We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, very attentive staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Preston Marriott Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Preston
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, very attentive staff!”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Preston Marriott for one evening on 3rd June.

Although there were a couple of hiccups we were delighted with our stay. The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful, particularly Wael and Tarek.

The hotel is spotless and the food and drink we thought were quite reasonable for this standard of hotel. The hotel has a restaurant and a less formal lounge (as well as a cafe bar in the leisure centre) and although the restaurant and bar have slightly different menus, you can order food from either whilst dining in either.

We chose to eat in the outside seating area near the lounge as we were blessed with beautiful weather and were very impressed with the quality of food and the servce. Starters were £5-10 and a main course was £11-22.

The leisure centre was fab, excellent facilities in the changing rooms with fresh towels provided as well as powerful hairdryers and complimentary lockers with hangers for jackets. We used the pool (standard hotel pool, fairly shallow for tall swimmers but good for a dip), the spa pool, the sauna and the steam room. All were spotlessly clean and well maintained. A beautician is also located in the leisure centre as well as a cafe bar. A list of treatments for the spa would have been useful in the room as well as prices. The leisure centre was also quite difficult to navigate as once inside the signage wasn't very visible, however, the gentleman on reception was very helpful and gave directions.

The hotel is said to sit in 11 acres of grounds and it's certainly a picturesque spot deceptively close to the motorway, but still feeling like the countryside. Not much walking to be done in the hotel grounds, but a country park is just up the road for those who enjoy an outdoor stroll.

The rooms were very comfortable and we were upgraded to an executive room - I'd definitely consider upgrading if possible as the larger room size made a real difference to our stay. The standard room was lovely if compact, the exec room was at least an additional 50% bigger.

There are in-house movies (£7.10 per movie) as well as a mini-bar but annoyingly there was no price list for the mini-bar in our room.

The room service menu was very varied and the same prices as found in the restaurant or lounge, with an added £3.50 tray charge for room delivery. We splashed out and had breakfast delivered to our room in the morning - absolutely fab and although it costs around £33 for two it was a great treat. We had a full English as well as cereal, toast, croissant, juice, tea... we couldn't eat it all and it could be tailored just the way you liked it with a choice of how you like your eggs, milk etc. Great quality breakfast served piping hot.

Check-out time is a reasonable 12 noon and there is plenty of free parking on site.

We paid £75 for the night on a weekend special rate and would not hesitate to go back. We felt very welcome, were delighted with the service and the fantastic staff and our luck with the weather made our getaway complete.

Thanks to everyone who made our stay memorable, we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachlikesrhythm2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    354
    167
    67
    51
See reviews for
235
367
33
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We visited Preston for a surprise 50th for our dear friend Mike Preston . This hotel was recommended for many that were attending the party . Sometimes this can be hit and miss. But we were pleasantly surprised . First of all the staff at reception were extremely efficient , very pleasant and made you feel very welcome. Which immediately puts you at ease. I travel the world on business and can honestly say the manager deserves a pat on the back for a very professional run Hotel . All the staff were attentive and caring. The Hotel is well presented , nice grounds , efficient . The lounge Bar - Sorry to be specific here but I had Fish and chips and my wife had steak and chips for Lunch and being a foodie I have to say both were cooked to perfection .Quality . Breakfast was what you would expect at a hotel like this. My wife attended the SPA during the day . Not impressed with the facility . You would not come here for the SPA alone… no comment on the treatments or treatment area as we did not use this . It’s a good comfortable Hotel to use as a base for a 2-3 day break if visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool,UK
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Stayed here one night as an Escape package,which included dinner,1 night stay and breakfast.It was a birthday present for my daughter.Room was lovely,fabulous pillows! Had dinner from Table d'hote menu but could have chosen from a la carte up to value of £21.50,however there was a good choice and we enjoyed a very good 3 course meal.Bar area is very relaxing and airy,and we enjoyed the swimming pool,sauna and jacuzzi.Breakfast was great,very good choice and hot plates which I love! The staff were excellent and very friendly and welcoming.I only wished they served cocktails in the bar! Would recommend.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank egremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the last few years and have always enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a handy location, easy access to motorways. The rooms are spacious and very clean, we have always enjoyed a comfortable stay. The breakfast is worth adding, great choice. We have had dinner in the hotel on several occasions and have been happy with our meals. The bar is a nice place to relax at the end of the day. We have experienced excellent customer service during our stays, often staff go above and beyond their duty.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Am a Marriotts reward card holder and somewhat disappointed given the other Marriotts I have stayed in. Room was ok although slightly cramped. Food on first night was poor - fish pie - congealed potatoe and cheese and very little fish! Second night it was chicken wrapped in bacon - bacon was just all fat - veg bland, side salad thrown into a bowl - unappetising. Complained to waiter and was offered a complementary tea or coffee! Had to ask for things two or three times before any action - heated towel rail turned off (which can only be done by an engineer and all towel rails are on all the time whatever the weather!), a glass of water, an extra blanket, etc, etc. Reception staff apologetic when I checked out and mentioned these things but really not up to standard. Breakfast was the only meal I enjoyed. £15 for internet access is extortionate and response times are very slow.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avidtraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjcUK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

My fiancé and I stayed here this week as it was a year to the day that we were getting married- the wedding reception being at the Preston Marriott. We wanted to celebrate the occasion and also to stay at the hotel and check it out properly!! We weren't disappointed! From check in, to the leisure club, meals, and meeting with the wedding coordinator, the staff were so pleasant and really wanted to make the stay enjoyable. I'd suggest stretching to a luxury room rather than standard if it's at all possible, as the are much more spacious. As people more anxious than most to make sure we liked this hotel, we weren't disappointed. There isn't a lot in close proximity but obviously that isn't an issue for our purposes. Really nice Marriott and worth a look for a wedding reception!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjcmjcUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We arrived at the Marriott. Preston, to relax and unwind for one night only before an event we were trading at the following day.
We booked a last minute deal with expedia and paid for a standard room with brreakfast included. On arrival, we were informed that the smoking room that I had requested was unavailable but to our delight, we were upgraded to a Junior Suite at no extra cost and this gave us a lot more space and luxury of having 2 bathrooms, a living room area and a spacious bedroom.
The suite was immaculately clean, plenty of towels and everything we needed to relax for a night. The bed was very very comfortable and I had a brilliant nights sleep.
We had a room service meal which was tasty (if a little pricey) but it was worth paying to be looked after so well. We had breakfast delivered in the room the following morning and it was excellent.
The staff at this hotel were polite, helpful and pleasant - and at no time at all did it feel like they were not willing to do their very best to make our stay one that we would remember for the right reasons. We just wished we could have stayed longer but will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glutenfreefoodie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
1.9 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#8 of 15 in Preston
700 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Legacy Preston International
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#9 of 15 in Preston
581 reviews
4.2 mi away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preston Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preston Marriott Hotel

Property: Preston Marriott Hotel
Address: 418 Garstang Road | Broughton, Preston PR3 5JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Preston Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unforgettable country getaway is waiting for you at the Preston Marriott Hotel, a luxury hotel standing on 11 pristine acres in Lancashire County. Our hotel's guest suites offer stylish design, a variety of in-room entertainment options, and high-speed Wi-Fi access, while our impressive hotel amenities will ensure you stay comfortable during your visit. Fuel up for your countryside adventure here in Lancashire at Tempo Coffee House, which features Starbucks(R) coffee, or sample delectable English cuisine at Broughton's, our hotel restaurant. With a convenient location in Preston near the M6 motorway and a selection of 10 sophisticated, flexible venues, our hotel can offer a magnificent backdrop for any wedding or business event. Well-placed in Preston, our hotel allows for easy access to top destinations, including Preston Guild Hall and UCLAN. Whether you're visiting Lancashire for business or pleasure, the Preston Marriott Hotel will provide all you need for a luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Preston Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Preston
Preston Marriott Hotel Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing