,

Thank you for your recent feedback your comments are very important to us and we are pleased you had an enjoyable visit... we hope to see you again soon
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We have been twice in a matter of weeks, both trips at lunchtime and we availed ourselves of the tapas deal. Neither time did we book and neither time was it a problem - in fact, it was very quiet indeed.

The service was great, fast and friendly. My issue comes down to the quality of the food. Personally, for us, there is an over use of chillies and I feel the use of chillies mean that other flavours that could be used aren't.

On the first occasion, we ordered the Catalan broth which was meant to have chorizo in it but there was none, mean it was just a flavourless veg stew. We did say something when the plates were taken away and it was knocked off our bill without argument. We also were disappointed in the bravas as the potatoes were left soggy by another too spicy and sloppy sauce. On the other hand, the calamari didn't have a great deal of flavour to them but the creamy garlic mushrooms and sticky spicy pork were lovely - although I had to remove large chunks of chilli from it to make it edible. We also had the garlic bread selection and found that the garlic bread with chilli meant the piece was absolutely covered with raw green chilli although it was edible once they were removed to the side of my plate.

On the second occasion, we arrived with children (aged 7 and 5) who thankfully are fairly adventurous. This time, we asked for no chilli garlic bread, which was great. The creamy garlic chicken was fab tho not enough of it as were our two favourites from last time. We also liked the chorizo red wine although the chorizo was too hot for the children. We did however try the peruvian stew and I'm afraid it's not really for tapas - it's too spicy (the children wouldn't touch it) and I found it an odd combination, although my husband and I agreed that it would work best on its own with some bread; considering it was tapas, we were given quite a large bowl. The garlic and rosemary potatoes with goats cheese and black pudding were also disappointing - the black pudding was again too spicy for the children (and it's usually not, they eat it at home) and the potatoes were overcooked and then reheated, meaning they weren't as appetising as tapas you'd have in Spain; they weren't crisp outers with fluffy interiors, they were more just soggy and rubbery throughout. The taste of rosemary was overpowering.

In order to keep the children filled up a bit, I ordered pitta bread and dips but I discovered again that two of the four dips were really spicy hot. The children generally dipped into the garlic sauces instead.

Neither time did we attempt pudding. We looked at the menu first time around but rapidly came to the conclusion that they were expensive for what they are.

I accept we didn't try the whole menu but the usual menu seems expensive. If some of the dishes are the same but bigger, then I'd be disappointed to be paying more. Neither time did we spend more than £40 which is quite good value but we only had tapas and drinks, no dessert and coffee at all.

Wondering what this place would be like when it's busier - maybe the food would be better as it might be more freshly cooked? In summary, go if you must but don't bust a gut to get there. Oh, and if you don't like hot spicy food, beware of anything marked spicy (apart from the sweet and spicy pork / chicken) because they will be REALLY hot and the use of fresh chillies is excessive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kateab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecooksquad, Owner at POND, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your recent experience at Pond... i have noted your comments and have discussed these with our team ... i beleive they should have explained to you more thoroughly that you could have had dishes without spices so ensure that you had the best possible time with us...our menu is flexible and we could have helped had we known your requirements.
Rest assured please that we take all comments seriously and deal with them immediately, as a family company this is paramount to us... again thank you for your time, i hope to see you again and should you wish to discuss your experience directly with us please contact our team.
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

the food is fantastic , fresh and full of flavour not greasy like the mainstream tapas bars that make your stomach burn, the portions are spot on very generous the menu is very exciting the mango bread with garlic sauce is definetly worth a try! we ordered a good few dishes and sat chatting until close time the atmosphere is friendly and the servers are great fun and warm,
Its a little hidden gem,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank eliseyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecooksquad, Owner at POND, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback we are glad you had a good time with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon..

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed POND also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing